Author Topic: Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?  (Read 1613 times)

Loeckchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?
« on: January 22, 2008, 02:47:32 pm »
Hello!

Is it possible to install a LinuxMCE Core-only version on a command-line only system? I have a nice little XENified homeserver where I could debootstrap a Kubuntu text-mode only in a VM and I'd like to install the LMCE Core there and use other old PCs as Orbiters.

Is that possible?

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2008, 04:12:01 pm »
I know some have tried with the full core/hybrid including myself. I have had problems loading the quickdvd haven't tried the cd method yet.

What are you using for the host OS. I am currently trying on FC8.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

dukat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2008, 03:19:45 pm »
I tried this also, but had no luck. As far as I know the the LMCE Core booter is a GUI program. In the end my core runs an empty X screen with just the LMCE control GUI.

dan g

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2008, 03:26:10 pm »
Quote
In the end my core runs an empty X screen with just the LMCE control GUI.
that's what the dedicated core should do.

if you want to have lmce on kde you can install it as hybrid and start only the lmce services and leave the media station shut.

dukat

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2008, 03:54:12 pm »
Quote
In the end my core runs an empty X screen with just the LMCE control GUI.
that's what the dedicated core should do.

Sorry, maybe that was misleading. I think the goal was to have a dedicated core without X at all.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install LinuxMCE core-only on a command line only system?
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 04:06:53 pm »
It can be done, see: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Clean_Core

Wouldn't get my hopes up to high on a "debootstrap a Kubuntu text-mode only in a VM and install the LMCE Core there" though.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous