Author Topic: Orbiter won't activate  (Read 3951 times)

amainie

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2008, 12:29:04 am »
Same here. My first experience with Linux MCE  :(. The only suspicious parts from the log imho are:

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
The following packages will be DOWNGRADED:
  libc6 libc6-i686
0 upgraded, 44 newly installed, 2 downgraded, 0 to remove and 70 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/57.4MB of archives.
After unpacking 167MB of additional disk space will be used.
E: There are problems and -y was used without --force-yes
Try 0 failed with exit code 100
...
The following packages will be DOWNGRADED:
  libc6 libc6-i686
0 upgraded, 44 newly installed, 2 downgraded, 0 to remove and 70 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/57.4MB of archives.
After unpacking 167MB of additional disk space will be used.
E: There are problems and -y was used without --force-yes
Try 1 failed with exit code 100
Package installed successfully
...
rm: cannot remove directory `/tmp/tmp.EVLCg15059/lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/volatile': Device or resource busy
Reading package lists...
Building dependency tree...
Reading state information...
The following packages will be upgraded:
  liblircclient0
The following packages will be DOWNGRADED:
  cupsys cupsys-bsd cupsys-client cupsys-common e2fslibs e2fsprogs findutils
  firefox foo2zjs ghostscript ghostscript-x hwdb-client-common hwdb-client-kde
  kdelibs-data kdelibs4c2a kdesudo language-pack-en language-pack-kde-en
  libblkid1 libc6 libc6-i686 libcairo2 libcomerr2 libcompress-zlib-perl
  libcupsimage2 libcupsys2 libflac++6 libflac8 libgs8 libmysqlclient15off
  libnm-util0 libpango1.0-0 libpango1.0-common libpcre3 libperl5.8 libpng12-0
  libpoppler-qt2 libpoppler2 libqt3-mt libqt4-core libqt4-gui libsmbclient
  libss2 libssl0.9.8 libuuid1 linux-headers-2.6.22-14
  linux-headers-2.6.22-14-generic linux-image-2.6.22-14-generic
  linux-restricted-modules-2.6.22-14-generic linux-restricted-modules-common
  mysql-common openoffice.org-calc openoffice.org-common openoffice.org-core
  openoffice.org-draw openoffice.org-impress openoffice.org-java-common
  openoffice.org-kde openoffice.org-math openoffice.org-style-crystal
  openoffice.org-style-human openoffice.org-writer openssl perl perl-base
  perl-modules perl-suid poppler-utils python-uno ttf-opensymbol tzdata
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 71 downgraded, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/197MB of archives.
After unpacking 8188kB disk space will be freed.
E: There are problems and -y was used without --force-yes
MESSAGE: Installation Finished

Anyone able to help out?

Thanks!

mikeciz

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2008, 06:44:54 pm »
I've tried re-installing but it still won't work. I also get flashing on the top of the screen "OrbiterGL". It is written on the title bar of a program window. There's no bottom part of the window. It flashes in for about half a second then goes away for about 4 seconds. Then repeats. ???

Jiffyman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2008, 12:51:16 am »
O.k. I think I got the answer to this one if you are running ATI graphics that is. (MIGHT WORK FOR NVIDIA CARDS)

1. Install Kubuntu 7.04-7.10

2. If you have any video drivers enabled by "RESTRICTED DRIVERS MANAGER" disable them

3. Download Envy and Install

4. Use Envy to install ATI drivers and reboot

5. Install LinuxMCE 7.04-7.10

6. After install restart your computer and run LMCE and hopefully orbiter will start for you.

Orbiter would not start on my computer because of an outdated driver provided through ubuntu repositories.

Note: My ATI card is an integrated Readon X1250
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 12:59:50 am by Jiffyman »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2008, 09:19:19 am »
O.k. I think I got the answer to this one if you are running ATI graphics that is. (MIGHT WORK FOR NVIDIA CARDS)

1. Install Kubuntu 7.04-7.10

2. If you have any video drivers enabled by "RESTRICTED DRIVERS MANAGER" disable them

3. Download Envy and Install

4. Use Envy to install ATI drivers and reboot

5. Install LinuxMCE 7.04-7.10

6. After install restart your computer and run LMCE and hopefully orbiter will start for you.

Orbiter would not start on my computer because of an outdated driver provided through ubuntu repositories.

Note: My ATI card is an integrated Readon X1250

**The procedure below has been added to the Wiki now here http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Installing_The_ATI_Driver

Here's the procedure I use for setting up an ATI X1250 MD. Currently the the AVwizard in 0710 does not configure ATI cards properly so you need to to do some manual steps to get things working.

Step 1

Add the MD in the normal way (ie plug it into the network and let it add itself). Let it reboot and then it should run the AVwizard. Choose the options you want - output connector, resolution, refresh.... UI2 with Overlay etc etc and complete the wizard. Now the screen will return to a console screen and will after 5-10 mins will try to run the setup Wizard... but the setup Wizard will run very slowly and the video of  'Sarah' will not play smoothly. This is because the ATI drivers are not installed yet and the X driver is set to 'vesa'.

