Author Topic: Web server?  (Read 1351 times)

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Web server?
« on: January 02, 2008, 04:31:30 pm »
Can we run a webserver, or host a homepage from the Core as well as be running linux MCE?

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Web server?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2008, 04:37:22 pm »
alphapenguin,

Can we run a webserver, or host a homepage from the Core as well as be running linux MCE?


You want to run another standalone webserver process?
As long as you don not use tcp port 80 or another already occupied port it should be possible.

However I see no reason why you should run another independent webserver process.
Just add your http stuff under /var/www/.

Modify httpd init files if you need special configuration such as virtual host etc.

/niz23


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Web server?
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2008, 04:38:37 pm »
Can we run a webserver, or host a homepage from the Core as well as be running linux MCE?

Yes you can add your own php/html pages and open those up for external access... beware though that you then open your server for potential external attack. Someone else here may be able to give you more detail on security measures you could take.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Web server?
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2008, 05:16:00 pm »
Thanks niz and totally,
    That is what I was looking for. Mainly I just wanted to be able to serve photos to family members, so I would only be giving them the URL. I will update if I have more issues, and again, thanks for the super fast responses.

Alex/Alphapenguin

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Web server?
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2008, 05:43:34 pm »
Thanks niz and totally,
    That is what I was looking for. Mainly I just wanted to be able to serve photos to family members, so I would only be giving them the URL. I will update if I have more issues, and again, thanks for the super fast responses.

Alex/Alphapenguin

Just use Web Admin -> Advanced -> Network -> Firewall Rules and put 80 in the left hand filed under 'Source Port' and click 'Add'

Then your all set !
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Web server?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2008, 06:02:25 pm »
quick question, is my only way of accessing the /var/www directory is to go to the core physically? I cant seem to find it via the network (i guess I will go to the basement to take a looky)
thanks and have a great new year!

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Web server?
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2008, 07:48:52 pm »
quick question, is my only way of accessing the /var/www directory is to go to the core physically? I cant seem to find it via the network (i guess I will go to the basement to take a looky)
thanks and have a great new year!

You could ssh in or ftp in and upload files to /var/www/ but /var/www is not part of the share as standard as this would cause some dangerous security implications.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Web server?
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2008, 09:32:53 pm »
ok, i am sure I seem inept here, but I am trying to login via filezilla and gFTP. I put in the DCERouter/Core IP address (the one I would type in to get access to the webadmin).

With gFPT for the Host, I put in the IP. then the user I put in what I would normally use to login to the webadmin (login/pswd), and have it set on SSH2. It then tells me my Password is incorrect.

Am I going about this the right way?  Thanks,
Alex

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Web server?
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2008, 09:40:15 pm »
ok, i am sure I seem inept here, but I am trying to login via filezilla and gFTP. I put in the DCERouter/Core IP address (the one I would type in to get access to the webadmin).

With gFPT for the Host, I put in the IP. then the user I put in what I would normally use to login to the webadmin (login/pswd), and have it set on SSH2. It then tells me my Password is incorrect.

Am I going about this the right way?  Thanks,
Alex

You should use your installation username/password not the Web Admin username/password. If you installed from the DVD then your username/password will be linuxmce/linuxmce if you installed from the CD's then it is whatever you created when you installed.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

alphapenguin

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Web server?
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2008, 10:21:59 pm »
Again, I thank you and thank you again. It works, and I am on my way. I think I will add this tidbit into the Wiki, or is this something that would be too common knowledge?

last question, i figured I'd ask here first, while I peruse the web for an answer-
    - permissions: obviously the directory permissions do not allow me to change it. Is the easiest way to do this to go to the core and change it while in the Kubuntu desktop?



ok, i am sure I seem inept here, but I am trying to login via filezilla and gFTP. I put in the DCERouter/Core IP address (the one I would type in to get access to the webadmin).

With gFPT for the Host, I put in the IP. then the user I put in what I would normally use to login to the webadmin (login/pswd), and have it set on SSH2. It then tells me my Password is incorrect.

Am I going about this the right way?  Thanks,
Alex

You should use your installation username/password not the Web Admin username/password. If you installed from the DVD then your username/password will be linuxmce/linuxmce if you installed from the CD's then it is whatever you created when you installed.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2008, 10:29:17 pm by alphapenguin »