Author Topic: ZWave API  (Read 113782 times)

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #30 on: April 07, 2008, 03:02:56 am »
You have a Homepro Primary controller. I have used it myself and its OK. It uses a pretty early version of the ZWave library and may not support some of the newer devices correctly. I also found it was not real good with setting up routing. But it should not be a roadblock to success. Tyhe controllers do not show up on the LMCE side for some reason. They should be identified as controllers if they do come across.
You can download a trial of ZTool here http://www.homeseer.com/products/software/Z-Tool.htm and it will tell you what is in the USB stick. It will work with the EU stuff. And it should support all of the latest stuff.

caiman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #31 on: April 07, 2008, 02:31:17 pm »
Thanks 1audio. I have installed Z-tool and will try tonight.

I have filed a mantis for the limitation to 32 Zwave ID, and the associated code fix.
http://mantis.linuxmce.org/view.php?id=4154

I hope the seluxit dongle I have ordered will offer more debugging functionality. Anyone knows about the software that comes with it ? Can it be used as a master controller, or SUC ?

Sam

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #32 on: April 07, 2008, 09:09:46 pm »
all controllers i know of have the same zensys chip in there (differing only in hw and sw revisions)

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #33 on: April 13, 2008, 12:06:13 pm »
Thanks 1audio. I have installed Z-tool and will try tonight.

I have filed a mantis for the limitation to 32 Zwave ID, and the associated code fix.
http://mantis.linuxmce.org/view.php?id=4154

I hope the seluxit dongle I have ordered will offer more debugging functionality. Anyone knows about the software that comes with it ? Can it be used as a master controller, or SUC ?

Sam


The software for the Seluxit Home Controller is Windows XP based. I think the hardware can be config'd as a MC or a SUC... but Hari may well be able to answer that for sure.
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #34 on: April 13, 2008, 09:45:42 pm »
There are three revisions of the ZWave chip and 5 or 6 major revisions to the firmware. If the controller libraries are installed in the chip at manufacturing (this changes depending on whether the chip is in a light switch, door lock, controller etc.) then the chip will support the controller functions. A handheld controller has different functions that a "static" controller. This has to do with the routing tables. A handheld cannot count on routing since its moving. A static controller can support a routing table fully. All of the recent controller libraries have those functions. All of the computer interface controllers seem to give full access to the basic library, except the Leviton serial controller.

Hari is doing great work on fixing the ZWave stuff.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #35 on: July 13, 2008, 09:17:15 pm »
Hi devs,

I've made some proof of concept code available: http://svn.linuxmce.org/pluto/branches/charon-merge/src/ZWave/

It's still dirty in many places and I have still to figure out some Z-Wave details, but this is what's working for now:

* Light control (binary, dimmable)
* Floorplan feedback from local operations and from ALL ON/OFF commands
* Lighting wizard integration
* Busy handling for newer chips
* PIR support in alarm and sensor mode
* Binary sensor support
* Basic wake-up handling (queue is still missing)

What's coming soon:
* Download configuration
* Multi command handling
* RA-plus-w setback schedule thermostat support
* Merten Dongle support
* Multilevel sensor support


best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

caiman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #36 on: July 24, 2008, 01:24:57 pm »
Hi Hari,

I just wanted to confirm that after about one week of using your new ZWave code (rev 21253), I confirm it is working great!

What works great:
- PIR sensor
- normal control of switches and dimmers (I use ACT homepro)
- update on the floorplan when using "all on" or "all off" on the zwave remote

Having the possibility to poll the status of the devices on request or on a regular basis would be extremely useful, so we could get floorplan updates also when individual devices are switched on/off locally. As you suggested, the driver could generate an event to notify DCE about the status of the device polled. Even if there's a delay it's not a big deal. It would allow the floorplan to show accurate status most of the time.

For those who want to test it, you need to have a small wrapper for the ZWave binary to force it to use the freshly compiled libraries, or it will segfault

Code: [Select]
~$ cat /usr/pluto/bin/ZWave
#!/bin/bash
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/me/src/lmce-source/charon-merge/src/lib
/usr/pluto/bin/ZWave.hari $@


Once again Hari, THANK YOU for this great piece of work !
Sam

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #37 on: July 24, 2008, 02:41:51 pm »
I just wanted to confirm that after about one week of using your new ZWave code (rev 21253), I confirm it is working great!
that is great to hear..

could you trigger that bug from the old driver where your devices got out of order and disappeared? It never happened for me with the original pluto driver..

