Author Topic: ZWave API  (Read 113810 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #75 on: August 21, 2008, 09:50:42 pm »
ok, now use the "Set Association" command of the Z-wave Interface with the following parameters:

# 239 NodeID (int)  == node id of the wall switch
# 249 Group ID (int)  == 2 (group 2 for the right paddle)
# 250 Nodes List (string) == the id of your dongle, should be 2 when you followed all steps but please verify

after that you should see log messages when you push the right paddle. I'm just working on some code to trigger the floorplan update from that.

best regards,
Hari

I have been Adding the Association using ZDP210. So that might explain why i have had no success. I'll try the steps above tomorrow ;-)

Andrew
« Last Edit: August 22, 2008, 09:50:55 am by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #76 on: August 22, 2008, 10:14:10 am »
ok, now use the "Set Association" command of the Z-wave Interface with the following parameters:

# 239 NodeID (int)  == node id of the wall switch
# 249 Group ID (int)  == 2 (group 2 for the right paddle)
# 250 Nodes List (string) == the id of your dongle, should be 2 when you followed all steps but please verify

after that you should see log messages when you push the right paddle. I'm just working on some code to trigger the floorplan update from that.

best regards,
Hari

Hmmm... how do I get the node ID of the ZTM230 Wall Switch? When I press either paddle I get nothing in the logs at all (although the assocaited light does change state ok). Is there a command to list the Node ID's from Web Admin?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #77 on: August 22, 2008, 09:21:04 pm »
i've just commited a new version to svn. It supports automatic configuration of the ACT PIR now. Just include it and be patient for a few minutes..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #78 on: August 22, 2008, 09:58:12 pm »
i've just commited a new version to svn. It supports automatic configuration of the ACT PIR now. Just include it and be patient for a few minutes..

best regards,
Hari

Great. I'll test that tomorrow... nice ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #79 on: August 23, 2008, 12:10:18 pm »
i've just commited a new version to svn. It supports automatic configuration of the ACT PIR now. Just include it and be patient for a few minutes..

best regards,
Hari

Ok... i have added the latest ZWave binary to my home Core and added a Seluxit, reset it and then downloaded and 'empty' configuration from the ZTH200. No problem. Next I reset the PIR and then added it to Group 2 in the ZTM200... no problem. Now I downloaded the configuration from the ZTH200 again... no problem. Then did a reload and Generic Sensor 12 appeared under the Zwave Embedded Security Interface in the Device tree. I waited about 5 mins but did not see any changes in the system... you say the PIR will be automatically configured... should i see some indication of that?

So I therefore did the following;

I then did a Set Configuration with the following parameters;

# 48 Value (int) = 17
# 239 NodeID (int) = 34 **Node ID for the Zwave Interface
# 248 Parameter ID (int) = 1 **ALARM Mode

The above Set Configuration command was accepted OK. I then added the PIR to a room and placed it on the security floorplan. Then i set the 'house' to ARMED mode... waited about 10 mins and then caused the PIR to be triggered (onboard LED lit up as expected) but I got no alerts in the Orbiters and 34_ZWave.log shows no events from the triggering of the PIR.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #80 on: August 23, 2008, 12:23:28 pm »
should i see some indication of that?
you should see the device setup in the logfile.

Quote
So I therefore did the following;

I then did a Set Configuration with the following parameters;

# 48 Value (int) = 17
# 239 NodeID (int) = 34 **Node ID for the Zwave Interface
# 248 Parameter ID (int) = 1 **ALARM Mode
that should all be set automatically... can you send me your logfile?

wait.. i did an additional step.. I used the ZTH200 (Setup->Reset unit) to reset the PIR before inclusion. Maybe that is needed to erase any existing wake-up settings on the device. We listen for the unsolicited wake-up frame to trigger device configuration. They only get sent when no wake-up interval is set.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #81 on: August 23, 2008, 12:33:22 pm »
should i see some indication of that?
you should see the device setup in the logfile.

Quote
So I therefore did the following;

I then did a Set Configuration with the following parameters;

# 48 Value (int) = 17
# 239 NodeID (int) = 34 **Node ID for the Zwave Interface
# 248 Parameter ID (int) = 1 **ALARM Mode
that should all be set automatically... can you send me your logfile?

wait.. i did an additional step.. I used the ZTH200 (Setup->Reset unit) to reset the PIR before inclusion. Maybe that is needed to erase any existing wake-up settings on the device. We listen for the unsolicited wake-up frame to trigger device configuration. They only get sent when no wake-up interval is set.

best regards,
Hari

Hari I just sent my 34_ZWave.log to you on email. I did a Setup -> reset unit on the PIR before I began to add it. Maybe I should have done a back to factory reset on the ZTH200 though... as i see some devices in the tree (dimmer modules) which I do not have here at home... I only brought the PIR home with me and the ZTH200 had been used before at the office for some tests. Maybe this is causing the problem?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #82 on: August 23, 2008, 12:35:02 pm »
yeah, please factory reset the controller, too

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #83 on: August 24, 2008, 11:36:04 am »
latest svn rev supports polling for light states now. I'm still playing with the timers and wonder about the impact in very big networks. It polls after 30sec of idleness at the moment. Feedback appreciated.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #84 on: August 24, 2008, 12:25:39 pm »
latest svn rev supports polling for light states now. I'm still playing with the timers and wonder about the impact in very big networks. It polls after 30sec of idleness at the moment. Feedback appreciated.

best regards,
Hari

Got it to compile! I know what to do with the binary, but where should the library go? There is currently no zwave.so in /usr/pluto/lib. Also, should I reboot or is a depmod -a enough?
Thanks
Mark


ignore the .so file.. you only need the binary. No depmod/reboot needed (no kernel modules here).

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #85 on: August 24, 2008, 12:52:06 pm »
latest svn rev supports polling for light states now. I'm still playing with the timers and wonder about the impact in very big networks. It polls after 30sec of idleness at the moment. Feedback appreciated.

best regards,
Hari

I don't have any lighting module here at home with me otherwise I test that today. Its a public holiday here on Monday... so I will test the latest revision then for sure.

I know you were planning to do some work on this aspect this weekend so I was wondering...Will this revision get the non-load remote switches working with the floorplan ie will they update the floorplan when I change a dimmer modules state using the associated wall switch... and will the remote wall switches LED pickup changes in the associated dimmers state when driven from the floorplan?

Thanks for all the hard work.

Andrew

Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #86 on: August 24, 2008, 12:57:05 pm »
I know you were planning to do some work on this aspect this weekend so I was wondering...Will this revision get the non-load remote switches working with the floorplan ie will they update the floorplan when I change a dimmer modules state using the associated wall switch... and will the remote wall switches LED pickup changes in the associated dimmers state when driven from the floorplan?

just working on that. Regarding the LED: the switch itself polls the associated devices every two minutes.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #87 on: August 24, 2008, 01:01:39 pm »
I know you were planning to do some work on this aspect this weekend so I was wondering...Will this revision get the non-load remote switches working with the floorplan ie will they update the floorplan when I change a dimmer modules state using the associated wall switch... and will the remote wall switches LED pickup changes in the associated dimmers state when driven from the floorplan?

just working on that. Regarding the LED: the switch itself polls the associated devices every two minutes.

best regards,
Hari

Great :-)

I think there is a config setting for the wall switch to determine how often it polls the associated device... I'll look into that.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2428
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #88 on: August 24, 2008, 01:05:11 pm »
i've begun to collect device settings and procedures in the wiki..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: ZWave API
« Reply #89 on: August 24, 2008, 05:50:39 pm »
i've begun to collect device settings and procedures in the wiki..

Thats Great :-) Are you updating http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Z-Wave ?

What would be useful is a section about the use of the send 'Command to device' popup... maybe some examples for common operations etc.

Have built the latest revsion ok... but have nothing other than the PIR here at home right now.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk