Author Topic: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!  (Read 6144 times)

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #30 on: January 16, 2008, 12:13:57 am »
Andrew - seen elsewhere (Mantis, I think) that there may have been a change in direction to abstract the perl code from the configuration, so that we only need provide the basic SIP details in a config file (or typed in directly during set up), rather than doing the whole customisation of the script for each provider. Am I reading that correctly?

RichardP

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #31 on: January 16, 2008, 03:28:16 am »
We are looking for people to contribute new Phone Line Provider scripts for providers in their country/region that are not already available in the 'Provider' pop-up in Wizard -> Devices -> Phone Lines


I've done a couple of files but could find no way to test them. I expected to be able to simply dump the new files into a directory somewhere and have them appear in the drop-down list. Can someone point me towards the code that produces the drop-down list so I can make this happen.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to handle this?

The possibilities I can see as workable are:
  • The code reads all files which conform to the naming convention and displays them in the drop-down list.
  • The code reads a configuration file which produces the list after verifying the files actually exist. This allows the possibility of only displaying a subset, like an UK list or an Australian list. It also allows a particular provider to be in more than one list, like being in both US and New York

 I dislike really long lists for performance/memory reasons, so I might add some functionality to split the list somehow into groups of some arbitary number if there are many items.
Best Regards,
Richard

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #32 on: January 16, 2008, 12:46:45 pm »
Andrew - seen elsewhere (Mantis, I think) that there may have been a change in direction to abstract the perl code from the configuration, so that we only need provide the basic SIP details in a config file (or typed in directly during set up), rather than doing the whole customisation of the script for each provider. Am I reading that correctly?

Yes your basically correct... some re engineering of the code is underway. However please continue to add your perl provider files to Mantis as that part may in fact not change initially and we would like to get as many added as possible
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

RichardP

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #33 on: January 17, 2008, 02:30:16 am »
Andrew - seen elsewhere (Mantis, I think) that there may have been a change in direction to abstract the perl code from the configuration, so that we only need provide the basic SIP details in a config file (or typed in directly during set up), rather than doing the whole customisation of the script for each provider. Am I reading that correctly?

Yes your basically correct... some re engineering of the code is underway. However please continue to add your perl provider files to Mantis as that part may in fact not change initially and we would like to get as many added as possible

I guess that makes my previous post obsolete then  ;D

Do you have a deadline for this? I've not added my scripts to the mantis yet, as I wanted to test it before uploading. I've found the PHP script to change to add them to the options in the Admin site, so I'll use that. However, now that beta3 is out, I thought I'd delay the testing until I've installed that. However, if your cut-off is going to fairly soon, I'll just upload the untested scripts.

Best Regards,
Richard.
Best Regards,
Richard

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #34 on: January 17, 2008, 02:34:33 am »
Richard - any would be good for AU! I ended up getting about 15 bites from VSPs, passed them on the script, but so far nothing back.... I think they are all struggling :) not surprising really. One got back to me and asked who they could use as a technical contact, which is why I asked that question, Richard... but I haven't told him you yet.

Seeming all a little too hard at this stage....

Col

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #35 on: January 17, 2008, 09:10:58 pm »
Andrew - seen elsewhere (Mantis, I think) that there may have been a change in direction to abstract the perl code from the configuration, so that we only need provide the basic SIP details in a config file (or typed in directly during set up), rather than doing the whole customisation of the script for each provider. Am I reading that correctly?

Yes your basically correct... some re engineering of the code is underway. However please continue to add your perl provider files to Mantis as that part may in fact not change initially and we would like to get as many added as possible

I guess that makes my previous post obsolete then  ;D

Do you have a deadline for this? I've not added my scripts to the mantis yet, as I wanted to test it before uploading. I've found the PHP script to change to add them to the options in the Admin site, so I'll use that. However, now that beta3 is out, I thought I'd delay the testing until I've installed that. However, if your cut-off is going to fairly soon, I'll just upload the untested scripts.

Best Regards,
Richard.


