Author Topic: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)  (Read 1126 times)

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« on: February 18, 2008, 12:17:12 am »
I just set up a device for my Coolsat 5000 FTA receiver. I've used my USBUIRT and learned all of the codes from the remote. Now I notice a rather big problem with channel up/channel down...

While watching tv and using the channel up/channel down on my external orbiter, the channel changes 2-4 channels at a time. However, when I go to the web admin and test the code, it only turns one channel at a time (As it should)

Is anyone else experiencing this behavior? Should I mantis it?

thanks,

Jon

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1072
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 05:27:48 am »
i've actually seen this when I use my windows mce remote. Using it to change channels seems to make it jump twice as well in my limited mythtv use. It only seems to happen on the core/hybrid and not the md i also use it for.
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 10:45:58 am »
Hi,

basically two different problems can cause that :
1. either your remote is sending more commands by any particular reason

2. either more messages than necessary are generated under LMCE - sometimes this can happen if you have also some pipes defined or by some other misterious reason...

For a start, check DCERouter's log (you can run TailDCERouter.sh or something similar from command line) and press button on remote. if don't understand logs, post it here...


HTH;

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2008, 08:20:28 pm »
Yes I will try that

But wouldn't this be a bug?  If i test the code from the web admin, it only sends once and channels change like they should

Venom986

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2008, 08:44:00 pm »
I also found that using the TuneToChannel.sh script (which calls MessageSend) results in a 4x repeat of any button presses you are trying to emulate.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2008, 10:24:45 pm »
Sounds like a job for mantis to me.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2008, 10:40:19 pm »
added it to mantis

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Problems setting up a piece of A/V equiptment (bug?)
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2008, 10:46:53 pm »
Bulek-

I ran TailDCERouter.sh, and here are the results:

Pressing the Channel Up button on the orbiter for my satellite box:
Code: [Select]
08      02/18/08 16:43:22.257           Received Message from 35 (Datalux iPix - Jon and Traceys / Jon & traceys bedroom) to 10 (Media Plug-in / Jon & traceys bedroom), type 1 id 65 Command:Jump Position In Playlist, retry none, parameters: <0x43806950>
08      02/18/08 16:43:22.257             Parameter 5(Value To Assign): -1 <0x43806950>
08      02/18/08 16:43:22.258           Received Message from 35 (Datalux iPix - Jon and Traceys / Jon & traceys bedroom) to 59 (Coolsat 5000 / Jon & traceys bedroom), type 1 id 65 Command:Jump Position In Playlist, retry none, parameters: <0x4d019950>
08      02/18/08 16:43:22.258             Parameter 5(Value To Assign): -1 <0x4d019950>
08      02/18/08 16:43:22.258             Parameter 41(StreamID): 1002 <0x4d019950>


Pressing the Channel Down button on the orbiter for my satellite box:
Code: [Select]
08      02/18/08 16:46:15.402           Received Message from 35 (Datalux iPix - Jon and Traceys / Jon & traceys bedroom) to 10 (Media Plug-in / Jon & traceys bedroom), type 1 id 65 Command:Jump Position In Playlist, retry none, parameters: <0x43806950>
08      02/18/08 16:46:15.402             Parameter 5(Value To Assign): +1 <0x43806950>
08      02/18/08 16:46:15.403           Received Message from 35 (Datalux iPix - Jon and Traceys / Jon & traceys bedroom) to 59 (Coolsat 5000 / Jon & traceys bedroom), type 1 id 65 Command:Jump Position In Playlist, retry none, parameters: <0x4d019950>
08      02/18/08 16:46:15.403             Parameter 5(Value To Assign): +1 <0x4d019950>
08      02/18/08 16:46:15.403             Parameter 41(StreamID): 1002 <0x4d019950>


(The channel was changing two at a time on the satellite box)


Now, if I test the Channel Up command from the web admin:
Code: [Select]
08      02/18/08 17:28:31.932           Received Message from 0 (unknown / ) to 46 (USB UIRT Embedded Transmit / Jon & traceys bedroom), type 1 id 191 Command:Send Code, retry none, parameters: <0x53025950>
08      02/18/08 17:28:31.932             Parameter 9(Text): 0000 006C 0022 0002 0156 00AB 0015 0040 0016 0016 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0040 0015 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0040 0016 0040 0016 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0016 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0016 0015 0040 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0040 0016 05E7 0156 0056 0015 0E53 <0x53025950>

similarly if I test the Channel Down command from the web admin:
Code: [Select]
08      02/18/08 17:28:54.754           Received Message from 0 (unknown / ) to 46 (USB UIRT Embedded Transmit / Jon & traceys bedroom), type 1 id 191 Command:Send Code, retry none, parameters: <0x53025950>
08      02/18/08 17:28:54.754             Parameter 9(Text): 0000 006D 0022 0002 0155 00AB 0015 0040 0016 0016 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0040 0015 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0040 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0016 0015 0040 0015 0016 0016 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0040 0016 05E4 0155 0056 0015 0E4D <0x53025950>


Now when tested from the web admin, it changes channels one at  a time
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 11:32:34 pm by jondecker76 »