Author Topic: Repeating 0710 post installtion problems  (Read 2990 times)

Itsik

• Guru
    • View Profile
Repeating 0710 post installtion problems
« on: February 18, 2008, 07:41:06 am »
Hi all.

I'll start off by saying I'm a total noob to LMCE and linux as a whole.
My core/highbrid setup is as follows
Gigabyte K8-NF9 Mobo with a Realtek ALC850 based onboard sound
AMD Athalon XP 3000+
1GB Ram
Gforce 6600GT
160GB Sata HDD for the LMCE
320GB Sata HDD filled with Media on an NTFS file system

I inserted the quick install DVD, ran thru the setup with no problems and installation finished with one the no sound on SPDIF problem.
Everything else seemed to be working and detected.
I tried verious solutions found on this and other boards and and evetually got the sound working for a couple of minutes, but then it stopped working again.
Not being able to fix it convinced me to reinstall, again, installation seemed to work flowlesly only this time I got an error while starting the services (when you get a green bar on a gray background after everything is finished...) it hanged around 91% and the said something about not being able to stat the phone system and gave me a black screen saying that "some services could not start but I can still use my system" and a white ok button.
As I was eager to figure out the sound issue, I decided to continue and worry about it later .
I finally found a driver on the Realtek site that fixed the sound issue but some stuff stopped working.
Can't launch firefox from within the orbiter, trying to start mythtv from within the orbiter does nothing the screen just goes black.
So I've decided to do a fresh install but the same scenario just repeated it self again.