Author Topic: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs  (Read 2433 times)

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« on: January 25, 2008, 05:01:14 am »
Hello,

I am unable to play/rip some DVDs, sounds like the encrypted ones bases on what I've found.  I will recieve this error soon after I put a DVD in.
Cannot read DVD. disk is unreadable or DVDCSS Library is not installed.

I am running 710B3 Athlon64.  I could play and rip these same DVDs on a different box running 710B3 i386.  Is there something extra I need to do to get this to work?

Thank you.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 06:05:37 am »
I thought I answered his question already for you.

did this not work


http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3876.msg22669#msg22669
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 06:15:32 am »
That wasn't me, but I'll it give it a shot tomorrow.

Thanx

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2008, 03:11:41 pm »
That did it, It did fail running the script the second time telling me it could not contact www.dtek.chalmers.se.
I was able to resolve the host name but unable to ping.  I turned off the LMCE firewall and then it took off, I was then able to ping the IP also.

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 02:34:41 pm »
I thought I answered his question already for you.

did this not work


http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3876.msg22669#msg22669

tkmedia, just curious - why are you recommending to install the dvdcss via this way, if there is (semi-)official LinuxMCE DVDCSS package in AddSoftware menu? :)

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2008, 04:03:14 pm »
I thought I answered his question already for you.

did this not work


http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3876.msg22669#msg22669

tkmedia, just curious - why are you recommending to install the dvdcss via this way, if there is (semi-)official LinuxMCE DVDCSS package in AddSoftware menu? :)

Only because when I try it from the menu on my machines I get

"Installation aborted no Internet connection available"

I am haven't tracked down why but it works when I run it that way.     I beginning to think it might be related to U.S mirror sites.
 ( Maybe the restricted software is restricted at those mirrors)

My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2008, 04:30:05 pm »
Only because when I try it from the menu on my machines I get

"Installation aborted no Internet connection available"

I am haven't tracked down why but it works when I run it that way.     I beginning to think it might be related to U.S mirror sites.
 ( Maybe the restricted software is restricted at those mirrors)


Hmm... this is weird. Do you have network connection at those boxes? Can you open a shell and run
Code: [Select]
root@dcerouter:~# tail -f /var/log/pluto/AddSoftwareHelper.log

and try to install the DVDCSS package. Normally you should see something similar to:

Code: [Select]

Wed Jan 30 07:25:54 PST 2008    [12526] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 07:25:54 PST 2008    [12526] Started
Wed Jan 30 07:25:55 PST 2008    [12526] Launching install on 192.168.80.1
Wed Jan 30 07:25:55 PST 2008    [12571] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 07:25:55 PST 2008    [12571] Started
Wed Jan 30 07:25:55 PST 2008    [12571] Using Distro u0710_i386
Wed Jan 30 07:25:55 PST 2008    [12571] Found 2 sources for package libdvdcss
Wed Jan 30 07:25:55 PST 2008    [12571] Trying source 1 from 2 : http://yttron.hostingweb.us/packages/u0710_i386/libdvdcss2_1.2.9-2medibuntu2+build1kir2_i386.zip
Wed Jan 30 07:25:57 PST 2008    [12571] Package fetched successfully, testing checksums
Wed Jan 30 07:25:57 PST 2008    [12571] Installing package from file /tmp/libdvdcss.deb
Wed Jan 30 07:26:11 PST 2008    [12571] Package installed successfully


Please post here your results so we can resolve the issue (I would recommend everybody use standard DVDCSS package).

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2008, 05:13:45 pm »
In a bit of rage last night I tried many times and finally succeeded .

