Author Topic: help with x10 within the uk  (Read 1025 times)

ams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
help with x10 within the uk
« on: January 28, 2008, 10:40:31 pm »
hi

i'm completely new to all this and live in the uk. i was wondering what devices you are able to get working in the uk with lmce. i have a pc usb x10 device however when i plug it in it does nothing.

what are you guys using and how is it set up?


cheers

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: help with x10 within the uk
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 11:14:51 pm »
Hello ams, Welcome.

Currently development is ongoing for 2-way protocols.

X10 has already been implemented using a cm11a (or equiv) and 1 way communication.

Right now, Zwave (2way support being worked on now), Insteon (full 2 way), X10 (1way), PLCBus(full 2way), EIB (?) are supported.

There may be others, check the wiki..

Best regards,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

ams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: help with x10 within the uk
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2008, 11:29:38 pm »
hi

thanks for your reply however the cm11 a does not work in the uk? i thought it was an american device only?

Thingie

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: help with x10 within the uk
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2008, 11:53:49 pm »
hi

thanks for your reply however the cm11 a does not work in the uk? i thought it was an american device only?

As I understand from reading on the forum the CM11 is supported but only as serial device. But I could be wrong. Anyway, there are cables to change from USB to rs232

Grtz Thingie

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: help with x10 within the uk
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2008, 11:54:29 pm »
hi

thanks for your reply however the cm11 a does not work in the uk? i thought it was an american device only?
http://www.uk-automation.co.uk/computer-interface-p-996.html

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

ams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: help with x10 within the uk
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2008, 01:12:45 am »
hi

and you know for sure that the product that link goes to works with lmce? just checking as i've spent hundreds on media centers before and then they've not worked :(

fibres

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • LinuxMCE 08.10 RC Mirror.
Re: help with x10 within the uk
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2008, 03:43:10 am »
Hey ams

Would be interested to know how you get on with x20 in the uk.
I amalso hailing from the Great Britainina. I am wanting to get a home automation system up in my house but and unsur what way to go.
From what I have read the x20 stuff is unreliable at best, however i dont know if america has less poure power thahere.

Any feedbakc would be good.

Regards