Author Topic: Black screen after installation is finished  (Read 38935 times)

marunga

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2008, 01:25:12 am »
Hi,

Ok, After the AVWizard, where I choose UI2, it gives me an error about "...transparency manager...". After that, I got the lspci and

xorg.conf info. Then ssh and installed the NVIDIA driver (compiled a new one, with Opengl compatibility and xorg.cong updated by the

installation process). Rebooted, and voil√°: Black screen after the Kubuntu splash! Rebooted again, went in to recovery mode and got the

new xorg.conf.

Before:
...
Section "Device"
   Identifier   "nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS]"
   Driver      "nv"
   BusID      "PCI:2:0:0"
   Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
   Option "renderAccel" "true"
   Option "NoDDCValue"
   Option "UseEDID" "false"
   Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
   Option "NoLogo" "true"
   Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
   Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes,

AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
   Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
   Option "UseEvents" "true"
   Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
   Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
   Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Generic Monitor"
   Option      "DPMS"
   Modeline    "1024x768" 60.80 1024 1056 1128 1272 768 768 770 796
   HorizSync   20-500
   VertRefresh   59-61
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Device      "nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS]"
   Monitor      "Generic Monitor"
   DefaultDepth   24
   SubSection "Display"
      Modes      "1024x768"
      Virtual      1024 768
   EndSubSection
   Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
   Option "renderAccel" "true"
   Option "NoDDCValue"
   Option "UseEDID" "false"
   Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
   Option "NoLogo" "true"
   Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
   Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes,

AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
   Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
   Option "UseEvents" "true"
   Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
   Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
   Option   "TVStandard"   "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier   "Default Layout"
   Screen      "Default Screen"
   InputDevice   "Generic Keyboard"
   InputDevice   "Configured Mouse"
EndSection
Section "Extensions"
   Option "Composite" "true"
   Option "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

After:
...
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Generic Monitor"
    HorizSync       20.0 - 500.0
    VertRefresh     59.0 - 61.0
    ModeLine       "1024x768" 60.80 1024 1056 1128 1272 768 768 770 796
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS]"
    Driver         "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS]"
    Monitor        "Generic Monitor"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
    Option         "renderAccel" "true"
    Option         "NoDDCValue"
    Option         "UseEDID" "false"
    Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
    Option         "NoLogo" "true"
    Option         "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes,

AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
    Option         "DynamicTwinView" "false"
    Option         "UseEvents" "true"
    Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    Option         "TVStandard" "1024x768"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Virtual     1024 768
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "true"
    Option         "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

LSPCI:
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:06.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905B 100BaseTX [Cyclone] (rev 24)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7600 GS] (rev a1)


regards,
fv

Kap

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #16 on: August 11, 2008, 02:15:46 pm »
I dorked around with this for days trying to figure it out.  It did not dawn on me until I read the AV Wizard instruction for the 100th time.  Here is a fix in my case.

NEW INSTALL/SETUP - If your initial output is DVI - it won't work (so I've discovered with 0710RC2), you must put a DVI to VGA plug on the DVI output and then you should see the AV Wizard.    I have done this on all 4 of my MD's and they are now working.

When I did this, it appeard that my system had been booting the entire time correctly and got to the UI1 screen.  I'd been pressing every stupid number button imagineable.

Hope this helps.

²
Tried the numbers didn't help, DVI to VGA worked.
For some reason it used the DVI head on my card instead of the VGA one.  No monitor was connected to the DVI output though.
Pressed 2 (for VGA) and waited for the beeps several times, eventually I tried all numbers nothing helped untill I read somewhere about the DVI to VGA solution.



jamo181

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2009, 01:15:29 pm »
I'll post up my experience so far with linuxmce 7.10 DVD version.
Initial setup went smoothly then it asked me to remove the dvd and reboot.
After reboot it gets part of the way through then stops at a screen with a flashing cursor at top left .... cut to the chase

Read around about it not working on dvi connector.... pressed 2 on keyboard it flashed to nothing then a second later the cursor comes up again.... I read everywhere for a way to fix it.... ended up finding that holding the shift key down after pressing 2 (to select the dvi mode) the av setup wizard would appear !!!
I've had this work a couple of times so far no vga connecters required! just press 2 then hold the shift key afterwards.

