Author Topic: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV  (Read 7579 times)

super

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« on: January 30, 2008, 09:27:11 am »
I was able to install 0710 b3 on my HTPC, but when it boots up, the login is displayed only for a second and disappears. Is this a problem with the driver? I have the ASUS nvidia 8600 GT card and have hooked this up to a Sharp Aquos 1080p TV using a DVI to HDMI cable. Is the nvidia 8xxx series supported in LMCE 0710?

Any suggestions on how I can get around this? Do I get LMCE working on a regular monitor display first and then try it out with the TV display? Please let me know.

Thanks!

super

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2959
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2008, 11:35:19 am »
The login always just flashes by. And yes, it might well be a problem with the video driver.

After the login, it should switch to a graphical view of things. There seems to be a problem there. Try attaching a regular computer display to the VGA out (if you have one), and see if that helps.

rgds
Oliver

fibres

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • LinuxMCE 08.10 RC Mirror.
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2008, 02:11:27 pm »
Could be the setup wizard is loading and selecting the vga output instead of the dvi one.

Try pressing the 1 key on keyboard i think it is to slect the DVI out.

Regards

super

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2008, 09:26:36 am »
Has anyone gotten LMCE working with nVidia 8600 GT graphics card yet? It would help immensely to know if anyone has made it work with nVidia 8600 series and how they got past the display issues. These cards are current not future, so I would imagine a pretty large install base with these cards.

I tried hooking my machine to a computer monitor, and got the same results (blank screen after the kubuntu splash screen), so I am pretty sure this is a display driver issue.

I want to know if the DVD install will even work on this, or should I go the CD route (install kubuntu first, then LMCE etc.) Thanks in advance for any responses.

geoffrey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2008, 09:45:06 am »
While setting up and troubleshooting my DVI connection I found it very useful to have a VGA monitor connected at the same time.  When the DI was not displaying anything I always had the VGA to see what was going on.
Asus M2NSLI Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3GHz
Asus EN6200TC512 Graphic Card
WinTV PVR-150 MCE
(2) Samsung T166 SATA II 500GB
Corsair TwinX 2GB CL5 DDR2-800

super

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2008, 09:52:15 am »
While setting up and troubleshooting my DVI connection I found it very useful to have a VGA monitor connected at the same time.  When the DI was not displaying anything I always had the VGA to see what was going on.

Thanks, but my graphics card has 2 DVI connections, so no VGA here. Does anyone know where to find LMCE 0710 b3 standalone CD? I am trying separate installs of kubuntu 0710 and LMCE since the DVD installation does not work for me.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2008, 01:56:12 pm »
Super - you haven't said whether you followed the advice you have already received in this thread!

When LMCE starts up, it defaults to VGA. So if you have no VGA monitor attached or in your case no VGA output, then you will see no picture.

PRESS 1 on the keyboard once the screen goes blank (give it 10 seconds before you do this, and 10 seconds afterwards to settle down) this will select your DVI. Also use 6-0 on the keyboard to choose different resolutions to ensure that your monitor can handle the resolution you are on. Again give it several seconds to settle down.

Please try doing some searches for 2 DVI outputs, and 8600 - I have read something before about dual DVI on the forums. Yes, even if the drivers do not give the full acceleration or all the features of your card, you should certainly be able at least to get it displaying something! Try using 0710 beta 3 as this has the latest nVidia drivers. Otherwise, you will have to do some searches to find out how to install the new drivers manually from the text command line. (hint - start by hitting CTRL-ALT-F2)

super

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2008, 05:36:55 pm »
Colin, I have tried holding down the shift key to get AVWizard to start and then pressing the 1 key to get it to select DVI output, then selecting 0 for 1080p output. I tried this both on the TV and a computer monitor.

Will try it once again according to your instructions. I will also search for dual DVI on the forums. Searching for 8600 did not yield useful results if I remember.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2008, 11:22:58 pm »
I think the dual output maybe causing you problems, but there are other things as well. Try this thread -

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3784.0

super

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2008, 07:34:20 am »
Thanks Colin,

I swapped the 8600 GT with the 7600 GS graphics card from another computer, and got to the A/V Wizard. Curious thing though, in the selections, I cannot seem to select the 1080p resolution even at 50 Hz (The TV complains about invalid signal). My TV is Sharp Acquos 1080p and I get 1080p from my DVD on the other HDMI input. I chose the 720p in A/V Wizard and was able to install LMCE perfectly. I got the flickr screensaver, played some DVDs and CDs. About the 1080p I know this has something to do with the graphics driver. Can anyone confirm?

Now when I restart, it gets stuck on the kubuntu splash screen. Does anyone know how to get to the quiet option with no splash screen? The TV says that it is getting a 1080p input. I had selected 720p in the A/V Wizard since 1080p was not working. Anyway I will keep playing around with it to resolve this. Any help would be appreciated of course.

***************Edit: ************************
I found out the cause for this problem. I had plugged in a second drive, and kubuntu  bootup was saying that '/dev/sda1' could not be found. How do I get it to bootup with the first drive after adding the second drive? My plan was to store all music, movies etc. on the second drive. That way even if I reinstall the final version for 0710, my media would be safe on the second drive. Does anyone know how to do this? I will start a separate thread on this.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2008, 08:38:38 am by super »

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2008, 01:37:41 pm »
Super,

When you added the 7600 GS did you have to change any drivers, or did it work once you added it to your box?
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

lightsoul

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2008, 03:35:29 pm »
i have the same problem with two type of Nvidia cards, the only way you can overcome this problem is to downgrade your display option, while booting press and hold shift key and the configuration will come up, then chose the first item in the list where (static images).

there is more problem now in 710
can't use U2
playing video file is sucks
no seeking forward
feel nothing improved since 704

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2008, 04:11:07 pm »
There's got to be a way to make it work, the static image kills the whole experience.  I had my box working using DVI to HDMI and at 1080p res. I had the alpha blending UI running, but the screen kept blinking.  I have an GeForce 8600 GTS.
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

super

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2008, 05:13:17 am »
I did a reinstall but the driver was the same generic 'nv' driver not the proprietary 'nvidia' driver. I changed the driver to the proprietary 'nvidia' driver and am having display problems again. Will update this thread on what happens today. Alpha blending with UI2 was working quite well on 7600 GS. I played some DVDs and the playback was pretty good (ocassional glitches hardly noticeable), but this was all at 720p NOT 1080p. My next step is to get to 1080p resolution. Maybe I need to setup the latest driver first and then run A/V Wizard?

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Display problem with nVidia 8600GT card on 1080p TV
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2008, 07:27:00 pm »
Well I have almost everything working, just need to connect my media drives that house my movies and recordings.  I borrowed a s-video to component/composite dongle get a 720p output.  It's not 1080i, but it'll have to do for now. The dongle comes with most nvidia cards, but if your does not you can buy one for about $7 at http://www.fasterclock.com/SearchResults.asp?Search=compupack.  I'm using the 'nvidia' drivers and it seems to be working fine. 
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3