Author Topic: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?  (Read 1218 times)

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« on: March 15, 2008, 04:22:10 pm »
I found this -> http://www.memory-express.co.uk/index.aspx?pageid=17&id=629828

It says the transceiver is mce standard - does that mean it will show up the same as an mce ir transceiver in LMCE?

I would rather buy this from the UK than the UIRT from the US!

Anyone have this? or know if it works??

Cheers
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 04:36:46 pm »
The UIRT still works best in my experience.

-Thom

deffcon

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2008, 04:53:33 pm »
Hi,

I have an Phillips mce tranceiver / transmitter, it works for just remote controlling, my experience with the transmitter part i will inform you shortly, but what i can see is that in Beta 4 the mce transceiver / transmitter is being installed automatically as LIRC Embedded Transmitter, and i can see that my ir emitters that you connect this to the mce transceiver / transmitter with 3,5 mm jack plug in the back of the device ( 2 x 3,5 mm jack holes ) are trying to transmit something when i want to control my tv or amp but i didn't manage the right codes yet so if someones has these please share them with me ( amp = Sony str-db930 ) ( tv = Philips 32W8718/12 ) .

Dave

rafik24

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2008, 08:26:35 pm »
 Have a look at remotecentral.com they have a pronto codes db,

 i have seen the lirc embedded transmitter when adding a default infrared receiver (lirc based) too.

 I could not find any info on this, please devs if you see this post could you please let us know how the embedded lirc transmit works.

 since the transmitter is lirc based it does not support pronto codes, have lirc raw codes been added to lmce ?

 Regards,

Rafik

deffcon

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2008, 11:05:15 am »
Hi devs,

But the stranged thing is that sometimes when i TEST a code is see my IR emitters glow up, so i have the idea that something happens, but after an half an hour this doesn't work anymore so what i mean is that the whole transmitting thingy isn't working anymore, i have to reboot then to try further, beacause i really don't know if there is an service or deamon i can restart like /etc/init.d/lircd. Please can someone help us with this?

Dave

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2008, 11:30:29 am »
Does the philips transceiver not support ir learning in LMCE? have you tried the learn code option when setting up the av devices? Also are the ir emitters supplied with the transceiver?
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

deffcon

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Philips ir transceiver as UIRT substitute?
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2008, 01:08:08 pm »
Hi,

For what i can test and see is that the auto learn function does NOT respond to any actions buttons i press on a remote to learn that function, the ir emitters are being delivered with this transceiver / transmitter.

Dave