Author Topic: Don't Want firewall, dhcp settings? VLAN capable?  (Read 3238 times)

blacklotus

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
Don't Want firewall, dhcp settings? VLAN capable?
« on: March 06, 2008, 10:00:11 am »
ok, i am very happy with the firewall i'm using (astaro security Linux) and using the builtin firewall of the core is not an option for me. i only want to use either 1 nic or team up 2 of them together.

that being said, i have no problems setting up the core as my dhcp server, but the ip address it hands out for the default gateway is its own. how do i correct this?

Also, it would be great if the core could support vlans natively, or even multiple internal interfaces, so that it can be multihomed. There are reasons for having even a home network segmented yet wanting the segments all to have direct access to the core. i know linux would have no problem supporting vlans.

i'm a linux noob, but am not afraid of a command line. how much trouble would it be to make the single gigabit interface on my core belong to 2 different vlans and have a dhcp server on the core set up for both of them, with the default gateway pointing to the proper firewall ip?

i believe its the marvell yukon ethernet chip

colinjones

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
Re: Don't Want firewall, dhcp settings? VLAN capable?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2008, 12:07:04 pm »
You really need to do some reading on single NIC on these forums and particularly the Wiki. Just do some searches for "single NIC"...

To correct the DHCP issue, you should just be able to change the config file - /etc/dhcp3 - defaults to itself because that is the normal config. If the segment is the same, and the same VLAN, then just modify the gateway address.