Good Luck

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2009, 09:01:42 pm »
Pressing '1' selects HDMI/DVI mode, '2' selects VGA mode. Shift at this point does nothing.

jamo181

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2009, 12:24:44 am »
I Read it here

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard
perhaps it was 1 i had pressed ... or maybe 2 first then 1 after ?....

Extract from that site (Note: I have no internal speaker).
Alternatively, the AV Wizard can be started during bootup. Either hold down the Shift key on the keyboard, or press the "A/V Menu" button on the remote to make the A/V wizard start. During bootup you should hear a series of escalating beeps to tell you when LinuxMCE is monitoring the Shift (and "A/V Menu") keys.
When you hear the descending beeps it means that you're too late; the bootup has already gone past the AV Wizard check and LinuxMCE has already started.

I had restarted my pc by hard reset during install when it got to the black screen... then after a couple of tries at the 1-5 keys I found this guide and hold in the shift key to reveal AV Wizard.... Worked for me :)

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #20 on: February 01, 2009, 01:46:52 am »
Yes, you have misunderstood exactly what happened then. Let me clarify. I don't have speakers on mine either, you don't need them.

When your PC starts to boot, the first thing it will do is POST (Power On Self Test) - this is the BIOS doing hardware checks, and you will see various messages pop up, but most usually just a "splash" screen with the name of the mobo manufacturer, name of the BIOS company and press xyz to enter setup, etc). Once this is complete, it will hit the hard drive and start to load stuff.

The first thing you should see it load is the GRUB boot menu, and give you a 2 second count down to hit ESC to enter the GRUB setup menu. Once this passes, the Kubuntu loader screen will pop up with a horizontal progress bar moving from left to right (not all that very different from a Windows loader screen).

As soon as the Kubuntu loader screen comes up, press shift and hold it down until the progress bar gets to the right hand side. This will guarantee that the AV Wizard detects you are pressing it. In reality, the decending beep occur shortly after this screen comes up, and the ascending beeps shortly before it finishes - so you really only have to hit the button once somewhere in the middle. If you don't see the loader screen because your screen is already blank, that's fine - its right after the GRUB menu. So wait until the screen goes blank, then hold the button down for a minute or so.

Now that you are sure you are in the AV Wizard, even if you can't see it, you can now use the number buttons. The key things to remember here are:

1) If you have a blank screen with a cursor flashing, or a text only screen, especially if it periodically flickers and then comes back - this means that X was unable to start up, and therefore the AV Wizard could not start either. This is usually an indication of a driver issue, or possibly a xorg.conf configuration issue - see the wiki article called Display Drivers and review any errors in your /var/log/Xorg.0.log.

2) If your screen is just black or No Signal, now you can hit '1' for DVI/HDMI - but remember, this means the AV Wizard needs to shutdown, and X needs to terminate, reload the new config file, then start up again, and start AV Wizard again before you will get any picture. So after hitting any key, you need to wait at least 15 seconds before deciding that it hasn't done anything.

blue_chip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2009, 06:53:46 pm »
Hi there

I have also the problem with the black screen after the installation...

First of all my System has the following specs:

Mainb: Asus P5N32-E Sli
Graca: Asus Nvidia GTX 8800
Screen: Viewsonic VP2650wb connected by DVI

After the first Beep I can see a black screen with a blinking cursor flashing, after the second beep the screen turn into standby. I already tried the tricks with the numbers, pressing shift during start up - nothing has worked so far.

After several new starts it shows me from time to time (yes it's really randomly!):
Code: [Select]
Starting Samba [OK]
Restarting UPNP Meda Server fuppesd [OK]
  somtimes also just
Code: [Select]
Restarting UPNP Meda Server fuppesd _
between the two beeps after that the screen is going back into standby...

Does anybody have any suggestions?