Step 2

From another machine ssh into the partially installed MD. Do the following from the console;

Code: [Select]
sudo su - <return>
ssh moonNN <return> (**where the NN is the device number for the MD we're configuring**)

Now we're logged into the MD we are configuring as 'root' and we can install the ATI drivers and configure Xorg.conf;

Firstly make sure our sources.list is up to date:
Code: [Select]
apt-get update <return>

Now lets install the ATI driver and packages;

Code: [Select]
apt-get install linux-restricted-modules-generic restricted-manager <return>
Answer 'Y' to installing new packages then do the following steps;

Code: [Select]
apt-get install xorg-driver-fglrx <return>
depmod -a <return>

So far so good... now we have the ATI drivers installed! (the current driver in the repos is not the latest ATI release an updated driver will be packaged soon though). Now we have to configure Xorg to use it! Do the steps below;

I use the console text editor 'joe' below but you can use whichever you prefer ('nano' is installed by default for example);
Code: [Select]
joe /etc/X11/xorg.conf <return>

Now you are editing the xorg.conf of your MD and the only change you need to make is to the 'Device' section. In the 'Device' section you will see a line thats says;

Code: [Select]
Driver          "vesa"

Change the string 'vesa' to 'fglrx' which is the name of the ATI driver. The updated driver line should look like below;

Code: [Select]
Driver          "fglrx"

Now save the changes you have made to xorg.conf.

Now reboot the MD from the console with;

Code: [Select]
reboot <return>

The MD will now reboot normally and the setup wizard will run again.... but this time the video and the Ui will run smoothly as the ATI driver is installed and confgured.

Now currently the ATI driver will not run UI2 with transparency but it will run UI2 with overlay very nicely indeed. There are two small caveats to running UI2 with Overlay currently with the ATI driver in that the 'Compass Rose' on screen menu for selecting DVD chapters, Lighting levels etc etc and the 'Zoom & Aspect ratio' screen when playing Video do not draw correctly - the bit maps for the menus do not display but the menus do work. We hope to fix this soon though.

Anyway hopefully the above will get you up and running on the X1250 ;-)

All the best

Andrew
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 09:23:13 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2008, 09:27:56 am »
Same here.  I was good to go on 704 also.  Used UI2 w/Alpha Blending on 704 with no problems.  Multiple installs of 710 from CD and still cannot get it to work.

System specs:

AMD X2 5000+
GEFORCE 6150SE
Hauppauge HVR-1600

Hmmm... thats strange as we have no problems with the nVidia 6150 chipset on our motherboards under LinuxMCE-0710.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #20 on: April 08, 2008, 09:34:58 am »
My orbiter won't activate either. I just get a blank screen with the Linux MCE Launch Mananger on it.
The last few messages in the window are:
date... Generated skin successfully
date... Starting device 20 OnScreen Orbiter
date... Timeout waiting for device registration
date... Activating Orbiter...

Nothing happens after that. I've updated to the latest Nvidia drivers. I'm using a GeForce 6600. I've tried both UI2 with and without alpha and get the same thing. The only difference was that with alpha the background was gray. Any ideas out there?

I'm using the lastest Beta 4 (i386).

We have never tested an nVidia 660 card so I cant help other than to say that it sounds like it might not be configured correctly by the AVwizard. We have tested nVidia 6200, 7300, 6100, 6150, 7050 and all work reliably. Try one of these cards/onboard chips if you want a simple fix (the 6200tc can be had here in the UK for around £20 so its affordable).

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Sheidi

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2008, 12:52:15 pm »
Well, postin here also and saying that same issue here with gf8600 and 7.10 installation...

hermanvh

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2008, 02:38:32 pm »
I 'm having the same problem: Orbiter won't activate with Intel i810 graphics UI2 with overlay. Also the UI diagnostic tool does not start.

Any suggestions?

Herman

BTW: release 7.10b4, 7.04 worked fine

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2008, 11:40:45 pm »
I 'm having the same problem: Orbiter won't activate with Intel i810 graphics UI2 with overlay. Also the UI diagnostic tool does not start.

Any suggestions?

Herman

BTW: release 7.10b4, 7.04 worked fine

This is fixed in versions after 0710-beta4

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hermanvh

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #24 on: April 11, 2008, 08:55:28 am »
OK, thanks Andrew, I will wait for that release.

mikeciz

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter won't activate
« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2008, 04:24:26 pm »
My orbiter won't activate either. I just get a blank screen with the Linux MCE Launch Mananger on it.
The last few messages in the window are:
date... Generated skin successfully
date... Starting device 20 OnScreen Orbiter
date... Timeout waiting for device registration
date... Activating Orbiter...

Nothing happens after that. I've updated to the latest Nvidia drivers. I'm using a GeForce 6600. I've tried both UI2 with and without alpha and get the same thing. The only difference was that with alpha the background was gray. Any ideas out there?

I'm using the lastest Beta 4 (i386).

We have never tested an nVidia 660 card so I cant help other than to say that it sounds like it might not be configured correctly by the AVwizard. We have tested nVidia 6200, 7300, 6100, 6150, 7050 and all work reliably. Try one of these cards/onboard chips if you want a simple fix (the 6200tc can be had here in the UK for around £20 so its affordable).

All the best

Andrew

Thanks Andrew. I ordered a nVidia 6200 AGP card and reinstalled. I was able to get the 720P display to work nicely, but I still get the same gray screen with "OpenGL" flashing in a title bar intermittently. This is pretty frustrating! Also, neither of my tuners are recognized during installation from what I can tell. Anybody have any suggestions? Could it be my motherboard is a bit too old?

My PC is a Shuttle AK12A
768meg memory (If I remember correctly)
Nvidia 6200 AGP card with 512meg (My motherboard bios setting is at 4xAGP and 256 meg max)
AMD 1.4Ghz
Avermedia 150
Avermedia 180 (HD)