Author Topic: No surround on DVD  (Read 1907 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« on: November 13, 2005, 09:47:00 pm »
Hello

I have a Creative Audigy audio card, with digital audio out.

I have set this up in the MD, I think, correctly, but the only sound out is stereo sound, on the digital output.(my receiver is connected to digital out, and it receives stereo).

Any hints?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2005, 11:21:00 am »
Run "alsamixer" in a console and look around there. It's either an IEC958 or something close to "SPDIF".

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2005, 07:02:10 pm »
It says Creative Audigy Analog/Digital Output jack, but I can't change it.

The output seems to work, since I have the computer connected with the digital output into the digital input on my receiver. But the only sound is stereo.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2005, 07:28:13 pm »
Then I'll ask the guys, since they're going shopping for hi-tech anyway, to buy some digital sound stuff too. But maybe the sound you try to play is Stereo, or Xine is told to play Stereo in /etc/pluto/xine.conf (which is the default). Try playing with Xine and see what you get.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2005, 09:01:16 pm »
Thank you for your tips!

But after playing a bit around with xine, I don't seem to get any further.
And the config file(/etc/pluto/xine.conf) did'nt seem to be changed by pluto, nor did the changes I made make any difference. Perhaps the wrong file?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2005, 07:39:49 pm »
That's the right file, but you may need to do a "quick reload router" after each change so our program re-reads it.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2005, 06:13:52 pm »
A big update. (still does not work)

I have now removed the Audigy card, and installed another card with support for 7.1 surround, and with the SP/DIF (coax/optical) connectors onboard.

I now have connected the optical cable to my receiver, and I get sound. But stereo only. Changing the file you mentioned does nothing. And, to get sound at all, I need to run alsamixer and un-mute the connector(optical) each time I reboot.

What now?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2005, 09:39:42 pm »
Quote from: "nomore"
A big update. (still does not work)

....

And, to get sound at all, I need to run alsamixer and un-mute the connector(optical) each time I reboot.

What now?

Hi,

I'm not sure, but I think that running
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
alsactl store after alsamixer will help you.... I think that Pluto runs alsactl restore on each reboot...

HTH,

regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
No surround on DVD
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2005, 08:47:23 am »
Ahh, thank you. That seems logical. I'll try that when I get home :)