Author Topic: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard  (Read 4749 times)

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2008, 01:36:10 am »
What do you mean by 'it does not boot?'  Do you get no POST screen?

MediaMonkey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2008, 06:20:34 am »
What do you mean by 'it does not boot?'  Do you get no POST screen?
Yes. In fact it does POST and boot into Windows Vista if I clear the CMOS and I can re-start the machine any number of times. If I shutdown the machine and re-start it won't POST until I clear the CMOS again. When I posted this issue in the Abit support forum (http://forum.uabit.com/showthread.php?p=940837#post940837), I was told that PSU is inadequate for this mobo.

What kind of Power Supply do you use with this motherboard?

Thanks
Core/Hybrid: Foxconn N570SM2AA-8EKRS2H (has 2 network ports), ASUS EN6200LE, AMD-X2 4000+, 1GB DDR2-800, 500 GB SATA/300, DVD drive/writer, Sony XL1B3, BTC 9019URF, Gyro Mouse, Gyro Remote, USB-UIRT, MS Win XP Remote, ATI HDTV Wonder, HDHomeRun

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2008, 07:05:46 am »
I'm using a silverstone HTPC case with their included 220W power supply.  You're not using the new v19 BIOS are you?  I've seen posts about (and experienced) some severe problems with that BIOS.

MediaMonkey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2008, 07:27:34 am »
I'm using a silverstone HTPC case with their included 220W power supply.  You're not using the new v19 BIOS are you?  I've seen posts about (and experienced) some severe problems with that BIOS.

I tried both version 15 and 19 of BIOS with the same results. I guess I have to buy a different PSU to prove whether or not that is the issue.
Core/Hybrid: Foxconn N570SM2AA-8EKRS2H (has 2 network ports), ASUS EN6200LE, AMD-X2 4000+, 1GB DDR2-800, 500 GB SATA/300, DVD drive/writer, Sony XL1B3, BTC 9019URF, Gyro Mouse, Gyro Remote, USB-UIRT, MS Win XP Remote, ATI HDTV Wonder, HDHomeRun

DGKing

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2008, 04:10:43 am »
Try checking your BIOS voltage settings for the memory.  I have the same MB & had nightmares trying to get it up & running until I discovered that the auto settings topped out at 1.91V (I think) and my OCZ memory needed 2.21V.  Changing it from auto to manual & adjusting the settings worked wonders for it.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #20 on: April 02, 2008, 05:09:26 am »
Guys I have two of these running very nicely w 1080p on my sharp running alpha blending low cpu usage
use 0710b4 386  w 169.12 nvidia drivers and add useevents=true in xorg.

stop by chat if u need help with this.

I am there often
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #21 on: April 02, 2008, 06:09:25 am »
tk -  I'm still struggling with mine! Nothing I tinker with seems to make any difference to the jerkiness I get from all sources. I've tried 169.12 and the useevents option (what does that do?) and still no improvement. Using Beta4 AMD64 from DVD.

I have just tried switching the video card setting in the admin site from Standard Video Card to GeForce or TNT, no change, and Hardware Acceleration from xv to OpenGL, still no change.... would dearly love to know what is wrong and how to fix it!

MediaMonkey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #22 on: April 04, 2008, 06:58:11 am »
Try checking your BIOS voltage settings for the memory.  I have the same MB & had nightmares trying to get it up & running until I discovered that the auto settings topped out at 1.91V (I think) and my OCZ memory needed 2.21V.  Changing it from auto to manual & adjusting the settings worked wonders for it.
Thanks DGKing. I think that is the problem with mine also. It did not work at 2.0v for DDR2 which I already tried. I did not feel very comfortable jacking up the memory voltage further because it worked fine in other machines. After reading your post, I increased the memory voltage to 2.25v and now the replacement board does boot fine (with an idle power consumption of about 37W). But my original board still does not work, it still keeps re-starting. But it worked the first time I tried after increasing the voltage!

I am sure I can get at least one of these boards work with increased DDR2 voltage. This has been my worst experience while assembling a computer in 10 years.

Thanks again...
Core/Hybrid: Foxconn N570SM2AA-8EKRS2H (has 2 network ports), ASUS EN6200LE, AMD-X2 4000+, 1GB DDR2-800, 500 GB SATA/300, DVD drive/writer, Sony XL1B3, BTC 9019URF, Gyro Mouse, Gyro Remote, USB-UIRT, MS Win XP Remote, ATI HDTV Wonder, HDHomeRun

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #23 on: April 04, 2008, 07:50:45 pm »
Colin I am using a 4400 amd with mine and I am using the 386b4 version I had stability issues w 64bit
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2008, 12:46:55 am »
I'm using a 5200+, hmmm... do you think it might be because I'm using 64bit? Seems unlikely, but I could give 32bit a try - not getting any stability issues tho... just works pretty much all the time (although I do occasionally see the onscreen orbiter have a problem, die and then restart when I'm navigating around the UI a lot)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #25 on: April 05, 2008, 08:36:20 am »
danielk22 said the setup is usually very driver dependant, you would prolly have the best luck asking the ALSA folks. \

seth said that as far as I know, Linux can only do video over hdmi currently, there was some discussion of this in the knoppmyth forums

@PeteK, whatever you find I would like to know as well for my future refrence.  Please either post back here or in the wiki.

We've had sporadic success getting audio over HDMI with nVidia 6150 chipsets and the nVidia 169.07 drivers... however it seems to not be reliable and works for 10 mins or so and just stops. Weird... we're still debugging why that happens. The nVidia 169.12 driver may have improvements here but we have not tested those for audio over HDMI yet.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

nascarfan1956

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #26 on: April 05, 2008, 07:18:53 pm »
I know that HDMI incorporates HDCP in the handshaking process.  Is it possible that the necessary HDCP info is failing and cutting off the Audio???