Author Topic: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work  (Read 3999 times)

unruelysock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« on: March 22, 2008, 09:55:18 pm »
this card was a gift and i want to know if it will work in LMCE as a generic card.   windows installed a driver for it as a saa7131.   the chipset looks to have some relation to philips   the card has a model #7130fm (that by the way is all the info in the card)  and comes with a remote and a fm tuner.   

so if some one could help me through this or point me in a direction to start to learn how to do this i would be greatful. 

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2008, 10:39:45 am »
The card isn't natively supported in linuxMCE, but i'm guessing it should work setting it up in mythtv.

I think kubuntu 0710 lacks the driver for it so you have to download the video4linux drivers and install them ->

sudo apt-get install mercurial
hg clone http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb
cd v4l-dvb
sudo apt-get install ncurses-dev
sudo make menuconfig
make
sudo make install
sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/options
<then add:>
options saa7134 card=65 tuner=54
<then>
sudo make load

reboot and enter the mythtv setup from the computing tab of your orbiter; choose capture cards and see if yours is listed.

I'm guess that the remote will be difficult to set up. Best buy a seperate one, like the MCE remote and usb transceiver.
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2008, 12:00:45 pm »
The card isn't natively supported in linuxMCE, but i'm guessing it should work setting it up in mythtv.

I think kubuntu 0710 lacks the driver for it so you have to download the video4linux drivers and install them ->

sudo apt-get install mercurial
hg clone http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb
cd v4l-dvb
sudo apt-get install ncurses-dev
sudo make menuconfig
make
sudo make install
sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/options
<then add:>
options saa7134 card=65 tuner=54
<then>
sudo make load

reboot and enter the mythtv setup from the computing tab of your orbiter; choose capture cards and see if yours is listed.

I'm guess that the remote will be difficult to set up. Best buy a seperate one, like the MCE remote and usb transceiver.


The saa7134 module is already installed nut not loaded by default;

lsmod | grep saa* <return>

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_66616:~# lsmod | grep saa*
cpufreq_powersave       3072  0
sata_nv                24068  0
libata                138928  2 sata_nv,ata_generic

The above line will find any modules currently loaded that start with 'saa'... you will probably get none returned. So do this;

sudo modprobe saa7134 <return>

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_66616:~# modprobe saa7134

Now do the lsmod line again;

lsmod | grep saa* <return>

and you should see something like this;
Code: [Select]
dcerouter_:~# lsmod | grep saa*
saa7134               148308  0
ir_kbd_i2c             11536  1 saa7134
cpufreq_powersave       3072  0
ir_common              38916  3 saa7134,ir_kbd_i2c,cx88xx
compat_ioctl32         11136  3 saa7134,cpia,cx8800
videodev               31360  4 saa7134,cpia,cx8800,cx88xx
v4l2_common            21888  5 saa7134,cx8800,cx88xx,compat_ioctl32,videodev
v4l1_compat            15364  2 saa7134,videodev
video_buf              30084  6 saa7134,cx88_dvb,video_buf_dvb,cx8802,cx8800,cx88xx
i2c_core               30208  18 saa7134,ir_kbd_i2c,mt2060,isl6421,cx24123,cx88_dvb,cx88_vp3054_i2c,dib7000m,dib7000p,dvb_usb,dvb_pll,cx88xx,dib3000mc,dibx000_common,i2c_algo_bit,tveeprom,i2c_nforce2,nvidia
sata_nv                24068  0
libata                138928  2 sata_nv,ata_generic


Hope this helps

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2008, 01:03:49 pm »
...
lsmod | grep saa* <return>
...
The above line will find any modules currently loaded that start with 'saa'... you will probably get none returned. ...

Sorry for the lecture but actually "grep saa*" will give you all the lines with "sa" and then zero or more additional "a"s (anywhere in them, not just the start), even worse when there is a file in the current directory whose name starts with "saa" the shell will substitute it as there are no quotes. 

To only grep lines starting with "saa" use: "grep '^saa'".  See also REGULAR EXPRESSIONS in the grep man page.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2008, 06:54:38 pm »
...
lsmod | grep saa* <return>
...
The above line will find any modules currently loaded that start with 'saa'... you will probably get none returned. ...

Sorry for the lecture but actually "grep saa*" will give you all the lines with "sa" and then zero or more additional "a"s (anywhere in them, not just the start), even worse when there is a file in the current directory whose name starts with "saa" the shell will substitute it as there are no quotes. 

To only grep lines starting with "saa" use: "grep '^saa'".  See also REGULAR EXPRESSIONS in the grep man page.


Of course you right ;-)
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

unruelysock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2008, 01:36:29 am »
ok i got the card in stalled but it does not find any channels and is just a black screen.     

unruelysock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: i'v got a generic tv card....... can it work
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2008, 03:40:27 am »
ok i installed the card.   at first i had a message that said all backend inputs were being used.  now all i get is a black screen and i can not see any thing.  the overlay is there and there is a channel number but no video.