Author Topic: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]  (Read 554 times)

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1473
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken
« Reply #15 on: February 01, 2016, 07:55:14 pm »
regarding the net-install, the errors persist.
I will try the snapshot now

I have just completed a fresh 1404 i386 kubuntu install (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/releases/14.04/release/kubuntu-14.04-desktop-i386.iso) and followed the instructions at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_1404.  There is absolutely no problem.  Everything installs perfectly. 

Please triple check what you are doing.  It takes a lot of time for me to test these things and that time could be much better spent.

J.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken
« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2016, 04:57:36 pm »
I just saw you put the fix in the update queue. Thank you very much.
Great work!
Cheers
Mario

G.I.R.

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken
« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2016, 10:01:57 pm »
Hy,

i just did a successful 14.04 net install.

I had problems with fresh 12.04 and 14.04 getting audio via hdmi to work in the past.
But now it is working out of the box!
The whole installation went totally smooth.

Will "customize" the new installation later.

Big thank You! Great Work!

edit:
p.s.:

this is my graphic card:

Code: [Select]
GF119 [GeForce GT 520]
using it in the hybrid...
« Last Edit: February 02, 2016, 10:04:13 pm by G.I.R. »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3335
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken
« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2016, 11:10:22 pm »
Thanks for the positive feedback.

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1473
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken
« Reply #19 on: February 03, 2016, 12:19:06 am »
Great to hear!  We fixed a very long-standing bug with hdmi audio and nvidia hardware that I hope fixes things up for a lot of people!

J.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2016, 04:11:01 pm »
I did a fresh net install yesterday.
on the first run of AVWizard, the NVIDIA-drivers were not present., only the TV-Card was offered for sound. I went through it and in the end clicked on disagree. This brought me back to a black screen and a hang up. I rebooted, went through the wizard, this time with NVIDIA-drivers automatically loaded and with sound :-)

The only thing left now, is the missing setup for Mythtv under Computing. I know Phenigma told me what package I need to reinstall, but unfortunately I forgot.
Other than that, I seem to have trouble opening ports in the firewall.

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1473
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2016, 04:34:26 pm »
Not having nvidia drivers installed is definitely a bug in the initial boot.  Based on what I know of the scripts I'm not even sure how that is possible to occur, but needs some investigation.

The mythtv-setup icon is created by the pluto-mythtv-player package's postinst.  If it is not available then something likely did not complete there, again that would be a bug if we can figure out why.

Thanks for testing and reporting!

J.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2016, 04:56:03 pm »
Thanks alot :-)

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #23 on: February 05, 2016, 05:30:51 pm »
I just found out, mythweb is missing

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1473
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2016, 05:39:58 pm »
I don't believe it is missing, but it may not be configured fully.  The switch to 0.27.5 changed a few things a few months back.  None of the developers use mythtv at all so this will fall to those that use it to troubleshoot and provide/suggest fixes.  :)  Thanks.

J.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #25 on: February 05, 2016, 06:08:40 pm »
ok, since I have no real idea where to look, I will try a vm with lmce1204 and see if its working there...and if it is, whats different. I'll post my findings here.

phenigma

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1473
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #26 on: February 05, 2016, 06:19:05 pm »
Most of the info/settings for it are in /etc/apache2/sites-available and the active sites are symlinked into /etc/apache2/sites-active or something like that.

J.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
Re: net install of 14.04 is currently broken[solved]
« Reply #27 on: February 05, 2016, 10:12:21 pm »
I have checked that. /etc/apache2/sites-enabled has a symlink for mythweb.conf, which is in /etc/apache2/sites-available
I also verified in the mythweb.conf the directory tags
Quote
<Directory "/var/www/html/mythweb/data">
Options +FollowSymLinks +IncludesNoExec
<Directory "var/www/hml/mythweb" >

That is also what I'm supposed to check according to mythtv.org
The links are all working..so right now I don't know what else to check for.
I always get
Quote
The requested URL /mythweb/ was not found on this server.
for dcerouter/mythweb
unless the url has changed to something I don't know...well I don't know why its not running, but of course my knowledge is limited