Author Topic: Installing a new harddrive  (Read 1236 times)

posterberg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Installing a new harddrive
« on: February 05, 2008, 09:54:40 pm »
I've installed an extra drive to my system which is encrypted using LUKS...

I decerypt it at boot and name it sdc1_crypt and it shows up just fine under /dev/mapper/sdc1_crypt

LMCE wants to automatically add /dev/sdc1 so I chose No, and never for this device.

I then manually added the harddisk in the webadmin panel.

Advanced -> Configuration -> Devices

Opened CORE and clicked add new child device

Named it "Internal HDD (sdc1_crypt)" and picked the device template 1790. The same as the other hard drives have.

Filled out all the input boxes in the same way as the other hard drives are.

Block device "/dev/mapper/sdc1_crypt"
File system "ext2"

The Free Disk Space in Megabytes gets updated just fine.

The disk gets mounted as /mnt/device/38 after a reboot and I can use it.

But then, suddenly, after about 5 minutes it get unmounted and the folder /mnt/device/38 gets removed.

Then it won't show up again until I reboot the system and then works for another 5 minutes before it just disappears.

There are no information in dmesg or in /var/log/syslog...

Does anyone have a clue to why it just gets removed after a short while?

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the device if I run fsck on it, and all files are there if I manually mount it in a manually created tmp folder. So it seems the LMCE thinks that it shouldn't be there. I just can't figure out why nor why it works for a short period...

???
 
« Last Edit: February 05, 2008, 10:01:17 pm by posterberg »

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Installing a new harddrive
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2008, 11:07:11 pm »
Lmce only mounts its disks when needed,  try for instance: "ls -al /mnt/device/38/" from a command prompt.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


posterberg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Installing a new harddrive
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2008, 11:37:57 pm »
That was truly interesting...

It worked and I could indeed see what was in that folder... 1 minute later... gone...

But how do I access it in the LMCE native gui? I can't see any of the contents stored on that disk when I "browse" my media. And... the disk named 31 (not manually added) is always mounted. It doesn't get unmounted like disk 38... And I can always see its contents in the LMCE gui...

Is there anything I could do to make it "stick" in the LMCE gui as well?

I can never, when in unmounted state, see the media on that disk through the web admin gui either.

Code: [Select]
Directory: /home/public/data/videos 


Files on disk
Internal HDD (sdc1_crypt1) [38]
Internal HDD-CORE (sdb1) [31]
tv_shows_0
tv_shows_1

Code: [Select]
Directory: /home/public/data/videos/Internal HDD (sdc1_crypt1) [38] 


Files on disk
No files in physical directory
LEGEND FOR FILES
Exist only on disk
Exist both on disk and in database
Show files who are missing from disk

There are indeed a lot of files of that disk...
« Last Edit: February 05, 2008, 11:41:39 pm by posterberg »

posterberg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Installing a new harddrive
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2008, 11:57:53 pm »
SOLVED...

Stupid user error....

I forgot that I stored all the media under user_1 and not in public...

I thought that my media should be visible in the LMCE gui along with the public contents when accessing the system as me...

That was a work around for differing from my daughters and my media... I don't want all the kindergarten TV shows and she won't find her stuff if the gui is cluttered with my tons of media... =)

I guess I'll have to come up with a better solution...

Thanks for your help! You saved me some hours, it seemed so puzzling at first!!! =)

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Installing a new harddrive
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2008, 03:12:37 am »
Both your personal and the public content can be visible if you select your user as well as public under "Source".
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


posterberg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Installing a new harddrive
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2008, 07:52:23 am »
Yup that works for me, but not intuitive and easy enough for a 5 year old... I want her stuff to just pop up when she press the video button on her remote...

Guess I'll have to hack some more and try to learn the system a bit better...