Author Topic: Philips Hue on 1404  (Read 199 times)

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Philips Hue on 1404
« on: July 20, 2016, 12:16:43 am »
Hello to all,

I just got the Philips Hue starter kit and start messing it around!.  LMCE detected it automatically but I havent find the way to make it recognize the configured bulbs.
On the wiki http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Philips_Hue, says step by step how to get it to work.  I look on the forums and no one have mention anything about Philips hue in a while so Let see if we can get it working
Step 1: Connect it, and wait in the orbiter for auto detection....Check!
Step 2: Go to advance and look at the logs.  I have an error that the error log cannot be found!.  So I cannot view the user issue
Step 3:  I though.. what could go wrong....... lets just Press the ink-button on the Hue-Bridge and see what happens... and nothing happens! hahahahaha.

So that is where i´m standing.!  Any hints on why there is no error log? or how to setup a proper user and password to access the hue bridge?
This is the bridge that is square.. i believe is v2.

Cheers,

T

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Philips Hue on 1404
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2016, 04:11:52 am »
Hello to all,

Here is an update.. i was looking around and found this link http://www.developers.meethue.com/documentation/getting-started, which let me to understand that maybe the issue was that there is no user name at all as soon as you start the box, so On the app on the android there is an option to connect to the hue bridge, this way it will create the user, for this example I used my dontcarewhathappens@gmail.com account and press the link key.  With that... on the orbiter prompt that new hardware found and needed a reload.

Now at least I have something on the error log

1   07/19/16 20:55:42   /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 117 (spawning-device)   5928 Dev: 117; Already Running list: 15,16,17,18,32,45,111,116,20,25,21,24,22,28,
== FRESH START ==
1   07/19/16 20:55:42   /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 117 (spawning-device)   device: 117 ip: localhost cmd_line: HueController
0   07/19/16 20:55:42   117 (spawning-device)   Entering 117
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1   07/19/16 20:55:42   117 (spawning-device)   Starting... 1
1   07/19/16 20:55:42   117 (spawning-device)   Found /usr/pluto/bin/HueController

Ill start playing with this and see if I can find the way to figure out which is the valid username.

Cheers,

T

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1164
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Philips Hue on 1404
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2016, 04:44:21 am »
Just saw this. sounds like the username isnt getting set...

Using the webadmin a couple questions
*is the device data for username in there?
*does it have the right ip address?


-golgoj4
Linuxmce - Where everyone is never wrong, but we are always behind xbmc in the media / ui department.

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Philips Hue on 1404
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2016, 11:57:58 pm »
Just saw this. sounds like the username isnt getting set...

Using the webadmin a couple questions
*is the device data for username in there?
*does it have the right ip address?


-golgoj4
Thanks Golgoj.. webadmin did showed the right ip, but username was not.  So I tried to add the user, just to play with the info found previously posted.

I was able very easy to generate a new user but I got the same results, so something else is missing. Im sure there is something missing but well.. this is part of the game!!.  Se attached image of user generated.  I copied the same username created, quick reload but no new results.  What about the password do I need to fill something there?

Cheers,
T


golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1164
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Philips Hue on 1404
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2016, 07:20:39 pm »
Thank you for the feedback!

I will be looking into this more.
Linuxmce - Where everyone is never wrong, but we are always behind xbmc in the media / ui department.

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1164
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Philips Hue on 1404
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2016, 07:25:31 pm »
In the meantime while I look into this try this:

*Webadmin, find the Hue Controller under the 'Show devices tree' button (located on bottom left of webadmin)
*After you find the device, click on it to see its device data.
*At the top of the device data page, you should see a button 'send command to device', click that
*Try sending the 'download configuration' command, and the 'report child devices' command.
*Go to the list of lights, see if the ones that are part of your Hue Controller have been added.


Thanks
Langston
Linuxmce - Where everyone is never wrong, but we are always behind xbmc in the media / ui department.