Author Topic: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues  (Read 2288 times)

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« on: January 17, 2008, 04:53:34 am »
I am trying to install b3 x64 from the 2 cd method.

Issues so far

1  .After installing the nvidia driver when it reboots My goes black with an OVERRANGE message.  (put original xorg.conf back.. Decided to install without nvidia drivers for now.
2. Had to go to konsole to umount /dev/cdrom so I could put 2nd cd in.
caching cds now more to come.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4428
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2008, 12:23:53 pm »
I am trying to install b3 x64 from the 2 cd method.

Issues so far

1  .After installing the nvidia driver when it reboots My goes black with an OVERRANGE message.  (put original xorg.conf back.. Decided to install without nvidia drivers for now.
2. Had to go to konsole to umount /dev/cdrom so I could put 2nd cd in.
caching cds now more to come.


Hmmm... sorry can't help with that one as we did not test the CD install but only the DVD install. I can say though that the 64bit version has worked solidly on our AMD64 + 6100, AMD64 + 6200 based test hardware.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2008, 04:11:17 pm »
2. May be related to having the cd in the pc when rebooting. I think I have seen this before.

The video issue I think this is related to not having a mode line. in xorg after the driver update.

I used envy to new drivers and set up the xorg still same problem so I ran the Install with the nv drivers in UI mode.
It made it through the install fine and worked with UI1.

I changed xorg driver to "nvidia" rebooted and got Avwizard can not start X
Reran envy -t updated the xorg rebooted and reran the avwizard  now I have mode lines and  ui2 no alpha blending is running fine.


My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

danielmayer

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2008, 01:48:29 pm »
Hi!
Most likely, the installer made a nice monitor definition with something like HRange xx-500. I had that problem many times with the ati-installer. X will always take all allowed modelines from itself if none are defined, but uses the highest/best according to the monitor definiton. So you don't need to edit modelines, but edit the crt/tft-specs.
Check that section ;)
Greetings
Server: Ubuntu 10.04A2, 1xL5520 on Asus Z8-PED12X, 12GB, 300GB U320Raid0, 8TB HDDs@Adaptec 2820SA + 8TB@Perc 5/E. LMCE via KVM (running); other VMs;
Workstation: W7x64, 2xOpteron 2376, 24GB, 146 GB-SSD-Raid0, ATI 4850
MD: Asrock nv630i, 2GB

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2008, 01:00:51 am »
tk - seems I'm having the exact same problem, and I think you have the same mobo/chipset as me...

Remind me (can't find it through search because it keeps hitting nvidia!) what are the nv drivers? Are they the open source ones installed by default? What are installed by default? VESA? isn't that just the dumb safe-mode VGA drivers? How did you install the nv drivers? Do you just change nvidia to nv in xorg.conf?

Given I am using the current Kubuntu default drivers currently, and want to get to at least UI2/overlay, once I have installed the CDs, do you suggest I use Envy to install the latest drivers before rebooting, then choose UI2 in the AV wizard?

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2008, 01:51:00 am »
tk - seems I'm having the exact same problem, and I think you have the same mobo/chipset as me...

Remind me (can't find it through search because it keeps hitting nvidia!) what are the nv drivers? Are they the open source ones installed by default? What are installed by default? VESA? isn't that just the dumb safe-mode VGA drivers? How did you install the nv drivers? Do you just change nvidia to nv in xorg.conf?

Given I am using the current Kubuntu default drivers currently, and want to get to at least UI2/overlay, once I have installed the CDs, do you suggest I use Envy to install the latest drivers before rebooting, then choose UI2 in the AV wizard?

You definatley want nvidia in your xorg

either envy or download the pkgrun from nvidia.

I have tried so many combinations is getting hard to keep track.

check /var/logs/xorg0.log for details on what is happening. 
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2008, 03:47:02 am »
Good - that's what I've got now after installing and running Envy (and trying to ignore all the warnings and errors that flash by as it does it! I'm hoping that they are "expected".....)

