Author Topic: GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM  (Read 1342 times)

Bodyhat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM
« on: March 02, 2008, 12:45:24 am »
Can anybody tell me if this Gigabyte MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16813128056 works with the latest LinuxMCE build. If it does i think i finally found the solution to connect it to my archaic TV (components) but has HDMI for possible tv upgrade. Any help would be appreciated

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4430
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 09:28:41 am »
Can anybody tell me if this Gigabyte MB http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16813128056 works with the latest LinuxMCE build. If it does i think i finally found the solution to connect it to my archaic TV (components) but has HDMI for possible tv upgrade. Any help would be appreciated

Hmmm... it uses the ATI1250 graphics chip which as is well documented here in the forums, because of ATI driver limitations, is not worth looking at currently. The simple answer is that you should look for a motherboard that is based on nVidia onboard graphics (or one you can add a nVidia 6200 card to)... or if you are not interested in UI2 with Transparency I expect that under 0710 you will be happy with an Intel motherboard that uses Intel onboard graphics part like the GMA950 or GMA3000 or above as these are now in testing with UI2 + Overlay.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Bodyhat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 07:45:41 am »
So if I disable the onboard ATI video card and install an Nvidia card will the HDTV Bracket that has component outputs still work?

DTS

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Keng - a blog
Re: GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2008, 08:31:08 am »
Quote from this wikipage: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_M2A-VM
Quote
20080214: LinuxMCE 0710b3 With the exception of MythTV not working with the onboard x1250's drivers, everything went pretty smoothly installing a system based on this motherboard as a diskless MD. Even the S/PDIF on the riser card worked and I was able to use AC3 passthrough on it. UI2 with masking (medium) works well. -- Venom986

This card has much of the same components:
Socket: AM2
Northbridge: AMD 690G
Southbridge: ATI SB600
Graphics: ATI Radeon X1250

So if you are going to use LinuxMCE as an Hybdrid running VDR then it should work. But no promises!

Also from the wiki:
Quote
This motherboard has NOT YET been confirmed to fully work with LinuxMCE properly (or vice versa) by anyone. Do NOT buy it just because you saw it here, you have been warned.

Edit: Anyone tried this? http://www.kvaes.be/mythtv/the-unofficial-guide-to-getting-your-tv-out-working-on-an-ati-x1250/
« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 08:52:00 am by DTS »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4430
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2008, 12:03:44 pm »
So if I disable the onboard ATI video card and install an Nvidia card will the HDTV Bracket that has component outputs still work?

I don't know about the HDTV bracket... but the nVidia card should work fine
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4430
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2008, 12:08:35 pm »
Quote from this wikipage: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ASUS_M2A-VM
Quote
20080214: LinuxMCE 0710b3 With the exception of MythTV not working with the onboard x1250's drivers, everything went pretty smoothly installing a system based on this motherboard as a diskless MD. Even the S/PDIF on the riser card worked and I was able to use AC3 passthrough on it. UI2 with masking (medium) works well. -- Venom986

This card has much of the same components:
Socket: AM2
Northbridge: AMD 690G
Southbridge: ATI SB600
Graphics: ATI Radeon X1250

So if you are going to use LinuxMCE as an Hybdrid running VDR then it should work. But no promises!

Also from the wiki:
Quote
This motherboard has NOT YET been confirmed to fully work with LinuxMCE properly (or vice versa) by anyone. Do NOT buy it just because you saw it here, you have been warned.

Edit: Anyone tried this? http://www.kvaes.be/mythtv/the-unofficial-guide-to-getting-your-tv-out-working-on-an-ati-x1250/

Hmmm... well the x1250 is a nice chip and certainly has the features needed for UI2 but so far the ATI drivers have proven to be the problem (as with Via :-( ). So if this is true then great...

But I would still suggest that if you just want to get an MD or Core working without 'pain' then nVidia is the way to go for now.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk