Author Topic: CM11A - adding new lights...  (Read 14501 times)

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
CM11A - adding new lights...
« on: February 09, 2008, 03:54:45 am »
I have my CM11A set up per the wiki instructions. I have the correct Com port selected for its device data.

Now I am adding lights (or trying to anyways). I add a light as a child to the CM11A, but I'm unsure what to put for Device Data -> Port/Channel Number.

Just to test it out, I have a lamp module set to A1. Does this mean I just need to put A1 in the Port/Channel Number field?  I have tried it with no success so far.


thanks

Jon

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2008, 12:50:09 pm »
Yes it's A1 that you'll need to put in the "Port/Channel" field.  You may need to set "Room" and "PK_FloorplanObjectType" as well.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2008, 04:21:55 pm »
Huh, still no go.

Do I need anything in the "Device Pipes used" field?

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2008, 05:49:04 pm »
Here is my log while manually trying to send on/off commands to the switch at A1

Code: [Select]
/var/log/pluto/40_CM11A.log

10 02/09/08 11:46:40.296 Received MESSAGE 77             0x62b170 device: 40 <0x41001950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:40.296 Received Message type 1 ID 192 from 0 to 41 (device: 40) resp 0 <0x41001950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:40.296 Child device 41 has channel A1. <0x41001950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:40.323 Sending address with HouseCode=6, DeviceCode=6. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:40.323 Sending packet with HighByte=4, LowByte=66. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:40.323 Sending header with Checksum: 6a. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:55.330 No response from CM11A device. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:55.430 Sending address with HouseCode=6, DeviceCode=6. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:55.445 Sending packet with HighByte=4, LowByte=66. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:46:55.445 Sending header with Checksum: 6a. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:10.450 No response from CM11A device. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:10.550 Sending address with HouseCode=6, DeviceCode=6. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:10.550 Sending packet with HighByte=4, LowByte=66. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:10.550 Sending header with Checksum: 6a. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:25.553 No response from CM11A device. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:25.653 Sending address with HouseCode=6, DeviceCode=6. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:25.653 Sending packet with HighByte=4, LowByte=66. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:25.653 Sending header with Checksum: 6a. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:40.661 No response from CM11A device. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:40.761 Sending address with HouseCode=6, DeviceCode=6. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:40.761 Sending packet with HighByte=4, LowByte=66. <0x41802950>
10 02/09/08 11:47:40.761 Sending header with Checksum: 6a. <0x41802950>

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2008, 05:56:18 pm »
jonjecker76,

It looks like there is no communication to the CM11A.  Maybe double check the port and baudrate settings..
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2008, 06:35:27 pm »
how would I check/configure the baud rate settings?
I went into the BIOS and ensured that the serial ports are inabled, end even tried different IRQs and everything.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2008, 08:27:36 pm »
jonjecker76,

It looks like there is no communication to the CM11A.  Maybe double check the port and baudrate settings..


Dan, any suggestions how to solve bad checksum issue:
Code: [Select]
10      02/10/08 21:18:38.769           Sending address with HouseCode=6, DeviceCode=6. <0x41802950>
10      02/10/08 21:18:38.769           Sending packet with HighByte=4, LowByte=66. <0x41802950>
10      02/10/08 21:18:38.769           Sending header with Checksum: 6a. <0x41802950>
10      02/10/08 21:18:42.677           Got response: 5a from CM11A. <0x41802950>
01      02/10/08 21:18:42.677           Bad checksum received (send:6a, recieved:5a)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2008, 04:21:43 am »
I still can't get my CM11A to work with LinuxMCE..  I've reinstalled the device several times, but nothing is working! I've tried on both com1 and com2....