Quote
What works great:
- PIR sensor
- normal control of switches and dimmers (I use ACT homepro)
- update on the floorplan when using "all on" or "all off" on the zwave remote

Having the possibility to poll the status of the devices on request or on a regular basis would be extremely useful, so we could get floorplan updates also when individual devices are switched on/off locally. As you suggested, the driver could generate an event to notify DCE about the status of the device polled. Even if there's a delay it's not a big deal. It would allow the floorplan to show accurate status most of the time.
that is in the works.

Quote
Once again Hari, THANK YOU for this great piece of work !

you are welcome!

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

caiman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #38 on: July 25, 2008, 10:52:41 am »
could you trigger that bug from the old driver where your devices got out of order and disappeared? It never happened for me with the original pluto driver..

I have reloaded the router a couple of times, and rebooted the core, and the last two devices did not get a new plutoID assigned, they kept the same. So it seems to be fixed  :)
Now as soon as the "download configuration" feature is available, I will test it and see if this still stands.

Sam

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #39 on: July 26, 2008, 05:23:25 pm »
Now as soon as the "download configuration" feature is available, I will test it and see if this still stands.
commited to rev 21258. Works for me, but I did only limited testing. Please report if it is fine for you.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

caiman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #40 on: July 30, 2008, 09:11:43 pm »
Hari,

the download configuration functionality seems to be working great. It took some time (about 30 sec) between the moment the primary controller said "sent successfully" and the moment when the ZWave driver showed any logs, but they were all there.
Btw the logs are nice, you can get a good idea of what's going on behind the scenes.

I had one of the switches that stopped responding for a while (it would work once or twice after router reload, then stop responding) but now it started working again so I'm not sure what happened. All seems ok now.

Great work!
Sam

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #41 on: July 30, 2008, 10:08:00 pm »
the download configuration functionality seems to be working great. It took some time (about 30 sec) between the moment the primary controller said "sent successfully" and the moment when the ZWave driver showed any logs, but they were all there.

Btw the logs are nice, you can get a good idea of what's going on behind the scenes.
it just enables the replication mode for 60 seconds. I need a more advanced timer that gets extended when we receive stuff. And it would be a good idea to postpone other operations until we are done.

There are three loglevels, LV_ZWAVE, LV_RECEIVE_DATA and LV_SEND_DATA. You can adjust the LogLevels value (36,40,41) in /etc/pluto.conf.

Quote
I had one of the switches that stopped responding for a while (it would work once or twice after router reload, then stop responding) but now it started working again so I'm not sure what happened. All seems ok now.
hu? do you have a log for that?

Quote
Great work!
hehe, it still is a bit of a hack for now :-)

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #42 on: August 01, 2008, 05:56:39 pm »
short update:
Playing with LMCE being the primary controller and SIS mode (Node id server). I already can add slave devices and controllers to the network with the dongle. Ideally all remote controllers should work as inclusion controllers in this scenario. Sadly enough the ZTH100/200 does not seem to support the inclusion controller mode and only is working as secondary controller for now (Zaerc suggested a long usb extension cord to be able to add all my devices :-) )

I'm trying to get hold of a Tricklestar remote, they state SIS support on the page and it uses newer library versions. And it should be available in Europe (868Mhz)

The SIS mode seems to be the best choice for a Z-Wave network. Some devices like the RA-Plus-W only work in a network with SIS. And we get the node information frame at the time of inclusion, so we can catch battery powered devices that don't send out a broadcast wake up event.

best regards,
Hari
« Last Edit: August 01, 2008, 06:08:14 pm by hari »
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

thoweiss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #43 on: August 04, 2008, 01:10:33 pm »
Doe's anybody tried the http://www.tricklestar.eu/html/s02_article/article_view.asp?art_id=133&nav_cat_id=128&nav_top_id=56 with lmce?

The datasheet looks good for me it supports the Zwave Serial API.

Maybe it will be an alternative Z-Wave controller.

Btw, does anybody now where to buy tricklestar devices in Germany?

Regards,

Thorsten.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #44 on: August 04, 2008, 01:13:48 pm »
I will receive a usb dongle and the remote in about two weeks. I'll keep you posted on the details.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation