Author Topic: Set-Up 0710  (Read 1268 times)

PowrrrPlay

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Set-Up 0710
« on: February 03, 2008, 10:13:52 pm »
I am planning a 0710 "core" set up and have a few questions.

When I set up multiple media directors around the home, i am planning on not using HDD in the MD's.   I know you are going to say, well this is how the system is intended to be operated so I ask,

  1) Using different MD hardware configurations like "video cards" and "audio cards, will this be a problem for the MD's at boot time (boot from LAN card) for loading the proper video and audio drivers on each device.   I am sure I will be told that this is not a problem, so anyone that can post some tips, tricks and a good "how to" is much appreciated by myself.    and my next question about the MD's configuration is

  2) what about the /swap drive (paging device).  As I will not be using a HDD in each MD will paging occur over the LAN on the "cores" HDD if more RAM is required?

  3)  I assume a network laser printer is also supported on the DHCP LAN, does anyone have any network scanning ideas/info?

  4)  As the MD's are essentially a basic computing device, can "open office" run on the MD's as well for desktop computing?  I also assume mozilla or kbrowser will work as well.

thanks for your help

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2987
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Set-Up 0710
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2008, 07:00:40 pm »
  1) Using different MD hardware configurations like "video cards" and "audio cards, will this be a problem for the MD's at boot time (boot from LAN card) for loading the proper video and audio drivers on each device.

Each media director is setup on its own. Meaning, you can configure each and every setting differently for all your MDs. In my test bed, I had an old Fujitsu Siemens Table PC, some old Compaq EVO n400 all working as MDs.

Quote
3)  I assume a network laser printer is also supported on the DHCP LAN, does anyone have any network scanning ideas/info?
I am not sure I understand what the  network printer has to do with an LMCE installation, but basically each MD runs CUPS if I remember right, so they will be able to access whatever network printer is available.
Quote
4)  As the MD's are essentially a basic computing device, can "open office" run on the MD's as well for desktop computing?  I also assume mozilla or kbrowser will work as well.
yes, you have a full KDE desktop at your command.

rgds
Oliver

PowrrrPlay

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Set-Up 0710
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2008, 09:04:43 pm »
Thanks Oliver, as I expected.

Only question I would like to get answered now is the MD /swap space.    How (does) paging happen with an MD?

Cheers

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2987
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Set-Up 0710
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2008, 09:29:40 pm »
Sorry, I'm just reloading my system, and didn't bother before hand to look. Only two ways of doing it, that I know off. No Swap space, or swap over NFS.

There might be more options, but I do not know.

HTH
rgds
Oliver

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: Set-Up 0710
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2008, 09:36:36 pm »
Sorry, I'm just reloading my system, and didn't bother before hand to look. Only two ways of doing it, that I know off. No Swap space, or swap over NFS.

There might be more options, but I do not know.

HTH
rgds
Oliver

With 7.10, if you have a hard drive in your MD but you're setup as a diskless MD, the system will use the swap partition on your local hard drive...

PowrrrPlay

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Set-Up 0710
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2008, 04:49:02 pm »
OK, so it looks like paging is relevant.  Not sure if I want to do NFS paging.   Definitely will not be adding any HDD's to each MD.   But I may go pick up some 512MB USB 2.0 thumb drives and format them as /swap.  @ 4.99 each it is a pretty cheap solution. 

Does anyone have any experience using USB thumb drives with their MD's?