Here is a recent log...
Code: [Select]
Fri Feb 15 22:13:45 EST 2008 Restart
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1 02/15/08 22:13:53 55 (spawning-device) Starting... 1
1 02/15/08 22:13:53 55 (spawning-device) Found /usr/pluto/bin/CM11A
10 02/15/08 22:13:53.132 Device: 55 starting.  Connecting to: localhost <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:53.159 Setting timeout for socket 4 to 20 <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:53.169 DCE Router asked us to wait--it's busy at the moment <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.223 Socket::SendMessage type 5 id 37 from 55 to -1000 <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.224 Requesthandler 0x62b170 (device: 55) runThread now running <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 TranslateSerialUSB /dev/ttyS0 isn't serial usb <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Using serial port: ttyS0. <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Connect OK <0x2b6a5e585940>
05 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Creating child 56 <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Got CreateEvent for unknown type 37. <0x2b6a5e585940>
05 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 37 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Got CreateCommand for unknown type 37. <0x2b6a5e585940>
05 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 37 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0x2b6a5e585940>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Device Poll thread started. <0x41802950>
10 02/15/08 22:13:54.264 Child device: #56(A2)   Category:73 <0x41802950>
10 02/15/08 22:13:56.256 Receive string:  <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:13:56.256 Received  0x62b170 device: 55 <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:31.495 Receive string: MESSAGE 82             <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:31.495 Received MESSAGE 82             0x62b170 device: 55 <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:31.495 Received Message type 1 ID 760 from 0 to 55 (device: 55) resp 0 <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:31.495 Could not find a handler for message - from 0 to 55 Type: 1 ID: 760 (device: 55) Command_Impl1 Dev #55 <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:39.631 Receive string: MESSAGE 82             <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:39.632 Received MESSAGE 82             0x62b170 device: 55 <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:39.632 Received Message type 1 ID 760 from 0 to 55 (device: 55) resp 0 <0x41001950>
10 02/15/08 22:14:39.632 Could not find a handler for message - from 0 to 55 Type: 1 ID: 760 (device: 55) Command_Impl1 Dev #55 <0x41001950>

Can anyone help me?  There are tons of posts about the CM11A not working, and not one of them has been answered yet.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2008, 05:14:07 am »
Sorry guys, I can't help with the CM11A...
I didn't write it..

I did however, update the Insteon PLM to support X10... If you're in NA, that's a much better solution.

Michael,

Have you tried to calculate the checksum?  the spec is out there..  I'd calculate it and see if it's the driver or the CM11A.

(compare your result with the log)

If you're a programmer, the CM11A source is in the svn.

All the best,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2008, 07:38:09 pm »
After a couple of weeks of frustration, I finally have it working.
What it boils down to is that the CM11A its self has a firmware problem that makes it lock up when you switch computers. To reset it, all you have to do is unplug it from the wall, unplug the serial cable, take the batteries out (keep them out, lmce doesn't need them) and let it sit at least 15 minutes. Plugged mine back in and it works as it should now.
I found this out here http://www.shed.com/ddt1.html and it appears to be a common problem with these interfaces.

I added a troubleshooting section outlining these steps the the CM11 wiki

grba

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2008, 07:49:15 pm »
I have similar issue with CM12 but it help when  i move my CM12 in socket on other side of room. Probably something with electricity issue.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2008, 08:00:13 pm »
Thanks for the update and adding it to the wiki jondecker76.

grba, could it be that those outlets are on different phases?
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2008, 10:46:34 pm »
jondecker76,

yes, thanks MUCH for that update!  That's info I didn't know...
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1083
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2008, 11:06:33 pm »
After a couple of weeks of frustration, I finally have it working.
What it boils down to is that the CM11A its self has a firmware problem that makes it lock up when you switch computers. To reset it, all you have to do is unplug it from the wall, unplug the serial cable, take the batteries out (keep them out, lmce doesn't need them) and let it sit at least 15 minutes. Plugged mine back in and it works as it should now.
I found this out here http://www.shed.com/ddt1.html and it appears to be a common problem with these interfaces.

I added a troubleshooting section outlining these steps the the CM11 wiki

Dude, thanks for finding this! Im moving to insteon (slowly)  but Im sure it will be a great boon for everyone with x10. We need more users to do this.
Official Releases
http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.apk latest Qt4 android apk  http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiterQt5-release.apk for the Qt5 Android version http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.dmg for the MacOSX version

Unstable Nightlies
http://langstonball.com/downloads

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: CM11A - adding new lights...
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2008, 03:50:02 am »
jondecker76:

I've just had a lightning BOLT hit me

started playing around with DCEGen and sql2cpp today..
*AMAZING*
while I'm soaking up all I can, I was comparing the CM11A driver to my dummy driver I created:

if I'm not mistaken, the CM11A driver IS BIDIRECTIONAL!!!!

BUT,

it looks like it ONLY LISTENS to HOUSE CODE 'A'.

I give you exhibit A.
in devicepoll.cpp Line 149:
   sbuff[6] = 0x61; /* hard coded house code A for monitoring, probably shouldn't be hard coded */

I was wondering if you could try this!

This is *GREAT* news...

see if it works!

All the best,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.