Author Topic: Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh  (Read 6127 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh
« on: November 16, 2005, 12:07:27 pm »
Hi,

I've a problem when installing Pluto Core from the Kick Start CD (v2.0.0.32), during the first reboot (after debian installation).
The PC is not connected to internet, it's an offline installation.

When the Initial_Config_Core.sh script is executed, the "aptitude -y -f install pluto-dcerouter" command failed with the following message :

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
The following package have unmet dependencies:
pluto-dcerouter: Depends : pluto-website-admin (>=2.0.0.32) but it is not installable
                 Depends : pluto-website-admin (<2.0.0.33) but it is not installable



The installation is interrupted, the system is rebooted and I've the following message :
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
INIT: cannot execute "/usr/pluto/bin/Report_DCERouter_Status.sh"


Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot?

Thanks in advance

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Installation problems
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2005, 10:34:33 pm »
Hi,
I'm new in this forum and Linux beginner too
I've the same problem as 'caerwent'.
After reboot and after asked me password, name, type of inst(Core/hybrid)
the system halt with the message:
INIT: cannot execute "/usr/pluto/bin/Report_DCERouter_Status.sh"
This message is repeated for ten rows and then another message like this:
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
After about five minutes restart with above messages.

Thanks for Your help
gillen

PS: I would like to try this nice project but start isn't encourage!!

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2005, 07:59:04 pm »
That's odd. pluto-admin-website package should actually be on that disc. If it's not, then we have a problem.

Just checked and it's in there. Did the CD copy the packages right to the hard drive?

You can try typing "aptitude install pluto-dcerouter" in a console (press Alt+F2 to get the 2nd one since the 1st one doesn't allow you any login). Login as root with the password you chose when asked. If it says the same, try "aptitude install pluto-website-admin" which should actually say what it doesn't like.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation problems
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2005, 08:07:36 pm »
Quote from: "gillen"
Hi,
I'm new in this forum and Linux beginner too
I've the same problem as 'caerwent'.
After reboot and after asked me password, name, type of inst(Core/hybrid)
the system halt with the message:
INIT: cannot execute "/usr/pluto/bin/Report_DCERouter_Status.sh"
This message is repeated for ten rows and then another message like this:
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
After about five minutes restart with above messages.

Thanks for Your help
gillen

PS: I would like to try this nice project but start isn't encourage!!

If you get that message it means the system didn't actually install (something went wrong in the 2nd stage install, very wrong).

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Initial Install error
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2005, 10:54:18 am »
Hi,
i have the same problem. I´have tried different Pc´s and Network Adapter. The result is always the same (with or without Internet-Connection).
The hint from Radu to install pluto dceroute and website manually
had no effect.
I think there is a problem with the network configuration.
My old Pluto installed itself with a second internal net .
Now there is only et0  
I hope there is a solution.
Thanks
Peter

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2005, 11:20:33 am »
I have tried with 2 PC (one with 2 network cards, the other with only one) and I have the same problem on both PC. My network configuration is with a static IP address, without internet connection.

When I try typing aptitude install pluto-dcerouter, the same error message appears.
When I try typing aptitude -y -f install pluto-website-admin,  I have a similar error but with the depends pluto-updatemedia

Finally when I try typing aptitude -y -f install pluto-updatemedia,  I have a similar error but with the depends libid3-3.8.3 (which is a virtual package ???!!!)

And the following files exist on the hard drive (in directory  /usr/pluto/deb-cache/dists/sarge/main/binary-i386)

libidl0_0.8.5-1_i386.deb
libid3tag0_0.15.1b-4.1_386.deb
libidn11_0.5.13-1.0_i386.deb
pluto-website-admin_2.0.0.32_i386.deb
pluto-website-support_2.0.0.32_i386.deb
pluto-media-database_2.0.0.32_i386.deb
pluto-pluto-media-db_2.0.0.32_i386.deb
pluto-updatemedia_2.0.0.32_i386.deb

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2005, 11:24:40 am »
ooops  :oops:   sorry!  my previous post has been typed as "guest"...

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Installation problems
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2005, 01:04:23 pm »
Hi,
i have made a new CD (lower speed)
now the installation runs without this erros and
pluto starts.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation problems
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2005, 05:19:55 pm »
Quote from: "DABEX"
Hi,
i have made a new CD (lower speed)
now the installation runs without this erros and
pluto starts.


Thanks for information.
I have checked all files on the CD using the MD5 file on this CD and all of them were OK.
But I'll make a new CD with lower speed and I'll post on this topic if it troubleshoots the problem in my case...

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
See my post about "Kickstart CD Install pb"
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2005, 01:40:28 am »
I believe that you had exactly the same problems I had, i.e. no package installation. See

newbielink:http://plutohome.com/support/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=469 [nonactive]

to see how I solved it ;)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Re: See my post about "Kickstart CD Install pb"
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2005, 11:49:49 am »
Quote from: "chyc"
I believe that you had exactly the same problems I had, i.e. no package installation. See

newbielink:http://plutohome.com/support/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=469 [nonactive]

to see how I solved it ;)


Unfortunately I cannot have Internet connection for the moment... The error occurs with the offline installation even after modify the Initial_Config_Core.sh to comment the packages sources (I've kept only the offline source).

Rewriting Cd with a lower speed doesn't troubleshoot the problem in my case...

Someone has already installed Pluto in offline mode with success ???

I don't understand : the libid3-3.8.3 package is needed but I cannot find a corresponding file (libid3-3.8.3_i386.deb for exemple) on the Cd ?


Anymore suggestions ?

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Offline install
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2005, 12:51:28 pm »
I'm not sure that you can do an offline install.
It didn't work in my case anyway, and the symptoms I had are *exactly* what you described in your first post, because /usr/pluto/bin does not exist unless you do an online install, or so I believe.

This is only MHO, the mods can answer to this one with certainty.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Pluto is running!!!!
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2005, 04:41:39 pm »
Hi
my Pluto is up and running.......
After a week of test, I tried everything, hints from vary users and Pluto supporter. This morning without any hardware modify, kick start CD is the same as a week ago, PC on the second boot started to download modules from Pluto site and finally was up and run.
The only things I've made is to try and retry to set DHCP and/or change cable connections in the PC and ADSL router!!!
I think but I'm not sure, as Chys wrote in a post, that isn't possible to do an offline install.
Now I'm curious to try the system, but I'm very satisfied.

Thanks

gillen

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2005, 07:38:10 pm »
We're aiming at a offline install disc. Currently the disc should work offline, with the drawback that it will also try the net, which will cause you a great deal of delay, but in the end it should work offline.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Install error with Initial_Config_Core.sh
« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2005, 01:57:20 pm »
I've waited for a long time but after several timeouts the installation is interrupted with an error.

I've finally an internet connection, modified the installation script as described by chyc to configure a proxy and now Pluto is installed and runs.

Thanks to all of you for your suggestions.