Code: [Select]
Tue Jan 29 22:30:03 EST 2008 [6582] =======================================
Tue Jan 29 22:30:03 EST 2008 [6582] Started
Tue Jan 29 22:30:03 EST 2008 [6582] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Tue Jan 29 22:30:05 EST 2008 [6582] No internet connection available, aborting
Tue Jan 29 22:30:11 EST 2008 [6809] =======================================
Tue Jan 29 22:30:11 EST 2008 [6809] Started
Tue Jan 29 22:30:11 EST 2008 [6809] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Tue Jan 29 22:30:13 EST 2008 [6809] No internet connection available, aborting
Tue Jan 29 22:30:20 EST 2008 [7060] =======================================
Tue Jan 29 22:30:20 EST 2008 [7060] Started
Tue Jan 29 22:30:20 EST 2008 [7060] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Tue Jan 29 22:30:20 EST 2008 [7060] Found 2 sources for package hd-bd-ripping-tools
Tue Jan 29 22:30:20 EST 2008 [7060] Trying source 1 from 2 : http://yttron.hostingweb.us/packages/u0710_amd64/hd-bd-ripping-tools_0.1-4_amd64.zip
Tue Jan 29 22:30:25 EST 2008 [7060] Package fetched successfully, testing checksums
Tue Jan 29 22:30:25 EST 2008 [7060] Installing package from file /tmp/hd-bd-ripping-tools.deb
Tue Jan 29 22:30:27 EST 2008 [7060] Package installed successfully
Tue Jan 29 22:30:41 EST 2008 [7708] =======================================
Tue Jan 29 22:30:41 EST 2008 [7708] Started
Tue Jan 29 22:30:41 EST 2008 [7708] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Tue Jan 29 22:30:42 EST 2008 [7708] No internet connection available, aborting
Tue Jan 29 22:30:53 EST 2008 [8125] =======================================
Tue Jan 29 22:30:53 EST 2008 [8125] Started
Tue Jan 29 22:30:53 EST 2008 [8125] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Tue Jan 29 22:30:53 EST 2008 [8125] Found 2 sources for package libdvdcss
Tue Jan 29 22:30:53 EST 2008 [8125] Trying source 1 from 2 : http://yttron.hostingweb.us/packages/u0710_amd64/libdvdcss2_1.2.9-2medibuntu2+build1kir2_amd64.zip
Tue Jan 29 22:30:56 EST 2008 [8125] Package fetched successfully, testing checksums
Tue Jan 29 22:30:56 EST 2008 [8125] Installing package from file /tmp/libdvdcss.deb
Tue Jan 29 22:31:00 EST 2008 [8125] Package installed successfully
Wed Jan 30 00:01:17 EST 2008 [19883] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:01:17 EST 2008 [19883] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:01:17 EST 2008 [19883] Removing package hd-bd-ripping-tools
Wed Jan 30 00:01:26 EST 2008 [19883] Package removed OK
Wed Jan 30 00:01:32 EST 2008 [20324] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:01:32 EST 2008 [20324] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:01:32 EST 2008 [20324] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:01:34 EST 2008 [20324] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:01:42 EST 2008 [20676] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:01:42 EST 2008 [20676] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:01:42 EST 2008 [20676] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:01:44 EST 2008 [20676] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:01:50 EST 2008 [20938] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:01:50 EST 2008 [20938] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:01:50 EST 2008 [20938] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:01:51 EST 2008 [20938] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:01:59 EST 2008 [21168] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:01:59 EST 2008 [21168] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:01:59 EST 2008 [21168] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:00 EST 2008 [21168] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:02:10 EST 2008 [21556] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:02:10 EST 2008 [21556] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:02:10 EST 2008 [21556] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:12 EST 2008 [21556] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:02:21 EST 2008 [21934] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:02:21 EST 2008 [21934] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:02:21 EST 2008 [21934] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:23 EST 2008 [21934] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:02:33 EST 2008 [22324] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:02:33 EST 2008 [22324] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:02:33 EST 2008 [22324] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:34 EST 2008 [22324] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:02:42 EST 2008 [22559] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:02:42 EST 2008 [22559] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:02:42 EST 2008 [22559] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:43 EST 2008 [22559] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:02:48 EST 2008 [22783] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:02:48 EST 2008 [22783] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:02:48 EST 2008 [22783] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:49 EST 2008 [22783] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:02:54 EST 2008 [23004] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:02:54 EST 2008 [23004] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:02:54 EST 2008 [23004] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:02:55 EST 2008 [23004] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:03:07 EST 2008 [23746] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:03:07 EST 2008 [23746] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:03:07 EST 2008 [23746] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:03:08 EST 2008 [23746] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:06:17 EST 2008 [28880] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:06:17 EST 2008 [28880] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:06:17 EST 2008 [28880] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:06:18 EST 2008 [28880] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:06:29 EST 2008 [29242] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:06:29 EST 2008 [29242] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:06:29 EST 2008 [29242] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:06:30 EST 2008 [29242] No internet connection available, aborting
Wed Jan 30 00:06:38 EST 2008 [29465] =======================================
Wed Jan 30 00:06:38 EST 2008 [29465] Started
Wed Jan 30 00:06:38 EST 2008 [29465] Using Distro u0710_amd64
Wed Jan 30 00:06:38 EST 2008 [29465] Found 2 sources for package hd-bd-ripping-tools
Wed Jan 30 00:06:38 EST 2008 [29465] Trying source 1 from 2 : http://yttron.hostingweb.us/packages/u0710_amd64/hd-bd-ripping-tools_0.1-4_amd64.zip
Wed Jan 30 00:06:44 EST 2008 [29465] Package fetched successfully, testing checksums
Wed Jan 30 00:06:44 EST 2008 [29465] Installing package from file /tmp/hd-bd-ripping-tools.deb
Wed Jan 30 00:06:47 EST 2008 [29465] Package installed successfully
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2008, 05:19:39 pm »
I thought I answered his question already for you.

did this not work


http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3876.msg22669#msg22669

tkmedia, just curious - why are you recommending to install the dvdcss via this way, if there is (semi-)official LinuxMCE DVDCSS package in AddSoftware menu? :)

Hi ;-)

Sometimes we still see a situation where we have used 'Add Software' to install libdvd and or Win32 codecs and we get the 'tick' icon next to those packages... but actually they are not installed. We then go back to the 'Add Software' screen and we see either no idon next to those packages or in some cases we see the 'Egg timer' icon. Then clicking to add them again usually fixes the problem...

