Author Topic: Problem with MediaDirector  (Read 2124 times)

eNoodle

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Problem with MediaDirector
« on: February 06, 2008, 07:26:48 pm »
Hy LinuxMCE-Guys,

My core is configured as Hybrid and everything works well.

But I have a problem regarding a FiireStation, which is used as a MediaDirector in a second room.  When I want to watch TV on that machine, I get the message "Sorry. MythTV is currently not running on this platform".

What does that mean? Is MythTV not installed for this MediaDirector or did I missed something else?

Thanks for your help and Greetings from Germany,
eNoodle

eNoodle

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2008, 02:12:36 pm »
Does nobody else has this problem or can give me a hint how I can activate or install MythTV on this machine?  ???

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2008, 02:59:12 pm »
Hy LinuxMCE-Guys,

My core is configured as Hybrid and everything works well.

But I have a problem regarding a FiireStation, which is used as a MediaDirector in a second room.  When I want to watch TV on that machine, I get the message "Sorry. MythTV is currently not running on this platform".

What does that mean? Is MythTV not installed for this MediaDirector or did I missed something else?

Thanks for your help and Greetings from Germany,
eNoodle

The FiireStation does not support MythTV. If you have recorded TV stored on your Core you should be able to access those recordings from your FiireStation using the Media -> Videos menu
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

eNoodle

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2008, 04:24:09 pm »
thank you totallymaxed, but I'm a little bit confused now.

Does that mean, that I can't use the FiireStation to watch TV in an other room?

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2008, 06:56:29 pm »
From what I understand (I dont have one, but have read about this problem)

The Firestations have a custom video driver to enable UI2 - however they use a custom debian kernel and currently neither MythTV nor Kubuntu will run on them.

I have heard, however, that you can set them up as a regular MD using UI1 and have full functionallity (you'll just have an uglier interface!)

I know fiire is trying to fix this, but until it is figured out, you need to decide whether you want UI2 with crippled functionallity, or UI1 with full functionallity.

eNoodle

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2008, 09:10:55 am »
@jondecker

thank you, it is indeed the video driver, which causes the problem.

Fiire stated, that they will solve this problem in the next release. I will give UI1 a try and wait for the fix here.

eNoodle

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2008, 10:25:20 am »
thank you totallymaxed, but I'm a little bit confused now.

Does that mean, that I can't use the FiireStation to watch TV in an other room?

If you allow the FiireStation to be autodetected and added to your system then the kernel it loads is an old none Kubuntu one from Pluto. This Kernel and build is the only one that is compatible with the Fiire Unichrome Pro II drivers... however in addition to not running Kubuntu 0710 the FiireStattion will not be able to run MythTV or allow the viewing of live TV or have the KDE desktop. It will however be able to run most of UI2 with transparency and play ripped DVD's and recorded TV stored on the Core.

You can also force the FiireStation to be added as a none Fiire MD but then you will loose the UI2 capability and have to use UI1...but will gain access to MythTV and KDE desktop.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

eNoodle

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with MediaDirector
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2008, 11:00:45 am »
thank you totallymaxed

I'll try to add this machine as a normal PC with Unichrome/Openchrome driver. TV is more important, then having a alpha blended menu.

To do this, is it enough to switch the templates in the PlutoAdmin or do I have to do something else?

eNoodle