Author Topic: Hybrid with SSD  (Read 2304 times)

ramonh

• View Profile
Hybrid with SSD
« on: April 06, 2009, 10:10:38 pm »
Hi all

I'm building my first HTPC. I was looking for a good Media Center Software.
WinMCE was not suitable, because I have moved from Windows to Ubuntu a few years ago. I'm still a newbie but very happy with Linux and the whole OpenSource idea  ;D

I want to build this PC as a single HTPC (Core/MC Hybrid):

Silverstone SST-GD01S-MXR Grandia Desktop
Silverstone SST-ST30NF-GM Fanless-Series - 300 Watt
MSI K9A2 CF-F, AMD 790X, Socket AM2+, CF
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5050e BOX, Socket AM2, Dual Core, 65nm
Silverstone SST-NT01-E Fanless Heatpipe Cooler
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4, 4x1GB, DDR2-800, CL4
Club3D 9400GT Passive, PCI-E x16, 512MB, HDMI (nVidia GeForce Chipset)
Club3D Theatron DD 7.1 PCI
Noiseblocker Multiframe S-Series MF8-S1
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1300, analog TV und DVB-T Hybrid Tuner
WiiMote  ;)

I was wondering if I could use a Solid State Disk with 32 GB to get rid of normal harddisk noise. But since SSD have limited delete cicles it could be destroyed within short time?

I will store my media on a NAS in another room.

Maybe I can record TV to the NAS as well. If not I want to use a HD to record and use the NAS for the more permanent media (like MP3, videos, etc.).
Like that the harddisk noise is reduced to record and then I can copy it to the NAS.

Does anybody have experience with ssd in the core?

Btw. I hope I'm in the correct sub-forum ???

colinjones

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
Re: Hybrid with SSD
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 10:52:34 pm »