Author Topic: MSI Media Live  (Read 1355 times)

Crawtech

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
MSI Media Live
« on: March 26, 2008, 02:16:52 am »
Hi all
I just brought my self a MSI Media Live and it works very well as a MD but i can not work out how to get the VFD working
Is it possable to get it working ??


hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: MSI Media Live
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2008, 11:44:03 am »
yeah, it should be supported by the iMON driver..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

samuelmukoti

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: MSI Media Live
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2008, 11:35:50 pm »
Hi,

I've also recently bought my first MSI Media Live MD,  I don't have an AV Reciever yet and would like to get DTS 7.1 Audio out of the device. Is that possible? Most of the threads i've read people often send optical digital audio to their AVR to do the work.  I just want to use built in 7.1 Audio thats built in to the device for now.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

P.S.  I am getting audio out of the device at the moment using the RCA output (A/V Out) and using DVI/VGA out, I saw a thread about HDMI Audio, and it seemed to state that it was unstable at best, and we should stay away for now..

Best wishes for 2009!

Sam

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: MSI Media Live
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2008, 12:19:07 am »
HDMI audio is fine on my msi media live.


I believe you will still need an amp to drive speakers from the media live.



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

samuelmukoti

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: MSI Media Live
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2008, 01:09:18 am »
HDMI audio is fine on my msi media live.


I believe you will still need an amp to drive speakers from the media live.



Tim

Tim,

You are right, what i was trying to do was hook up my Media Live in the Den to some Computer Speakers i had from my gaming machine a while ago, they support 5.1, and i have some RCA->Mini-Jack adaptors to connect them.

The main reason i'm keen to get try it out is i have some AC3 audio in some of my MKV files, and these dont seem to play audio when using the analog A/V out, I though theres probably an on-board Dobly Decorder that can decode the signal and out put on the 7.1 audio panel on the back of the MSI Live..

Its not a train smash, but would be nice when using the MSI Live in other rooms where you don't necessarily want an AV Receiver but would like some decent Surround audio, like the bedroom.  I've already ordered a Yamaha AVR for my living room... can't wait to hook that up, hope serial control wont give me hell - still struggling with IR control from my Samsung TV

regards,

Sam

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: MSI Media Live
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2008, 02:07:57 am »
I am looking into the new MSI-Live Diva mobo which includes a 5.1 amp



Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: MSI Media Live
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2008, 11:35:45 am »
Hi all
I just brought my self a MSI Media Live and it works very well as a MD but i can not work out how to get the VFD working
Is it possable to get it working ??

Hi there,

See this Wiki page for info on getting your Media Live VFD working correctly; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/MSI_Media_Live_Barebone#VFD_Front_Panel_Display

All the best and happy new year!

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk