Author Topic: High load avg in 0710 using ui2  (Read 2047 times)

fibres

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • LinuxMCE 08.10 RC Mirror.
High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« on: January 06, 2008, 12:57:52 am »
Hi all

I have just installed the new 0710 beta2 using the recommended asus board with built in nvidia graphics
I was very impressed when ui2 worked out of the box without trouble, a least it seemed at first.

However after using the system for a few hours it seems to have started to get overly high load averages of 6.o or more and the core/hybrid would freeze u almost.
I have now switched to ui1 and it seems to have solved the problem.

Has anyone else experienced this before?

Regards

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2008, 07:30:45 am »
Try UI2 overlay. The UI2 blended is "state of the art" and possibly a little to far over the bleeding edge. The overlay is almost identical but seems to work much better. not alpla blending reduces the demands on the system in a number of places.

fibres

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • LinuxMCE 08.10 RC Mirror.
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2008, 12:46:53 pm »
I have changed to ui2 overlay and is working great. Gtting load averages of 0.02 even recording with myth and playing a dvd on a media director.

However I believe it is a bug in the the system somewhere when running ui2 blended as it works sometimes and looks really sweet.
However it will be fine one minute and then the next it just hogs the system completely.
However when I do a ps it seems to be the screensaver taking up some of the resources and something to do with a mousefail causing the rest.
Any ideas? I will re-enable it later and try and post some more info.

Regards

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2008, 01:04:35 pm »
What GFX card do you have?

danielk

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2008, 05:40:14 pm »
It's probably a 6150 if it is built in. This chipset should be able to handle UI2 with NTSC/PAL, but will choke at HD resolutions. Either UI1 or the old pre-overlay UI will work with a 6150.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2008, 05:43:35 pm »
It's probably a 6150 if it is built in. This chipset should be able to handle UI2 with NTSC/PAL, but will choke at HD resolutions. Either UI1 or the old pre-overlay UI will work with a 6150.

We have the 6150 (C51 onboard part) working at 1080i under lmce-0710 & UI2 + overlay to HDMI without any problems
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

fibres

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • LinuxMCE 08.10 RC Mirror.
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2008, 02:09:40 am »
Interesting.

It is a 6150 i believe.
I am using it over dvi at 720p

Regards

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2008, 08:22:26 am »
Have you tried upgrading to the latest Nvidia driver?

danielk

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: High load avg in 0710 using ui2
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2008, 04:37:41 pm »
Andrew, which nVidia driver are you using for the 6150? I have a 6200 which really struggles trying to display HD with OpenGL overlay, and I've seen similar reports from many people using the 6150.

-- Daniel