Author Topic: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(  (Read 1374 times)

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« on: May 03, 2008, 02:02:25 am »
what feels like ages ago I posted this :)

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=4613.0

I bought a m2npv-vm  to use as my core/hybrid.. it is still back at the manufacturers awaiting replacement after it boiled my processor (long story)
anyhow things have moved on and I need to use the m2n-mx se as the core but I need the slots so I need the onboard LAN and sound working!
neither of them seem to be detected :(
anyone tell me where to start?
according to what I have read in the Ubuntu forums this board should work "out of the box" with Gutsy??
thanks!!
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2008, 02:36:52 pm »
Considering that this board should work out of the box with Gutsy, have you tried doing a CD install?
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2008, 03:38:43 pm »
hi there Zaerc :)
TBH I have only ever used the X64 DVD to install on this box.
is that not the best approach in this case?
thanks for your help!
Gazzzman
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

jamieaus

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2008, 04:33:15 am »
Gazzman

I have this motherboard as well I am not having any issues with the network port I installed from AMD 64 DVD, I am however having trouble with the sound I fixed this in the last issue by installing from cd's and compiling ALSA before installing the linuxmce software. IE Disto install upgrade ALSA then LinuxMCE install.

I will be working on this over the weekend I will document everthing I did to get this working and let you know. Assuming I get time.


gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2008, 08:45:44 pm »
hi there jamieaus!
thanks!
I think there is a hardware issue with the LAN on this board (have not had it work proper;y on any OS yet :(  )
but any pointers you could give me over sound would be fantastic :)
have a great weekend!
Gazzzman
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

jamieaus

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2008, 12:01:00 am »
I have installed linuxmce 0710 RC2 with kubuntu 7.1 AMD64 versions and the sound works upon first installing the system.

I can see and hear the woman in the setup instructions
I lost sound somehow it got muted however all is working.

Here is what I did
Download Kubuntu 7.10 AMD 64 DVD and install
Update installation from terminal sudo apt-get upgrade
Download Linuxmce AMD 64 cd's and install

That is it.

Gazzman doesn't sound good for you with the network port however we will get the sound working.

Good Luck

Jamie.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2008, 12:43:47 am by jamieaus »

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: asus m2n-mx se plus no sound no lan :(
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2008, 03:32:08 pm »
hi again!
well... I think they MIGHT be taking the board back :)
so you never know :)
if I get it replaced I will let you know how things work out!
though I will probably end up using something else as a core now (inpatient as I am )
and this will end up a MD :)
I will let you know how things turn out!
thanks Jamie!
have a great weekend!
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----