Author Topic: Rip DVD using 0704  (Read 2077 times)

mercury9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Rip DVD using 0704
« on: January 22, 2008, 07:55:08 am »
Fairly new to linux mce. Installed 0704 with the bare minimum configuration. Tried to rip a DVD to add it to the media list, but was not successful. Is there any additional configuration that's required to rep DVD's ?
Thanks in advance !!


augalex

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 10:41:23 am »
Hello mercury9 an welcome,

basically you must have libdvdcss installed, wich you can check under advanced > add software, there it should be in the list.

Maybe it's more easy to help you, if you could write a little more than,

"Tried to rip a DVD to add it to the media list, but was not successful",

what happened?( broke up during ripping, nothing happened.....)

greetz
augalex

mercury9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2008, 05:54:35 am »
Thanks for you response !!
Did try to add software.The list shows that DVD CSS is already  installed.If I  try to click on the list again, I get a  message saying that  the s/w cannot be installed.

When I click on the "Rip" button from "Manage drives" - I get the following message but nothing happens.

"The disc is being copied to the core.You will  be  notified when its finished. To check the progress, select pending tasks"

Plus, there is nothing in the pending tasks list .  Is there a log file that I can check to see what's going on ?

augalex

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2008, 07:20:26 am »
You try to rip an original dvd (bought) or an dvd with avis or so on it (burned)?

Did Lmce recognize your DVD? (usually it should start playing after putting it in)

In case of a burned dvd, with avis... you only could copy it to the core by yourself using for example a terminal.

greetz

augalex

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2008, 12:08:34 am »
And if you get permission errors, try running
Code: [Select]
sudo adduser linuxmce public in a terminal.  That will allow the linuxmce user to copy files to /home/public/data/*.  If you installed lmce from CDs use the username you had to create during the kubuntu installation instead of "linuxmce".
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


mercury9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2008, 11:06:55 am »
Yes - I am trying to rip a dvd that I bought ( commercial dvd). The system mounts the dvd drive and the dvd starts playing right away.Clicking on the left mouse button brings up the linuxmce menu and I can then  go to the manage drives menu and then select the "Rip" option. My config - 0704 CD install Hybrid model using Kubuntu 7.04

Also made sure that the user had permissions to write to /home/public/data/videos
On scaning the error logs here's what I  found in the Disk_Drive.log

1   01/27/08 04:06:34   26 (spawning-device)    [1;00mStarting... 1 [1;00m
1   01/27/08 04:06:34   26 (spawning-device)    [1;00mFound ./Disk_Drive [1;00m
05   01/27/08 4:08:07.140       [33;1mDisc of type 3 was detected [0m <0xb76e66d0>
05   01/27/08 4:08:07.141       [33;1mOne Media Inserted event fired (/dev/cdrom) m_discid: 1201424887 [0m <0xb76e66d0>
01   01/27/08 4:09:31.234       [31;1mTrying to rip - App server returned Delivery failed [0m <0xb5ee2b90>

Should I upgrade to 0710  and check if the "Rip" functionality works ??
 

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2008, 06:09:23 pm »
It could be some form of copy protection on the DVD, try a couple of others as well.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


mercury9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2008, 05:01:37 am »
Tried  mutiple DVD's and I still have the same issue.. I am gonna try 0710 to see if that makes a difference.

mercury9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2008, 03:42:43 am »
Ok Folks - After spending a lot of time searching the logs and this forum - I think I now know what the issue is.

The DVD rip fails because the  Appserver( Device 15) does not start and the reason for this is my Sound Card. This whole issue is very well documented in this thread   - http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3555.15




ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2008, 04:53:23 am »
heh,

Great work Merc!  It's amazing what you'll find if you dig hard enough!

Best Regards,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

mercury9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Rip DVD using 0704
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2008, 08:57:39 pm »
Issue closed. Confirmed that I can Rip DVD's and CD's now without any issues. I also upgraded to 0710 and this works as well !!!