Author Topic: Translations  (Read 6703 times)

omniware

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Translations
« on: February 09, 2008, 12:17:14 pm »
I'm a new user here.

I want to know if developpers are working about translate LinuxMCE to another languajes, specually to Spanish.

I think LinuxMCE is a great software and I want to made some tests to install it into my house.

There people haven't speaking English. If LinuxMCE is not tranlated to Spanish it is very difucoult to install.

I hope to help to translate LinuxMCE to spanish

Thanks a lot about you work.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Translations
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2008, 10:32:18 pm »
If you're interested to have Spanish version of LMCE you may do translation by yourself. Check this wiki article - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Translate_the_GUI_into_another_language and this topic about French translation - http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=2558.0;topicseen.

Personally I'm gonna translate LMCE to Russian. So, everything in our hands :)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

FladeX

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
  • from Russia
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 09:57:58 pm »
Personally I'm gonna translate LMCE to Russian. So, everything in our hands :)
Can I help you with this job? ;) I really needed in russian translate of LinuxMCE...
...and sorry for my bad english

enrique.lopez

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2008, 05:51:41 pm »
I'm a new user here.

I want to know if developpers are working about translate LinuxMCE to another languajes, specually to Spanish.

I think LinuxMCE is a great software and I want to made some tests to install it into my house.

There people haven't speaking English. If LinuxMCE is not tranlated to Spanish it is very difucoult to install.

I hope to help to translate LinuxMCE to spanish

Thanks a lot about you work.

the spanish translations is in pogress but its impossiblr for me run correctly linuxmce 7.04, 7.10 b2 and b3, but now with b4 i stand.
Bye

solidd_swa

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2008, 03:06:31 pm »
hey guys,

I am working on an Arabic translation. I followed the instructions i had ( i just changed the German DB name in the language table to Arabic) then i used the HaDesigner program to change the former German text to arabian word.

now when i start Linuxmce, the eateries i changed are all ?????? question marks. i bet this is a character set problem.
i also installed the kde Arabic packages, no dice.

what do you guys suggest i do? i am doing this for my job, and i would appreciate a fast response.

Ender

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2008, 10:52:20 am »
Hi,

First, you have to add a record to Language table, let's say "Romanian". Then add records in Text_LS for each text to be translated, having FK_Language that new language id and FK_Text the id of the text to translate.

To test, in webadmin choose that language for an orbiter and fully regen it.


Ender

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2008, 10:54:47 am »
Quote : "now when i start Linuxmce, the eateries i changed are all HuhHuh question marks. i bet this is a character set problem."

What are you using to insert records in the database? Make sure the text added is UTF8.

solidd_swa

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2008, 12:19:37 pm »
i dont know much about character encoding, so if someone can please teach me. i know arabic is unicode. i am not sure again if its UTF8. and how would i be able to store arabic characters in the DB
« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 12:27:10 pm by solidd_swa »

chriss

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2008, 02:14:29 pm »
There are some incosistencies with character encoding. See http://www.charonmedia.org/pipermail/lmce-dev/2008-January/000214.html on the dev mailing list on how to work around this. I did also file a mantis ticket inlcuding the instructions for integrating my german translation.

Cheers,
/Chriss

mmnogueira

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2008, 07:54:43 pm »
Hello All,

The Brazilian Portuguese translation is 90% done. First I created a Portuguese BR language in the Languages table (code 9). Then I exported the Text_LS table to a .ods file and opened it with OO Calc (in OO Calc is very easy to add lines, sort, substitute, compare, check spelling etc.). Finally I saved the file in CSV format and imported it to the pluto_main db using phpMyAdmin. After correcting collation and character encoding, following the instructions above on this thread, my LMCE is - partially - speaking Portuguese. Very easy and straightforward. However, some issues remain:

1. Some strings are not translated (e.g. items of the Lights, Media and Security menus);
2. Since most of the strings in Portuguese are much bigger than in English, their font sizes need to be adjusted in order to fit the available space in buttons and menu items.

Any help re the issues above will be greatly appreciated.

Finally, if someone is interested in this work, please send me the instructions on how to upload the file.

Thanks in advance,

Marcos Nogueira
S. Paulo - Brazil
LMCE 7.10 RC1 - UI2

brsisr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2008, 08:25:32 pm »


View Profile Email Personal Message (Online)
   
   
Re: Adding FULL support for other regions/country/languages
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2008, 01:53:17 pm »
   Reply with quoteQuote Modify messageModify Remove messageRemove
Hi All!

I tried to translate the Linux MCE to Russion , please find my scripts which perform a first automatic translation:

First script , which takes the string from DB and traslate it to russion( Every one could change this to it lamgauge):

#### Global variables
lang_id=4;
base_lang_id=1;
lang_desc='Russian';
###char_set='utf8';
###char_set='koi8r';
###char_set='cp1251';
char_set='cp866';

dbuser='odbcuser';
dbip='localhost'

#### End Global variables


### create language entry
mysql -u$dbuser -h$dbip -e "insert into  \`pluto_main\`.\`Language\` (PK_Language, Description , psc_id) values ($lang_id ,\"$lang_desc\",$lang_id );"

### clean the xisting language from DB
mysql -u$dbuser -h$dbip -e "delete from pluto_main.Text_LS where FK_Language =$lang_id;"

### Read the first string id for english language
fk_text_=`mysql -u$dbuser -h$dbip -e "SELECT FK_Text FROM pluto_main.Text_LS where FK_Text > 0 and FK_Language=$base_lang_id and Description not like '%<\%%' order by FK_Text Limit 1"`;
### clean field name
fk_text=`echo $fk_text_ | cut -f 2 -d " "`

#### do this operation for each record in DB
while [ "$fk_text" != "" ] ; do
### Read the text for string id which stored in fk_text   
   description_=`mysql -u$dbuser -h$dbip -e "select Description from pluto_main.Text_LS where FK_Text=$fk_text and FK_Language =$base_lang_id;"`
### clean field name
   description=`echo $description_ | sed  's/Description //' | sed 's/\\\n//'`;
   
   
### tralsation of the string
   description_rus=`echo $description | ./trans e2r` ;

### print for debug purpose
   echo -----------------------
   echo fk_text ::$fk_text::
   echo description::$description::
   echo description_rus::$description_rus::
   echo -----------------------

#### insert the translated string back to DB
   mysql -u$dbuser -h$dbip -e "insert into  \`pluto_main\`.\`Text_LS\` (FK_Text,FK_Language,Description) values($fk_text,$lang_id,\"$description_rus\");" --default-character-set=$char_set

### Read the next string id for english language
   fk_text_=`mysql -u$dbuser -h$dbip -e "SELECT FK_Text FROM pluto_main.Text_LS where FK_Text > $fk_text and FK_Language=$base_lang_id and Description not like '%<\%%' order by FK_Text Limit 1"`;

### clean field name
   fk_text=`echo $fk_text_ | cut -f 2 -d " "`
   
done;

The second script is a perl script which perform an automatic translation from internet ( not such good , but for first time is good enough)

Second script, name "trans":
#!/usr/bin/perl -w
 
 use WWW::Babelfish;
     # Dummy UserAgent
 use constant AGENT =>
             'Mozilla/4.73 [en] (X11; U; Linux)';
     # Supported Languages
 my @languages = qw(English French German Italian
                  Portuguese Russian Spanish);
     # Build hash that assigns language abbreviations
     # to languages (e=>English, g=>German, ...)
 foreach my $language (@languages) {
     my $initial = substr($language, 0, 1);
     $i2full{lc($initial)} = $language;
}
     # All abbreviations in one string (efgpirs)
 my $chars = join '', keys %i2full;
     # Conversion direction from the
     # command line (g2e, e2f, ...)
 my $way = shift;
 usage() unless defined $way;
 usage("Scheme $way not supported") unless
 ($from, $to) = $way =~ /^([$chars])2([$chars])$/;
     # Read in text to be translated
my $data = join '', <>;
    # Contact Babelfish
my $babel = WWW::Babelfish->new(agent => AGENT);
usage("Cannot connect to Babelfish") unless
    defined $babel;
    # Perform translation
my $transtext = $babel->translate(
    source      => $i2full{$from},
    destination => $i2full{$to},
    text        => $data
);
die("Error: " . $babel->error) unless
    defined($transtext);
print $transtext, "\n";
##################################################
sub usage {
##################################################
    my $msg = shift;
    my $prog = $0;
    print "usage: $prog ",
          "[${chars}]2[${chars}] file ...\n";
    foreach $c (sort split //, $chars) {
        print " $c: $i2full{$c}\n";
    }
    exit(1);
}