I got past the avwizard in low res, then installed and ran Envy, went back to the avwizard and chose 1080p - it now works ok, but before the driver update the virtual destop was much larger than the screen and was doing the familiar panning around. I then modified xorg to turn on edid because it doesn't place my picture properly but turn off ediddpi as it reports the wrong screen size. And finally set HD1080p as the av wizard creates an invalid setting for this. These settings work well for me over several builds. But none of it fixes the jerkiness of all video sources.

This is my forth b3 install (3x DVD and now the CDs) - everytime it is extremely unstable, locks up, looses TV, looses video but not audio (and rarely, even the other way around), and it is at least the 8th time I have had to screw around with the network configuration to get it to rediscover my windows share that it keeps thinking is offline when it is fine. Now I have lost audio in VDR, but audio is fine in other sources. And I have lost the TV stations in VDR and had to reload them in the web admin at least 20-30 times!

I have come to the conclusion that VDR is the source of almost all my problems - its extreme instability seems to knock out Xine or Media Plugin, or something. I am going to have to rebuild again and switch to Myth because I am very unpopular at the moment - we haven't been able to watch/listen to anything reliably for nearly a week!

I just don't understand why others don't seem to be having the same problems - I have reported as much as I can in Mantis that was verifiable.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2008, 04:34:46 am »
I hope I am wrong but I don't think many or any running HD 1080p successfully.

I am going nuts try to find the bottle necks. ???

I have a blu-ray player on the way it may help sort things out.

I finally got optimum resolution on my sony 1080i rear projection and 1360x768 on my Olivea LCD.
Seems to have clear picture very little tearing but stuttering to the point where its unwatchable.

I am seeing a 50-70 cpu usage on a amd 4200 + with the 7050

I see around 43-60 cpu usage on a P4 6300 nvidia 6600 connected to dell 20 FP running 1680x1050
So I think horse power should not be the issue.


I have run debug on hdhomerun and it does not seem to be the problem.
It is not dropping frames.
Everything is on GB switches

Does anyone have any suggestions or logs to check.

Any one running 1080p?





My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4428
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2008, 09:51:53 am »
Good - that's what I've got now after installing and running Envy (and trying to ignore all the warnings and errors that flash by as it does it! I'm hoping that they are "expected".....)

I got past the avwizard in low res, then installed and ran Envy, went back to the avwizard and chose 1080p - it now works ok, but before the driver update the virtual destop was much larger than the screen and was doing the familiar panning around. I then modified xorg to turn on edid because it doesn't place my picture properly but turn off ediddpi as it reports the wrong screen size. And finally set HD1080p as the av wizard creates an invalid setting for this. These settings work well for me over several builds. But none of it fixes the jerkiness of all video sources.

This is my forth b3 install (3x DVD and now the CDs) - everytime it is extremely unstable, locks up, looses TV, looses video but not audio (and rarely, even the other way around), and it is at least the 8th time I have had to screw around with the network configuration to get it to rediscover my windows share that it keeps thinking is offline when it is fine. Now I have lost audio in VDR, but audio is fine in other sources. And I have lost the TV stations in VDR and had to reload them in the web admin at least 20-30 times!

I have come to the conclusion that VDR is the source of almost all my problems - its extreme instability seems to knock out Xine or Media Plugin, or something. I am going to have to rebuild again and switch to Myth because I am very unpopular at the moment - we haven't been able to watch/listen to anything reliably for nearly a week!

I just don't understand why others don't seem to be having the same problems - I have reported as much as I can in Mantis that was verifiable.

Hmmm... well we have at least 5 test Cores installed with LinuxMCE-0710 and two of them are still running Beta3. We do not see any of the problems you describe under either 32bit or 64bit. We just would not have released it in such an unstable state.

