Author Topic: CM11A - adding new lights...  (Read 14614 times)

caiman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #60 on: March 21, 2008, 10:48:48 pm »
I'm running 32 bits so I guess I'll have to compile it. Not sure how yet but I will figure it out.

thanks Jondecker76 !!!

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #61 on: March 21, 2008, 11:47:50 pm »
Heres info on setting up a development environment: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=4718.0

Heres the info you will need on where to get the changes, and what you need to recompile:http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=4456.0

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #62 on: March 24, 2008, 10:37:30 am »
The fix was submitted about a month ago, but it never made it to beta 4 unfortunately. It is however in the svn.linuxmce.com/pluto/trunk. You could download the required files from there:
CM11A/devicepoll.cpp
CM11A/devicepoll.h
CM11A/cm11aconsts.h
Serial/SerialPort.cpp
Serial/SerialPort.h
Lighting_Plugin/Lighting_Plugin.cpp
Lighting_Plugin/Lighting_Plugin.h
pluto_main/Define_EventParameter.h

If you are running 64-bit, i will send you the binaries if you want them.

The fix is 100% stable, and extremely fast (fast for x10 anyways) - everything happens for me in well under a second. Also, I am using this in a house with around 100 active x10 modules (all light fixtures and outlets in the house are X10, as well as many sensors, plug-in modules, and inline modules.

I understand why it doesn't work for me. I recompiled CM11A only. So, I should build Serial and Lighting_Plugin as well, right?
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #63 on: March 24, 2008, 11:46:33 am »
Michael

Yes, you must compile them too.
From /Serial run make, then copy the resulting libSerial.so to usr/pluto/lib
From Lighting_Plugin, run make so, then copy the resulting Lighting_Plugin.so to usr/pluto/bin

caiman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #64 on: April 04, 2008, 12:30:17 am »
BIG THANKS to nosilla99 and jondecker76 for this awesome piece of work !!! I soo love opensource.
If you send me your address by PM, you get a belgian beer (and still waiting for the one from Michael)

It works indeed very well ! All activity on the X10 "bus" generated by remote controls is decoded properly and the x5 answers do not cause locks any more.

I thought I would share the binary for x86 to save some time for others:
http://www.k-net.eu.org/lmce/cm11a-x86.tgz

Sam



jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #65 on: April 04, 2008, 06:19:46 am »
thank you caiman - if you don't mind, I may post your x86 binaries along with my 64 bit binaries to the "known problems" area on the wiki along with the other workarounds!

Glad to hear its working well for you

Jon

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #66 on: April 04, 2008, 02:37:49 pm »
It'd be really helpful, Jon! Thanks to you, nosilla99 and Sam for fixing and building a correct binaries for CM11A interface! Well done!
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #67 on: April 04, 2008, 10:46:37 pm »
you guys rock ;)

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #68 on: April 05, 2008, 07:34:50 pm »
What Hari said :)
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

martinsw

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #69 on: May 07, 2008, 10:56:58 am »
Hi jondecker,

Did you start looking at the CM15A usb controller integration yet ?

Xurde

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #70 on: August 27, 2008, 11:24:42 pm »
Hello there,

let me introduce myself: my name is Xurde, I´m from Asturias (Spain) and I´m doing my Final Project with X10. I got stuck at some point, and from what I´ve read in this post I think (and hope) you can help me. My project is about sending X10 signals from the PC, through CM11 interface. The problem is I´m receiving the "evil" 0x5A and so I can´t send any signal. I tried to send the ACK 0xC3 but it doesn´t work!  I've read your post (to be honest I didn´t read it entirely) and I saw you solved it, but I didn't get How. I´d be really happy if you could help me, thanks in advance,

Xurde Duran


jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #71 on: August 28, 2008, 03:59:20 am »
are you using 0710? X10 was broken on 0704, but fixed in 0710

Xurde

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #72 on: August 28, 2008, 11:46:26 am »
Hi jondecker76,

actually I´m developing the program with Windows (big Mistake), anyway I´ve just realized I was interpreting the signal in a very bad way, I´m receiving 0xA5, no 0x5A, what means a power fail! A solved it by sending 0xfb and updating the clock.

Anyway, thanks, if you guys still need anything, just write down in this post.

Gracias!

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #73 on: August 28, 2008, 02:28:06 pm »
The biggest thing we learned about the CM11A while tearing into it is that there exists some hardware flaws that make making a completely bulletproof driver extremely difficult.

For example, the CM11A can and will receive PLM data even during the middle of sending data. With a shared rx/tx buffer, you can see how this could get ugly. Before sending any data, queue it up and make sure that the serial ring is not indicating that data is coming in, and double check to make sure there isn't data already waiting to be processed. You can't fix the hardware flaw, but the more you can do to eliminate such collisions, the more stable things will be.

Another thing that can get you is that there are certain situations where 0x5A is a checksum, so be sure to include logic in your 0x5A handling that copes with situations where you are actually expecting it!
« Last Edit: August 28, 2008, 02:30:39 pm by jondecker76 »

stallione

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #74 on: December 30, 2008, 12:53:19 am »
Hey Jon,
 Thanks and great work!
Could you please send me the binaries (64bit) for CM11A that you've complied?
Thanks,
Stallione