Author Topic: DHCP server stopped working  (Read 1232 times)

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
DHCP server stopped working
« on: March 29, 2008, 08:33:50 am »
Gang--

For some reason, my DHCP server on the core seems to have stopped working.  I hadn't made any changes, but this evening it stopped serving DHCP requests.  I tried disabling it via the admin page and re-enabling, but I'm not getting anything.  I've never had this happen to me before.  Does anyone have any ideas of what to check?  This is really annoying, as I've had to reconfigure my network to get internet access, and DHCP serving is pretty fundamental to LMCE.

Thanks,
-Peter

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2008, 01:01:37 pm »
Check the logfiles, there is probably something wrong in your /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf file.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


finsdown

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2008, 04:13:37 pm »
I have the same problem. It just started this week around Tuesday. I was out of town when it started. This is extremely annoying. My wife is really annoyed with me, wants to get rid of this and go back to Dish network PVR.  Damn!

finsdown

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2008, 06:13:14 pm »
Well this stuff certainly takes the takes when it comes to weirdness. Somehow my master bedroom MD was sitting at the AVsetup window waiting for me to set it up.  How it got here I have no idea, since I didn't request it. So I went ahead and ran it.  Well guess what?   Now the CORE DHCP server is giving out IP addresses again! My HDHomerun works again and as an aside my Mythtv has quit hanging up after 10 seconds.  Can anybody familiar with how DHCP works on the CORE explain this?

8 hours of investigation to get to this resolution...if only I had noticed the master bedroom MD wasn't running.

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2008, 07:33:47 pm »
Hmm, checking /var/log/pluto/PlutoDHCP.log.1 gives the following error messages.  I'm not exactly sure what to make of it.

01      03/28/08 23:56:32.696           dhcp data malformed <0x2ba638c8a9f0>
01      03/28/08 23:56:37.049           dhcp data malformed <0x2ad93d37a9f0>
01      03/29/08 0:03:36.456            dhcp data malformed <0x2acf23b1d9f0>


Here's my dhcpd.conf file, which (based on a ps -ax) command, looks to be what LMCE is using to configure DHCP.
Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ more /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf
# option definitions common to all supported networks...
#option domain-name "fugue.com";
#option domain-name-servers toccata.fugue.com;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.80.1;
authoritative;

option routers 192.168.80.1;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;

# lease IPs for 1 day, maximum 1 week
default-lease-time 86400;
max-lease-time 604800;

allow booting;
allow bootp;

option space pxelinux;
option pxelinux.magic code 208 = string;
option pxelinux.configfile code 209 = text;
option pxelinux.pathprefix code 210 = text;
option pxelinux.reboottime code 211 = unsigned integer 32;

subnet 192.168.80.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        next-server 192.168.80.1;
        filename "/tftpboot/pxelinux.0";
        option pxelinux.reboottime = 30;

        default-lease-time 86400;
        max-lease-time 604800;
        pool {
                 allow unknown-clients;
                 range 192.168.80.0 192.168.80.1;
        }
}

# PXE booting machines
group {
        next-server 192.168.80.1;
        filename "/tftpboot/pxelinux.0";
        option pxelinux.reboottime = 30;

}

# regular machines
group {
        # SqueezeBox Player (131)
        host pc1 { hardware ethernet 00:04:20:06:DB:9B; fixed-address 192.168.80
.2; }
}

# CORE (1) has bad mac address:

linuxmce@dcerouter:~$   


The last comment about the bad mac address certainly seems strange.   Can someone post their dhcpd.conf file for comparison? At this point DHCP is not working at all , so unless anyone has other suggestions, I guess I'll have to reinstall.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2008, 08:01:55 pm »
i assume you mistakenly put a line brake in the ip field of the MD:
Code: [Select]
       host pc1 { hardware ethernet 00:04:20:06:DB:9B; fixed-address 192.168.80
.2; }

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2008, 08:11:20 pm »
i assume you mistakenly put a line brake in the ip field of the MD:
Code: [Select]
       host pc1 { hardware ethernet 00:04:20:06:DB:9B; fixed-address 192.168.80
.2; }

best regards,
Hari

Hari--
Yes, that occurred during copy/paste.  It's a single line in the .conf file

-Pete

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2008, 10:23:00 pm »
the range looks bad.. 80.0 is the network address and 80.1 the core itself..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP server stopped working
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2008, 10:37:33 pm »
Hari--

I agree, but I'm not sure about the modifications that Pluto made.  If anyone could post their copy, It'd definitely help me try to see if mine has been modified incorrectly somehow.