My scripts are support currently 6 languages :
English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

You only have to modify them a little to change the language.
The translation are taken from Babelfish.
the second script I took from some Linux forum.( I am really sorry , I forgot who wrote it originally).

However it is not enough.The OrbiterGen could not recognize the fonts.I found in code that if font are not updated , the arial will be used.
Anyone has an ideas where in DB , I need to update the fonts?
Even French and German , which exist in DB could not be recognized well enough.


BTW: How could I add the scripts to the distro?

solidd_swa

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2008, 10:47:35 am »
Quote
in phpmyadmin change collation type of
Description field in Text_LS from latin1-swedish-ci to utf8-unicode-ci.
Mysql should convert your strings from latin1 to utf-8. Now you change
field type from longtext to longblob. And last step is to change field
type from longblob to longtext with collation type set to
latin1-swedish-ci.

so i did all that, i still see ? ? ? ? ?  but now i do see that swl stores arabic, since before i would see ? ? ? after i save the arabic file in phpmyadmin. but now i see arabic in phpmyadmin.

I still see ? ? ? ? in the linuxmce user interface. any other ideas?

abdullah

Jeovane

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2008, 02:37:42 am »
Hello All,

The Brazilian Portuguese translation is 90% done. First I created a Portuguese BR language in the Languages table (code 9). Then I exported the Text_LS table to a .ods file and opened it with OO Calc (in OO Calc is very easy to add lines, sort, substitute, compare, check spelling etc.). Finally I saved the file in CSV format and imported it to the pluto_main db using phpMyAdmin. After correcting collation and character encoding, following the instructions above on this thread, my LMCE is - partially - speaking Portuguese. Very easy and straightforward. However, some issues remain:

1. Some strings are not translated (e.g. items of the Lights, Media and Security menus);
2. Since most of the strings in Portuguese are much bigger than in English, their font sizes need to be adjusted in order to fit the available space in buttons and menu items.

Any help re the issues above will be greatly appreciated.

Finally, if someone is interested in this work, please send me the instructions on how to upload the file.

Thanks in advance,

Marcos Nogueira
S. Paulo - Brazil
LMCE 7.10 RC1 - UI2

Hi! Marcos, I'm just starting to use the linuxMCE, I'm brazilian too.
If you need some help, that I can help, you can count with me.
I would like to know how to get your translation, if it is possible.
Thanks a lot.
Muito obrigado pela atenção e boa sorte nesta jornada.

Jeovane V. Sousa
Uberlândia-MG-Brasil

mmnogueira

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2008, 06:17:08 pm »
Hello Jeovane,

Hi! Marcos, I'm just starting to use the linuxMCE, I'm brazilian too.
If you need some help, that I can help, you can count with me.
I would like to know how to get your translation, if it is possible.
Thanks a lot.
Muito obrigado pela atenção e boa sorte nesta jornada.

Jeovane V. Sousa
Uberlândia-MG-Brasil

Welcome to the club. Be prepared for many sleepless nights... :-)

The translations issues mentioned at my previous posts are not resolved yet. Thanks to Thom and his excellent screencasts I'm playing with HADesigner more comfortabily now, but so far haven't been able to decypher this beast. Re the PTBR translation I'll send it to your email ASAP.

Thanks for your help offering - I'll certainly need it since I'm not a Linux expert at all. Let's keep in touch.

Best regards,

Marcos Nogueira
S. Paulo - Brazil

mmnogueira

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Translations
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2008, 08:25:59 pm »
Hello Jeovane,

Please send your email address to marcos dot nogueira at ig do com dot br.

tks,

Marcos