I'm not sure if the problem reported in this thread is related at all... but it seems somewhat similar.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2008, 05:28:36 pm »
Interesting... The message "No internet connection available, aborting" is displayed when there is no internet connection (nothing strange :) ), but here is how it is detected - script /usr/pluto/bin/CheckInternetConnection.sh does this:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

ret=0

if [[ -x /bin/nc ]] ;then
        nc -z -w 1 www.google.com 80
        ret=$?
fi

exit $ret

I.e. it simply tries to access Google website with 1-second timeout. Can you run in console the ping www.google.com and put couple of output lines here? This can be caused by slow network plus too small 1-second timeout interval passed to 'nc'. If you have few mins to test, can you please modify it to be "-w 5" in that file and then try to "remove, install" DVDCSS few times in a row to see if it became better?

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2008, 05:35:45 pm »
Hi ;-)

Sometimes we still see a situation where we have used 'Add Software' to install libdvd and or Win32 codecs and we get the 'tick' icon next to those packages... but actually they are not installed. We then go back to the 'Add Software' screen and we see either no idon next to those packages or in some cases we see the 'Egg timer' icon. Then clicking to add them again usually fixes the problem...

I'm not sure if the problem reported in this thread is related at all... but it seems somewhat similar.

Andrew

The icon "tick with clock" is OK - this means that package installation is scheduled and is in progress. Sometimes the installation may fail because of the faulty network connection, not-available virus-free source of package, etc. In this case it should also display alert message on screen, but if you are not sitting and watching the screen all the time, you can miss it. The last section(s) of the /var/log/pluto/AddSoftwareHelper.log should give you an idea, if the installation succeeded or failed and what was the reason of failure if the failure happened. Please post them here (or better open Mantis) so we can analyze and fix issues (of course we cannot fix your network issues  ;D )

"Clicking" is just a second request to install this package - if the previous failed because of intermittent issue, the second can succeed.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2008, 06:18:49 pm »
Quote
Interesting... The message "No internet connection available, aborting" is displayed when there is no internet connection (nothing strange Smiley ), but here is how it is detected - script /usr/pluto/bin/CheckInternetConnection.sh does this:

Nothing Strange
I disagree for there is no internet connection problem at time.

I have made posts from the KDE desktop to this forum from the toggled from the MD during times when I was receiving the "No internet connection available"

Is it possible I am getting this message if the host is down not my internet connection.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2008, 06:22:11 pm »
Quote
Interesting... The message "No internet connection available, aborting" is displayed when there is no internet connection (nothing strange Smiley ), but here is how it is detected - script /usr/pluto/bin/CheckInternetConnection.sh does this:

Nothing Strange
I disagree for there is no internet connection problem at time.

I have made posts from the KDE desktop to this forum from the toggled from the MD during times when I was receiving the "No internet connection available"

Is it possible I am getting this message if the host is down not my internet connection.

Yep, it is also possible - but I doubt that www.google.com can be down for so long :) So this can be a timeout problem. Please try to do couple of checks as I described above and post an update.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2008, 06:41:11 pm »
Google Ping results


Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ ping www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (64.233.161.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=40                                                     .5 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=40                                                     .2 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=4 ttl=255 time=41                                                     .4 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=5 ttl=255 time=38                                                     .7 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=6 ttl=255 time=47                                                     .8 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=7 ttl=255 time=42                                                     .4 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=8 ttl=255 time=49                                                     .9 ms
64 bytes from od-in-f147.google.com (64.233.161.147): icmp_seq=9 ttl=255 time=27                                                     .9 ms


My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: DVDCSS issue, can't play DVDs
« Reply #14 on: January 30, 2008, 10:00:03 pm »
If there was a large amount of upload (or download) data going on at the same time, this would cause congestion and serialisation latency, which could dramatically increase the instantaneous apparent latency on the link at tkmedia's broadband connection depending on the type of traffic (packet size), QoS, queuing mechanisms and tx-ring size of the router.

Either way, a 1 second timeout is so far from a "world view" (as Wikipedia would call it!) of Internet connectivity its not funny! Especially, because we have no idea where Google's virutal access points are relative to your location. With no traffic, I get 240ms RTTs to Google and I am on a 20M/2.5M ADSL2+ Annex M connection.

1. The timeout should be increased to at least 5 seconds
2. The test should be repeated at least 3 times with early-exit based on success, with 1 second in between to account for momentary fluctations and dropped SYN/ACK packets.

Best case, this makes no difference to speed of detection, worst case 17 seconds to confirm that there really is a network issue - but doesn't declare Internet no available, for normal everyday variations, poor configuration, being half way around the world, etc.

BTW - judging by the latency tkmedia is getting and the number of times it fails in a row, I think something else is going on for him, I'm sure he would know if there was a massive download going on at the same time (or worse, upload, if he is using ADSL).

tk - can you try repeatedly running the script directly and see what the error output you can get when it fails?

EDIT: BTW I notice that nc reports a number of DNS forward/reverse lookup mismatches (probably due to their acceleration system) before attempting to connect. If your DNS cache doesn't already have the responses to these queries, this would insert a substantial delay that could cause nc to time out... not sure on this one, because logically this means the second time you try it (if you do it quickly) it would work...
« Last Edit: January 30, 2008, 10:05:40 pm by colinjones »