Author Topic: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)  (Read 5723 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4506
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #30 on: February 07, 2008, 02:30:18 pm »

Sorry only just spotted this.

Yes it is from the UI2 EPG screen (use F6 to get "Compass Rose" on screen control... highlight the upper yellow triangle and press "OK"). Then hightlight the channel in the leftmost column... now press right on the remote (or keyboard) once to get the highlight in the centre column (this now displaying the TV program running order for the channel previously selected)... now us up/down to select the TV show you are interested in... Program info will be displayed in rightmost column at the top... below that is a panel with some controls... highlight & then "OK" or click the 'Red' record button to set a recording for that show.

Please realise this and other elements of lmcevdr are still a 'work in progress'...

Hi Andrew,

This didn't work for me. Nothing seems to happen when I try this. I may be following the wrong procedure - I'm currently finding I can't access the forum from home - so I'll print this out and try again this evening.
When you talk about the red record button - you do mean onscreen, right? The only screen I've seen which this could apply to is one where there are several menu options from 1 to 6, then down the bottom are coloured bars - Red for Record, Amber for Audio and so on. They are not clickable, and using the arrow keys on the Fiire merely select the menu options. I've tried using the key on the Fiire which has a Red dot below, but it retains it's original function and brings up the pictures screen (while the live TV continues).

Could my problem stem from the fact that I don't have EPG fully working? When installing, I chose only the Live EPG data - I havn't set up to get the EPG from an internet source.

Best Regards,
Richard.


You need to have uploaded a valid channels.conf file for your local DVB-T service using Web Admin -> Advanced -> Configuration -> VDR Setup (see other threads here on generating a channels.conf file). The vdr epg is delivered over the air from the TV transmissions and not from the Internet.

Once you have done the above then reboot your core. Now you should use the Orbiters Media -> TV menu to fire up live TV. Once you have a live picture on the screen then follow the steps in my earlier post to get the 'Compass Rose' control on screen etc etc.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4506
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #31 on: February 07, 2008, 02:32:53 pm »
And how are you installing this? Is it via apt-get or compiling the source?

Regards

We are using a custom built deb

Do you have a link to that custom deb?

No I don't and currently we are not expecting to use it in the release version. The vdradmin-am deb already in the Beta3 works fine and will most likely be the version used shortly in the release.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4506
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #32 on: February 07, 2008, 02:36:11 pm »
Hi Andrew,

This didn't work for me. Nothing seems to happen when I try this. I may be following the wrong procedure - I'm currently finding I can't access the forum from home - so I'll print this out and try again this evening.


I take this back. When I sat in front of the screen with the printout of this thread, I saw what you meant, and it worked just as you said. Works well too.

Something else I've got to take back is what I said about EPG. I've no recollection of setting it up, but it is getting EPG from somewhere. I have EPG for some channels for a week. I thought the off-air EPG was only a Now/Next service. Does anyone know how much the Ausie stations put into EPG?

Many thanks for that, Andrew!



Thats great Richard... only just read the above and that was after I sent my earlier post re your problems with accessing vdr.

The over-the-air EPG here in the UK is currently a rolling 8 day window. I'm not sure what is the standard in Australia.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #33 on: February 22, 2008, 10:53:16 am »
I have a few questions about VDR.

1. EPG. If I understand correctly EPG is stored in the /var/cache/vdr/epg.data and this is EPG came from the satellite, right? Can I just replace it by my custom EPG which contains the channels which I interested in? Should I restart VDR after that?

2. Plug-ins. Using apt-cache search vdr* I found a lot of VDR plug-ins packages. But there is not one for LCDproc (http://home.pages.at/linux/dvb.html). So, is it possible to compile it from the sources or you're planning to build the package for it?

3. Remote control. I'd like to use my iMON PAD with VDR. So, it'll be ok if I just modify the /var/lib/vdr/remote.conf? It won't be overrode next VDR restarting?

4. Sorting channels and favourite list. How can I sort channels displayed in the left menu when the F6 is pressed? I tuned more than 1000 channels and most of them I don't need. How can I create a list of favourite channels or maybe I just have to remove unnecessary channels from the channels.conf?

BTW, Yesterday I updateded a VDR wiki page - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/VDR. You're very welcome to improve it.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #34 on: February 28, 2008, 10:44:45 am »
I'd like to say that remote control work more or less fine with VDR. I have to study a bit its keys. But at least it displays OSD, recording menu etc.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #35 on: February 29, 2008, 03:47:31 pm »
Hi Michael,

good to hear that the n800 orbiter works as a remote for VDR within LMCE.

rgds
Oliver

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #36 on: February 29, 2008, 05:24:41 pm »
4. Sorting channels and favourite list. How can I sort channels displayed in the left menu when the F6 is pressed? I tuned more than 1000 channels and most of them I don't need. How can I create a list of favourite channels or maybe I just have to remove unnecessary channels from the channels.conf?

You can do it in your channels.conf file. Just delete all channels you are not going to use, and sort the rest however you like.
Then import it again in the webadmin.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: VDR in 0710b3 - No key is working (except some function keys)
« Reply #37 on: March 04, 2008, 05:54:04 pm »
Quote
You can do it in your channels.conf file. Just delete all channels you are not going to use, and sort the rest however you like.
Then import it again in the webadmin.

Thanks for your suggestion, cirion. I was thinking about it. Will try it.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru