Author Topic: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard  (Read 4936 times)

Bodyhat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« on: February 27, 2008, 05:49:24 am »
I've researched motherboards for quite some time in order to build my first LinuxMCE box. I came across abit's HD Motherboard with HDMI http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127036. Can anybody tell me if this motherboard will work with LinuxMCE? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 06:51:14 am »
Yes it does, but I have had some difficulty getting a smooth picture. That could just be me tho - tkmedia has the same board, and I believe he has had more luck, but I don't think he is trying it at 1080p yet.

andymck

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 10:48:46 am »
I use the same board at 720p and it works nicely...no probs so far.

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2008, 02:59:24 pm »
I have 2 of them and they work great :)

Bodyhat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2008, 03:51:46 pm »
Thanks for the feedback. Now i need something else resolved. Since this board has an hdmi out and optical out do I need an additional video and sound card or will the on board video/audio suffice? Once again thanks

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2008, 03:56:12 pm »
I am using the onboard HDMI and Optical out in my living room.

JimmyGosling

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2008, 04:03:40 pm »
I'm also using this board with 0710b3, it's been great.  I have not had the chance to use the HDMI or Optical though.

JimmyGosling

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2008, 12:18:42 am »
Just switched over to the HDMI output in setup, works great. 
I too set it up to be a 720p.  The TV claims to be able to do 1080p, but I wasn't able to get that setup to work.  Is that a MB limitation?

Bodyhat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2008, 09:07:03 pm »
@JimmyGosling

You said you that you recently tried using the HDMI outputs on this Mboard...what were you using prior to this? Video card? If so how and which one. I'm just trying to understand how to connect my TV that has component inputs. Thanks

JimmyGosling

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2008, 09:29:28 pm »
I doubt it would be any help, but I was using the D-Sub port.  My TV has a regular VGA port that I can plug into.

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2008, 05:03:30 am »
Jimmy--

I picked up a couple of these boards to use as MDs.  I have a question about it.  Is it capable of outputting sound over the HDMi link or am I forced to use one of the external sound ports?


Thanks guys,
-Pete

JimmyGosling

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2008, 02:34:01 pm »
I have thus far been using the external sound ports.  But then again I'm also going to an old receiver that only accepts RCA jacks, while the HDMI goes directly to the TV. tkmedia has been hacking up this board quite a bit dealing with the graphics.  Perhaps he also know something about the sound as well.  I'll ask around today on the IRC and get back to you on that.

JimmyGosling

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2008, 04:28:06 pm »
danielk22 said the setup is usually very driver dependant, you would prolly have the best luck asking the ALSA folks. \

seth said that as far as I know, Linux can only do video over hdmi currently, there was some discussion of this in the knoppmyth forums

@PeteK, whatever you find I would like to know as well for my future refrence.  Please either post back here or in the wiki.

zug

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • High Tech Pad
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2008, 07:31:51 pm »
I was looking into it but I couldn't find any drivers to output HDMI audio :(
Z-Wave,  Peripherals, Licenced Media Directors and Cores now available with European-wide Delivery at www.hightechpad.com.

MediaMonkey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: Abit An-M2HD Motherboard
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2008, 10:46:54 pm »
I am building a new HTPC based on AN-M2HD. It does not boot. I tried everything I can think of except changing the PSU. PSU is Antec 430W. What PSU you guys are using with this motherboard?

TIA
Core/Hybrid: Foxconn N570SM2AA-8EKRS2H (has 2 network ports), ASUS EN6200LE, AMD-X2 4000+, 1GB DDR2-800, 500 GB SATA/300, DVD drive/writer, Sony XL1B3, BTC 9019URF, Gyro Mouse, Gyro Remote, USB-UIRT, MS Win XP Remote, ATI HDTV Wonder, HDHomeRun