I'd like to see as many scripts in the release as possible... but we'll keep adding them or provide a very accessible way for you guys to add them in the near future. So don't panic about hitting some deadline... but submit any you have when your ready ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

RichardP

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #36 on: January 18, 2008, 03:57:45 am »
Richard - any would be good for AU! I ended up getting about 15 bites from VSPs, passed them on the script, but so far nothing back.... I think they are all struggling :) not surprising really. One got back to me and asked who they could use as a technical contact, which is why I asked that question, Richard... but I haven't told him you yet.

Seeming all a little too hard at this stage....

Col

Go ahead and give them my details - I don't mind. You sound a little discouraged. Don't be - you can only do what you can do. At the moment, it's probably not a high priority for them because LMCE is not mainstream. Later on, that will change, as more people come on board - and the reason it will change is because Cousin Harry sees LMCE running in your lounge and thinks it is great. The small wins become a waterfall as time goes by, as more and more people become users and show their friends in turn.
So just hang it there, bro - it will all happen, one step at a time.

Best Regards,
Richard.
Best Regards,
Richard

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #37 on: January 18, 2008, 11:47:11 am »
I've one for Blueface in Ireland - I'll upload it once I've had a chance to test.
-Coley.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #38 on: January 18, 2008, 11:47:10 pm »
I was just messing about and figured I'd try using the "sipgate" provider with the acount details of my own (non-sipgate) provider and "it just worked", so it might be a simple solution for most to just change "sipgate" to something like "generic sip". Just a thought.

EDIT:

I did this using the web-admin, not the setup wizard btw, not sure if that matters.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2008, 11:48:47 pm by Zaerc »
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #39 on: January 19, 2008, 06:33:39 pm »
I've one for Blueface in Ireland - I'll upload it once I've had a chance to test.
-Coley.

Great. Thanks :-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #40 on: January 19, 2008, 06:35:08 pm »
I was just messing about and figured I'd try using the "sipgate" provider with the acount details of my own (non-sipgate) provider and "it just worked", so it might be a simple solution for most to just change "sipgate" to something like "generic sip". Just a thought.

EDIT:

I did this using the web-admin, not the setup wizard btw, not sure if that matters.

Yes with some providers that may work... but some require different config data and then you hit problems suing this approach.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #41 on: January 19, 2008, 07:46:04 pm »
I was just messing about and figured I'd try using the "sipgate" provider with the acount details of my own (non-sipgate) provider and "it just worked", so it might be a simple solution for most to just change "sipgate" to something like "generic sip". Just a thought.

EDIT:

I did this using the web-admin, not the setup wizard btw, not sure if that matters.

Yes with some providers that may work... but some require different config data and then you hit problems suing this approach.

Hence I said "most", the ones requiring different settings can always remain seperate, or maybe the generic-sip provider could be slightly expanded with some advanced settings.  I wasn't really suggesting a "one size fits all" solution, but I reckon most would require just about the same default settings.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Darren404

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #42 on: January 22, 2008, 06:16:16 am »
Shaw in Canada, one of the main cable and internet service providers is offering VOIP now. I have a feeling it might be built into the modems.  I was thinking of trying them out. If there is anything i can do to add them to the list let me know.
My house runs Linux

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Help us build more Phone Line providers into 0710!
« Reply #43 on: January 23, 2008, 12:41:39 am »
Richard - any would be good for AU! I ended up getting about 15 bites from VSPs, passed them on the script, but so far nothing back.... I think they are all struggling :) not surprising really. One got back to me and asked who they could use as a technical contact, which is why I asked that question, Richard... but I haven't told him you yet.

Seeming all a little too hard at this stage....

Col

Go ahead and give them my details - I don't mind. You sound a little discouraged. Don't be - you can only do what you can do. At the moment, it's probably not a high priority for them because LMCE is not mainstream. Later on, that will change, as more people come on board - and the reason it will change is because Cousin Harry sees LMCE running in your lounge and thinks it is great. The small wins become a waterfall as time goes by, as more and more people become users and show their friends in turn.
So just hang it there, bro - it will all happen, one step at a time.

Best Regards,
Richard.


Richard - I just forwarded to you the feedback I got from one VSP...