Author Topic: AVI plays in Kafine in KDE but not in media orbiter...Please help a noob!  (Read 4818 times)

magicboy123456

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
I seem to be having problems with AVI files...  I have installed Kubuntu MCE Gutsy and I think I have got all the codecs I need.  All AVI's play fine in Kafine when at the ubuntu desktop, all I get when I try to watch them in media mode is a black screen.  I don't even get any sound.  DVD's play ok in media mode, just not good old avi.

I am new to Linux, so sorry if this is a nooby question, but this is like learning computers all over again for me. 

Hope you can help.  Thanks for reading and any help.  :)

lon22

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: AVI plays in Kafine in KDE but not in media orbiter...Please help a noob!
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2008, 03:39:10 pm »
What is the file extension? Is it simply .avi? I had a problem like this before. My problem was that I had a special character (#) within the file name that once removed played.

magicboy123456

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2008, 06:42:59 pm »
I think it might have... God I hope it's not that simple....Something I should have checked before.  I will test in a min and post back.  Thanks :)

magicboy123456

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2008, 10:47:13 pm »
Funny, it works sometimes but not others? I have changed the filenames of all media to something nice and short with no special characters or spaces.  Any other ideas please?

The longer I play around with this the more questions I have.  I am having a nightmare with my ATI graphics card.  I think I will have to start a new post for that one.

Hagen

• Guru
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2008, 12:58:10 pm »
Will a particular file play sometimes and not other? or will one file never play, while another always plays?