Author Topic: Just venting general frustration.  (Read 15675 times)

grepico

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Just venting general frustration.
« on: January 25, 2008, 07:42:35 pm »
First, I'm a Windows guy.  Now, that doesn't mean I'm an OS biggot.  It just means that in my business (IT support for small businesses) Windows is the dominant OS so that's what I've put my effort into for the last 12 years.  (MCSE, CCNA, Network+, etc.)  So, I'm a linux newbie and I am fully aware that this is the main reason for my frustration.

Second, I also believe that LinuxMCE is a good product and I commend everyone involved in it's development for their hard work.

Now the frustration part.  Mostly it's documentation, it seems to me that the Wiki assumes in many areas that the user is familiar with linux.  I have often been greeted with the solution "You can do that in the Admin page" as if from there it is totally obvious.  Well, it's not.  The Admin page is confusing at best.  One example is adding a diskless MD.  The documentation says to add the MAC address of the MD in the admin page then boot up your MD and all will be candy and soda!  However in the Admin page I go to Wizard > Devices > Media Directors and I see a New Device button that seems to be what I want.  I click it and Choose the manufacturer, category and template and then update the MD page assuming that my new device will show up seeing as I think I've just added it (I have to assume that because the wiki says nothing other than "Do that in the admin page").  Well I click update and nope, no new device.  So where am I supposed to enter this MAC address?  I try the Setup Diskless MD button, reload the router and still no MD in the list.