Author Topic: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE  (Read 1556 times)

lon22

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« on: January 06, 2008, 06:23:36 am »
Does anyone know if there is a difference in the configuration of the xine player that is used in LMCE and the one I can access via the KDE desktop. I have some files that I can play with the KDE desktop version that I can't play in LMCE. Also I have files where I can hear the audio in the KDE desktop xine player, but don't hear the audio if I play them in LMCE. Thanks

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2008, 05:46:32 pm »
They use different configuration files. The KDE version uses the /root/.xine/config.conf (i think) and the LMCE uses the configuration file /etc/pluto/xine.conf

Search for XINE on the Wiki and you might some helpful information regarding the audio issue.

rgds
Oliver

lon22

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2008, 10:27:59 pm »
Ok thanks. I have been looking at the wiki - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Changing_Xine_Player_Audio_Settings - in regards to configuring the xine player. Another problem I'm having and I'm not sure if it is related to xine, is that I can't get output on all four speakers, only two. I have a sound blaster connected to a 4.1 speaker set.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2008, 11:29:44 pm »
Just for clarity, as I understand it. Xine player isn't really used in LMCE. The xine player on the desktop is really just a GUI around xinelib - just libraries, the GUI pulls them altogether into a useable tool. LMCE doesn't use that GUI, it has Xine_Wrapper, which is a piece of code written specifically to integrate the xinelib functions into LMCE. The libraries used are the same, but actual tool/program/application is completely different, and so things you can do on the desktop do not necessarily translate to how they work in LMCE, depends on whether whoever wrote Xine_Wrapper included that particular functionality, even though the libraries themselves are still capable.

lon22

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2008, 11:36:57 pm »
Well that's interesting. Collin, do you know if besides the minimum configuration available on the Admin website, if there is a way for additional configuration.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2008, 11:56:41 pm »
No idea, I'm just regurgitating other stuff I have read on the forums!

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2008, 12:51:28 am »
You might want to take a look at the sourcecode for the Xine_Wrapper..

If it's just a wrapper, it shouldn't be too complicated...

HTH,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2008, 05:58:44 am »
edit /root/.xine/config ... the Xine_Player (and any libxine based app for that matter) will use this config file.

-Thom

lon22

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2008, 06:26:18 am »
I tried making some changes in the /root/.xine/conf file, but they didn't seem to have an affect on the xine player. I tried to set the speaker configuration from Stereo 2.0 to Surround 4.1. I even regenerated the orbiter and when that didn't work, I rebooted the system. Still no changes.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2008, 07:43:59 am by lon22 »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2008, 09:08:48 am »
Hello Thom,

edit /root/.xine/config ... the Xine_Player (and any libxine based app for that matter) will use this config file.

are you sure about this? The xine from within Pluto used that file, but the information from the /etc/pluto/xine.conf seems to at least overwrite those settings.

rgds
Oliver

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Configuring Xine Player in LMCE
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2008, 01:19:39 pm »
looks like they are both used.

-Thom