Author Topic: did I buy the wrong hardware??/  (Read 3580 times)

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« on: March 13, 2008, 01:27:05 am »
hi all!
flushed with (moderate) success getting an old p4 running Linuxmce going (somewhat) I decided to sort of take the plunge and try it "for real"
so yesterday I went and bought..
blu-ray writer
asus M2N-MX SE Plus
AMD X2 5000
2GB DDR2 800
TP-Link Gigabit network card
2 X WD 500GB SATA2 Drives
PVR350 MCE
Hauppage GSB2 WINTV nova-t
cm11 (X10) thats X10 not ten of them lol!!

first.. MB would not post with 2 memory modules on board (turns out to be a bios issue)
but now.. the machine (Sarah) is running :)
just a few we problems I am hoping someone may be able to help with :)
I cannot get the MB's NIC to work (I think that is on the 430 MCP chipset)
I have not pursued this too hard as I have been preocupied with the total absence of the sound card :(
I have tried everything I could see on the forums but I cannot get it to show up at all!
I am now out of ideas completely (not to unusual for me as a windows refugee)
but I am determined to get this all to work (after skitting all my mates that have gone the Vista mediacenter route)
in the meantime..
I got a usb soundcard up for now :)
but now that I have gotten myth to work with the Hauppage :) I am left with another problem!
there appears to be no sound from the hauppage!
I have not dared to even think about the PVR350
or the CM11 yet lol!
so I am sure to be back!
you know..
I cannot even begin to imagine the ammount of work the developers and you other guys n galls have put into this!
it is outstanding!
(as to be fair is the Linux community as a whole!!)
so I wont even complain a little about the fact that there are hardware compatibility issues (serves me right for not paying enough attention lol)
but any help at all would be greatly appriciated!!
thanks for reading this (rathe long) post :)
I wish there where more people about like those in the open source movement!
maybe life would be better for everyone..
oops off on a tangent again :)
Gazzzman
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 08:19:20 pm »
wow!
a lot of views but not one single reply!
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 08:41:12 pm »
did you ask a question? you should try being a little concise when you want help. most of what you posted just looks like youre talking about what you did and im sure people just skimmed it to find something that they could relate to. what exactly are you asking for help with, or are you asking for help?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 09:45:52 pm »
sorry!
I thought the title was enough of an explanation :)
but...
I have bought this hardware and it seems to be more problematic than it is worth!
is there anything worth doing with it before I skip the motherboard and go looking for something else (or install windows on it and sell it on Ebay :) )
thanks!
Gazzzman
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2008, 09:48:32 pm »
sorry!
I thought the title was enough of an explanation :)
but...
I have bought this hardware and it seems to be more problematic than it is worth!
is there anything worth doing with it before I skip the motherboard and go looking for something else (or install windows on it and sell it on Ebay :) )
thanks!
Gazzzman
please add the board to the wiki, so others won't run into that..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2008, 09:53:37 pm »
sorry, i was only suggesting you be concise. if you had only put the motherboard you were having trouble with, then it would have been easily understood. you included everything you have.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 10:00:50 pm »
hi all!
sorry if I sound dense! hari
I am very new to all this! how do you add things to a wiki ? :)
teedge77 I am sorry mate :) I am so used to writing in m$ forums whewe they even want to know what fuse you have in the mains plug when you get a General Protection Fault!!
I am really impressed with the work that has been done so far!
but I am finding it hard going!
so thanks for any / all help!
Gazzzman!!
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2008, 10:06:25 pm »
just keep at it and youll feel a great sense of accomplishment when you get it all going.  ;) what did you end up deciding to do? are you going to continue with that board or get another?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2008, 10:30:52 pm »
hi teedge77
well... I think I am going to turn it into a md :)
it will then have enough slots for me to use an external LAN and sound card :)
(yes.. I know I am cheating lol!)
so I have just bought a ASUS M2NPV-VM on ebay!
I am determined to get this lot going sooner or later :)
I have the original board running with a PCI soundblaster and  NIC for the moment so I can't set it up with the PVR350 card :(
but I am wading through some other issues at the moment! (like all my network shares are discovered but only a few are indexed  :) ) and every time I go to live TV it locks up!
you know.. the usual stuff lol!
but hey!
you are right if I ever get it going I will feel a great sense of accomplishment!
I really wish there where some real courses out there to get a proper grounding in linux!
still.. a lot of what I am reading on the forum goes straight over my head!
but if I managed to install strongbolt on my Raq and set up spamassassin and mailscanner and clam AV.. surely I can work out Lmce (eventually ;) )
cheers!
Gazzzman





-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2008, 10:34:16 pm »
hey hari!
is that a model 4 you have as your avatar??
:)
Gazzzman
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2008, 10:41:14 pm »
theres lots of CBTs out there for linux. they arent usually free (or even affordable sometimes). if you are interested check out cbtnuggets.com or learnkey.com for some of their linux CBTs. theres lots more but i havent found any free ones yet.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2008, 10:48:19 pm »
thanks for that :)
I bought some cbt's  from ebay a while ago :)
the first one went something like this.. this is a mousey... and this mousey you use to.......
so I bought a more advanced on that started off first just recompile your kernel with the modules you grep from our repository
open vi and edit user.comf .....
aghhh!
I think I needed something in between lol!
but..
I will continue to look!
again.. thanks!
Gazzzman
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2008, 11:34:32 pm »
wow!
a lot of views but not one single reply!

Shorter specific posts would help your response rate from people here... its just too much effort to 'wade through your posts... so a lot of people give up ;-)
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2008, 02:42:34 am »
then I will try to be concise and specific!
thanks!
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: did I buy the wrong hardware??/
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2008, 04:46:52 am »
then I will try to be concise and specific!
thanks!

Thats better ;-)

But seriously... its easier for someone who might have a answer to your problem/question if they can quickly see what it is your actually asking. Long complicated posts make that very difficult and also its very easy to miss something that you could help with because its buried halfway down the post.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk