Author Topic: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot  (Read 1581 times)

jyoung58

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« on: January 22, 2008, 04:37:32 pm »
Has anyone been able to get the Abit AN-M2HD to boot PXE, I can seem to get mine to go! It keeps trying to boot to the HD even after i change it in the bios , and the boot screen. Please Help. I am running 0710 B3

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 04:52:05 pm »
Yes I have two, make sure you enable network boot in the bios reboot then select nvidia boot agent and make it the first item in the boot order. (Not sure of exact settings in bios not in front of machine can check tonight if need be)
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

jyoung58

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2008, 05:02:08 pm »
Thanks for the quick repsonse. I dont think i enabled the On chip Lan Boot Rom. I was just reading the manual online. Also from what i have read with 0710 you no longer need to add a mac adress anywhere. I just setup a diskless md and do a quick reload of the router then start up my new MD. Is that correct?

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2008, 05:57:26 pm »
Just boot it up with pxe

dont touch anything just find something to to do for about twenty minutes and come back and it should be waiting for you at the avwizard.

If you are not using the vga port you will get a black screen Just press 1 if you are using the DVI connector check the new FAQ for further info on the black screen if you need to.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

jyoung58

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2008, 09:01:54 pm »
TKMEDIA,

I cant get it to boot PXE. To do so i thought i just needed to change the boot sequence to legacy lan on this board. Am i missing something?

jyoung58

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2008, 10:23:16 pm »
Figured it out. I updated to the latest Bios drivers for the Abit AN-M2HD (version 19) The option in the Bios under Intergrated Peripherals for Onchip Lan Boot Rom (PXE) had disapeared. I downgraded the bios to version 14 and was able to enable that feature in the bios. Then select Nvidea boot agent as the first boot device and it is loading as we speak. Thanks for everyones help. Should i post a new thread to warn everyone about that update or just leave it in here?

Greg

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Abit AN-M2HD PXE Boot
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2008, 12:24:31 pm »
I would suggest updating the wiki page for the Abit AN-M2HD