Author Topic: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core  (Read 2788 times)

jeff_rigby

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« on: March 10, 2008, 08:23:24 pm »
Remote MDs can't play CSS DVDs previously ripped to core, all other DVDs and video files play.  All video files play on the core.

CSS library is installed on remote MD and I tried the restricted software installation guide and reinstalled.  During this my MD command line said I needed to install Deb helper and fakeroot.  Installed them and still will not play CSS DVDs stored on the core on any media director except core.

Linux MCE 710 beta4

« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 11:50:41 am by jeff_rigby »

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 01:32:39 pm »
I have the exact same problem. The only place css encrypted DVDs that were ripped to the core will play is on the core itsself.

I have hundreds of movies ripped onto my core. They all work playing from the core. However, trying to play them from my 3 different MD's, they all fail. Sometimes I will get a libdvdcss error, sometimes it will just start playing the intro (FBI warning, etc.) then fall back out to the on-screen orbiter with no errors at all on the screen.

I have tried several times re-adding the software packages from within the onscreen orbiter, with no success. Libdvdcss does show as installed on each of the media directors.

I have also tried manual installation via:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install -y libdvdread3
sudo /usr/share/doc/libdvdread3/install-css.sh

Still, nothing I have tried works..

I am using 0710 beta 4 (AMD64 core, i386 media directors)

jeff_rigby

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2008, 06:36:34 pm »
Yup, done the same thing, same results.  I wonder if there is a bug with the AMD64 version of CSS.sh.  Or if the update shell even checks for machine version.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2008, 07:57:55 pm »
Did you put in a mantis report yet?

I'm surprised that nobody else has responded, as this is a major problem!

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2008, 09:28:08 pm »
i've just regenerated the MD with amd64 and installed dvdcss from the wizard. After the automatic quick reload when finishing the wizard the dvd's play fine..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2008, 09:56:10 pm »
Hari-

Are your media directors i386 while the core is a 64 bit?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2008, 10:02:02 pm »
Hari-

Are your media directors i386 while the core is a 64 bit?

other way round.. the core is 32bit and the MD is 64 bit. I use 32/32 normally but still have to test 64/64..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2008, 10:17:53 pm »
Maybe its a bug specific to i386 MD's with a 64 bit core..

When I think about it - if the MD tried to use the same library as the core, we would get:

32bit core + 32bit MD with a 32bit binary (from the core) = should work
32bit core + 64bit MD with a 32bit binary (from the core) = should work
64bit core + 64bit MD with a 64bit binary (from the core) = should work
64bit core + 32bit MD with a 64bit binary (from the core) = won't work

Does this sound feasible?

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2008, 08:26:25 pm »
added this to Mantis

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2008, 09:38:26 pm »
strange.. after another reload it stopped working..

Just reinstalled to confirm.. it only works between the first and the second quick reload of the router..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2008, 11:32:23 pm »
Maybe its a bug specific to i386 MD's with a 64 bit core..

When I think about it - if the MD tried to use the same library as the core, we would get:

32bit core + 32bit MD with a 32bit binary (from the core) = should work
32bit core + 64bit MD with a 32bit binary (from the core) = should work
64bit core + 64bit MD with a 64bit binary (from the core) = should work
64bit core + 32bit MD with a 64bit binary (from the core) = won't work

Does this sound feasible?

Hmmm... I don't think so as we have i386 Cores with AMD64 MD's and all other combinations under test and we have not seen this at all.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2008, 12:58:09 pm »
If the DVDCSS is installed on the M/D and the files _are_ playable on the Core, then M/D must be able to play them. Unless there is something wrong. What I remember is that http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ChangeLog_0710_Beta4 contains the following fix:

• Cleaning list of installed Add Software applications if M/D was reinstalled

Because when M/D is reinstalled, all the Add Software is deleted => but it appears as installed on the M/D (which is wrong). So since beta4 this shouldn't be an issue.

Another possible problem is some ugly bug in network layer which corrupts the DVD ISO when it is read via network. But I doubt it is an issue.

Anyone with this issue - can you send me PM with RemoteAccess code for your system so I can take a look at this bug?



hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2008, 04:18:10 pm »
Another possible problem is some ugly bug in network layer which corrupts the DVD ISO when it is read via network. But I doubt it is an issue.
hmm.. i've not really investigated in depth but a quick peek at the log makes me think the problem could be there..

Quote
Anyone with this issue - can you send me PM with RemoteAccess code for your system so I can take a look at this bug?
sent you an email.

best regards,
Hari


[/quote]
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2008, 04:43:02 pm »
Kir,

sent you a PM
thanks

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Can't play DVD from Linux MCE on anything but core
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2008, 07:32:35 pm »
I updated the Mantis issue - looks like the mounting problem. Will post an update tomorrow - maybe there will be more info.