Author Topic: codec support asterisk 0710  (Read 1331 times)

cobradevil

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
codec support asterisk 0710
« on: January 08, 2008, 08:40:39 am »
Hello people,

I have been trying to make use of the builtin asterisk server.

I can make phone calls to my telephone and can also dialout.

The problem is that the asterisk version does not support the g711 codec which is the preferred choice of my voip provider.
I get also messages that there are no conversion codecs from g711 to sln.

Maybe i am wrong because this is my first experience with asterisk.
The provider is http://12connect.com/home/default.php?a=home&id=1022&lang=nl&site=1500

Keep up the good work!!

With kind regards,

William van de Velde

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: codec support asterisk 0710
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 10:17:42 am »
Hello people,

I have been trying to make use of the builtin asterisk server.

I can make phone calls to my telephone and can also dialout.

The problem is that the asterisk version does not support the g711 codec which is the preferred choice of my voip provider.
I get also messages that there are no conversion codecs from g711 to sln.

Maybe i am wrong because this is my first experience with asterisk.
The provider is http://12connect.com/home/default.php?a=home&id=1022&lang=nl&site=1500

Keep up the good work!!

With kind regards,

William van de Velde
Hmm,

strange, AFAIK, g711 is one of most spread codecs around, maybe you can check your config files - maybe you just don't have it as an option for your phone client....

HTH,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

atreidae

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: codec support asterisk 0710
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 01:10:25 pm »
(note i havent used asterrisk, i magage switchvox pbxes, based on asterisk)

g729 is normaly the issue as digum(i think) need you have a licence per channel (concurrent call)
however you should be able to have the phone itself set to g729 you can use bypass mode and not pay for the licence.

I could be wrong however i think asterisk is the same.

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: codec support asterisk 0710
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2008, 08:10:32 pm »
(note i havent used asterrisk, i magage switchvox pbxes, based on asterisk)

g729 is normaly the issue as digum(i think) need you have a licence per channel (concurrent call)
however you should be able to have the phone itself set to g729 you can use bypass mode and not pay for the licence.

I could be wrong however i think asterisk is the same.

G729 support in Asterisk is not related to whether someone needs their Asterisk to use G711. I haven't looked at how Asterisk supports G711 as distributed bundled with LMCE, but it's usually a matter of just installing the codec in Asterisk. Asterisk's installation UI is usually the commandline, so LMCE could do a lot better job administering it.

cobradevil

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
SOLVED: Re: codec support asterisk 0710
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2008, 11:18:36 am »
Well i am new but i should have read the basics :)

The thing is that g711 = alaw/ulaw but i filled g711 as the allowed codec.


thanx for the responses.

With kind regards

William

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: SOLVED: Re: codec support asterisk 0710
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2008, 03:49:04 pm »
Well i am new but i should have read the basics :)

The thing is that g711 = alaw/ulaw but i filled g711 as the allowed codec.

Would you post your config line as an excerpt from the appropriate file in the wiki, maybe with that link to the Asterisk codecs page that I posted? The best way would be an Asterisk codecs page in the LMCE wiki derived from the current info in the external page, including an example like yours of reconfiguring LMCE's Asterisk codecs.