The specification for the Core's we test against are here for everyone to see;

http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Convergenthome#Model:_NerveCentre_100

and

http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Convergenthome#Model:_NerveCentre_200
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2008, 09:16:10 pm »
I guess it could be hardware, at the same time, I'm not using anything particularly unusual except perhaps the 7050PV/630a chipset which doesn't seem that common out there (tkmedia is using this as well).

I have started another thread to see if I can collect any more instances of similar issues, and what hardware/choices were made - maybe I can find some commonality...

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=4029.0

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2008, 09:43:21 pm »
2. May be related to having the cd in the pc when rebooting. I think I have seen this before.

The video issue I think this is related to not having a mode line. in xorg after the driver update.

I used envy to new drivers and set up the xorg still same problem so I ran the Install with the nv drivers in UI mode.
It made it through the install fine and worked with UI1.

I changed xorg driver to "nvidia" rebooted and got Avwizard can not start X
Reran envy -t updated the xorg rebooted and reran the avwizard  now I have mode lines and  ui2 no alpha blending is running fine.
I think I'm having the same problem with an 8400gs.  I can get through the wizards with the driver set to "vesa" and run UI1.  Once I change it back to nvidia all I get is a black screen.  I don't understand the "mod lines",  could you post your xorg.conf or at least mod lines so I can see if that works for me?

Thanx


[/quote]
« Last Edit: January 26, 2008, 09:55:45 pm by jgaffney »

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2008, 11:56:43 pm »
Check /var/logs/xorg0.log 

my xorgs.conf are all over the place experimenting

once a get a stable preferred xorg.conf I will post it.

Two things

make sure "nvidia" not vesa is is listed

try use useedid=true

and then look at the logs.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2008, 04:10:34 pm »
Good - that's what I've got now after installing and running Envy (and trying to ignore all the warnings and errors that flash by as it does it! I'm hoping that they are "expected".....)

I got past the avwizard in low res, then installed and ran Envy, went back to the avwizard and chose 1080p - it now works ok, but before the driver update the virtual destop was much larger than the screen and was doing the familiar panning around. I then modified xorg to turn on edid because it doesn't place my picture properly but turn off ediddpi as it reports the wrong screen size. And finally set HD1080p as the av wizard creates an invalid setting for this. These settings work well for me over several builds. But none of it fixes the jerkiness of all video sources.

This is my forth b3 install (3x DVD and now the CDs) - everytime it is extremely unstable, locks up, looses TV, looses video but not audio (and rarely, even the other way around), and it is at least the 8th time I have had to screw around with the network configuration to get it to rediscover my windows share that it keeps thinking is offline when it is fine. Now I have lost audio in VDR, but audio is fine in other sources. And I have lost the TV stations in VDR and had to reload them in the web admin at least 20-30 times!

I have come to the conclusion that VDR is the source of almost all my problems - its extreme instability seems to knock out Xine or Media Plugin, or something. I am going to have to rebuild again and switch to Myth because I am very unpopular at the moment - we haven't been able to watch/listen to anything reliably for nearly a week!

I just don't understand why others don't seem to be having the same problems - I have reported as much as I can in Mantis that was verifiable.

Hmmm... well we have at least 5 test Cores installed with LinuxMCE-0710 and two of them are still running Beta3. We do not see any of the problems you describe under either 32bit or 64bit. We just would not have released it in such an unstable state.

The specification for the Core's we test against are here for everyone to see;

http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Convergenthome#Model:_NerveCentre_100

and

http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Convergenthome#Model:_NerveCentre_200

Stupid question, but you said you have 5 test cores running 7.10 and 2 are still running Beta3....  what are the other 3 running?

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2008, 03:01:27 am »
sshhhhhhh! (I was waiting for someone to ask that :) )

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 0710b3 x64 nvidia driver issues
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2008, 02:57:32 pm »
sshhhhhhh! (I was waiting for someone to ask that :) )
I was afraid I'd get a response like that..  ;-)