Author Topic: Changing the standard ui  (Read 2219 times)

negus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Changing the standard ui
« on: January 25, 2008, 04:50:41 pm »
hi,
i have build a lmce box and now want to change the ui.
I read in the wiki that this can be done using "designer". But designer is a win prog, has problems with the db.....

I just want to remove the Buttons for "ligthning", "alarm" and "phone" and show the
subelements of the "Media" - menu instead.

can i do this without messing around with desinger and rewriting all the code it generates?

best regards

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5547
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 06:17:21 pm »
*hmm*

No, you can't do that without messing around in Designer, why are you guys whining about this?

-Thom

negus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 06:30:12 pm »
because of the wiki.

Quote
Designer is very poorly written, and we do not recommend any developer puts much effort into this code.
It needs be completely re-written from scratch

maybe the designer article http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Designer makes people afraid of using it.

I just thought that changing the menu (delete some points, move a sub menu to top) could be made without using designer because the articles says u have to rewrite the whole code anyway.
So i got to search for a M$ System.

is there any manual / tutorial for it? Rewritting the whole code without help would be a lot of work.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2008, 06:55:12 pm by negus »

xephyrus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2008, 08:35:56 pm »
Can Designer be run with Wine?  Negus, that might be worth trying.

Comments like, "why are you guys whining about this?" are derogatory and unnecessary.

.  Topher

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5547
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2008, 09:29:06 pm »
No, it cannot be run with wine, as it requires Microsoft.ODBC .net 1.1 components, which mean it doesn't run correctly under Mono, either.

-Thom

negus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 10:42:26 pm »
y i tried with mono. i opens a screen and after 2sec recognizes that no odbc classes are present.
In the worst case i will run it in vmware. shoudl be no problem.

a answer to my question about manual/How-To/Tutorial would be more importend.
The wiki article worried me a little bit. But i think changing the existing gui should be done easy
no matter how bad Designer is

ty

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5547
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2008, 11:44:03 pm »
I have posted the HADesigner manual, here:

http://www.localeconcept.com/pub/HADesigner/HADesigner_user_manual.pdf

This is a copy of the manual that Pluto had provided.

-Thom

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2008, 07:27:05 am »
Adding and removing buttons doesn't require HA Designer. Removing standard buttons (except the base row) is done through the Web Panel - Scenarios. Just uncheck the one you don't want. There is an add scenario button as well but I have not tried it.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5547
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2008, 07:52:36 am »
he is referring to removing the base buttons as well.

-Thom

negus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2008, 01:54:09 pm »
Thanks for the manual.

And also thanks for the hint with adding/removing buttons with the Webadmin page. Redefining there names and adding the buttons i want to the wright base buttons would be a easy "workaround" to recreating the whole gui with HA Designer.

thx guys.


negus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the standard ui
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2008, 09:17:46 pm »
hi again guys. finally i have my media center again and are now building my menu.
Can i change the name of the baseline buttons with the web interface?