Author Topic: Failed to cache LinuxMCE CD1 (Solved)  (Read 825 times)

chamo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Failed to cache LinuxMCE CD1 (Solved)
« on: February 09, 2008, 11:23:14 pm »
For some reason I keep getting this message when I try to cache CD1, I`ve tried several things a nothing. I tried installing from the ISO but that gives me errors with mysql.

Does anyone have an idea why it might be failing to cache the CD? I`m able to read/copy the contents of the cd just fine, so I don`t know why linuxmce tells me it cannot cache.

Thanks!

chamo
« Last Edit: February 14, 2008, 11:59:59 am by chamo »

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to cache LinuxMCE CD1
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2008, 11:45:14 pm »
Check the md5sums on the ISOs, burn at low speed and verify the disc, replace the drive and/or cable.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


chamo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to cache LinuxMCE CD1
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 10:13:46 am »
Checked the md5sums on the ISOs, burned at 4x verified the disk = OK  but still the same deal, I get Failed to cache LinuxMCE CD1 when trying to cache the CD.  :(

Any other ideas?

Thanks.

Note: the drive is a lite-on dvd  rw 20x sata.

chamo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Failed to cache LinuxMCE CD1 (Solved)
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2008, 12:01:01 pm »
Ha! classic... it was a permissions problem, changed the mount permissions for my dvd drive and whoala! it works now.