Greez

P.S. please excuse me for my bad english... I hope you understand it :)

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2009, 09:56:04 pm »
Do you have an onboard (on motherboard) graphics chip as well as a graphics card?

blue_chip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2009, 11:55:36 am »
Do you have an onboard (on motherboard) graphics chip as well as a graphics card?

no...

some more information, what I have tried till now:

first I wanted to install MCE 7.10 with the DVD - it didnt worked. after the step "guessing about my BIOS" (something like that) it stopped even though the installer said it had founded it.

so i tried it with kubuntu 7.10 cd and the 2 MCE Discs with that it worked so far to the black screen. what i'm wondering, even though I have a Nvidia Card the installer of MCE didn't ask me about which UI I wanna use...

I also tried the second DVI-Port at the graphic card- same problem

I'm actually trying to reinstall kubuntu (CD) and then another MCE-Installation - I'm still hopeing it's gonna working....

or has anybody else a suggestion for me?

Greez

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2009, 09:38:40 pm »
Could be any one of a number of problems but had to make sure you didn't have 2 GPUs first. Get your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file and look for issues. You can pastebin it and put a link here as well for us to look if you wish.

blue_chip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2009, 05:16:58 pm »
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers

hey thanks a lot for your tips, were getting closer... :)

After I installed the NVIDIA Driver (in Kubuntu GUI, nvidia-glx-new) I installed LinuxMCE and I can see the AV Wizard... I couldn't install it like on the tutorial - it all ended up with an "http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5503.0"failed to setup x"

But I have still some strange Errors...

I wanted to use 1080p, but the Ratio still standing on 4:3 and i think it;s still 640x480 probably 800x600

When I wanna launch MCE it's coming following error meassege:
Warning: you are using the nv driver. It is recommended that you use the nvidia driver. Do you want to run helper script to try to fix it (this can cause system to reboot?
Press Cancel if you want to close LMCE Launch Manager without running helper script.

When it's finally downloaded LMCE is starting and the error "Open GL isn't available" that only appears when I wanna launch MCE with U2 (without alphablending). But I can start it with U1... But with a Nvidia 8800 u2 should work, shouldn't it?

My actuall xorg log...
http://howflow.com/pastes/1198

Last but not least, when I wanna install my Win-TV-PVR-USB2 according to this tutorial: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-PVR-USB2
I'm getting following error:
Code: [Select]
ERROR:Module ivtv does not exist in /proc/modules after I typed in
Code: [Select]
sudo rmmod ivtv
unfortunatley MCE doesn't find the card... :(

But I have to say I tried to install the driver in the usual Terminal, because when I hold Alt-Ctrl-2, nothing happen. If I try it with ALT-Ctrl-F2, I'm getting the same error like in the terminal...

Still any suggestions? And thank you for your patience...

Greez

P.S. should I open a new thread for my new problems?

« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 05:28:32 pm by blue_chip »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2009, 05:42:22 pm »
just plug the USB2 in, LMCE should find it because we have a device template for it.

As for installing the nvidia drivers, you had to do this BECAUSE you're using a card not certified to work with the driver in 0710. You will not need to do this for 0810, because your card will work with the packaged driver.

Use recommended hardware, and the problems you are having will not happen.

-Thom

blue_chip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #28 on: March 02, 2009, 08:01:49 am »
just plug the USB2 in, LMCE should find it because we have a device template for it.

after I plug the USB In, the Red (Power)Light turn of and LMCE doesn't find anything, when I plug in the USB first and give the device after that power, the Powerlight doesn't come at anytime... I'm guessing it has something to do with the driver, because I had the same problem on windows before I installed the driver...!


As for installing the nvidia drivers, you had to do this BECAUSE you're using a card not certified to work with the driver in 0710. You will not need to do this for 0810, because your card will work with the packaged driver.

Use recommended hardware, and the problems you are having will not happen.

-Thom

dammed I'm SO SORRY! You're right... I guess I was so surprised that everything of my hardware fitted, I forgot to check about the card... (I bought the hardware about a 1 1/2 y ago...)

Thanks for all help here, it's a really great forum...!

Greez

« Last Edit: March 02, 2009, 08:03:56 am by blue_chip »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen after installation is finished
« Reply #29 on: March 02, 2009, 08:13:00 am »
I'm not entirely sure why your tuner card isn't working...but I can say the red LED is actually if the tuner is active. It's only on when it's being used.

Can you give me the output of lsusb ?

-Thom