Author Topic: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?  (Read 2883 times)

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« on: January 02, 2008, 03:53:34 pm »
I'd like to prioritize protocol integration...  ;D
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2008, 03:59:13 pm »
One protocol isn't enough. Its like saying which OS do you want to use- the answer is the one that supports what I want to do. There are some I didn't see, Clipsal, Lonworks etc.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2008, 03:59:49 pm »
If I missed a protocol, add a note, and I'll add it.
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2008, 04:00:46 pm »
added!
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

Loki008

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2008, 04:15:12 pm »
Maybe i dont have this quite straight, but by putting Insteon as an option arent you killing 2 birds with one stone? (x10 / ZWave)

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2008, 04:16:40 pm »
Maybe i dont have this quite straight, but by putting Insteon as an option arent you killing 2 birds with one stone? (x10 / ZWave)

Insteon and ZWave are different protocols..
Insteon and X10 are also different protocols, however, Insteon can talk X10
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

Loki008

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2008, 04:23:47 pm »
Maybe i dont have this quite straight, but by putting Insteon as an option arent you killing 2 birds with one stone? (x10 / ZWave)

Insteon and ZWave are different protocols..
Insteon and X10 are also different protocols, however, Insteon can talk X10

I thought that Insteon could communicate to zwave as well as x10?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2008, 04:30:55 pm »
Maybe i dont have this quite straight, but by putting Insteon as an option arent you killing 2 birds with one stone? (x10 / ZWave)

Insteon and ZWave are different protocols..
Insteon and X10 are also different protocols, however, Insteon can talk X10

I thought that Insteon could communicate to zwave as well as x10?

Not without some kind of Insteon -> Z-wave gateway. Which I think could be assembled from off-the-shelf hardware probably
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Loki008

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2008, 05:00:20 pm »
I figure i would toss my response from the other thread in here incase you miss it over there

Quote
Also a co-worker and myself are really looking forward to zwave support, so we would be willing to send you some hardware to do the development if that is something you would be willing to take on. Let me know what you would need.
Thanks
« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 02:48:00 am by Loki008 »

bigbrother0074

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2008, 07:33:52 pm »
If I had a HA standalone setup outside of LMCE based on z-wave devices, (once z-wave is supported under LMCE again) would I be able to control devices using LMCE as a secondary controller?  Doesn't z-wave work like that?

mickg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2008, 07:34:41 pm »
EIB and KNX is the same protocol

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2008, 07:46:42 pm »
If I had a HA standalone setup outside of LMCE based on z-wave devices, (once z-wave is supported under LMCE again) would I be able to control devices using LMCE as a secondary controller?  Doesn't z-wave work like that?

Yes the z-wave usb interface is added as a SUC (static Update Controller or Secondary Controller)... with typically the Master Controller being the Z-wave remote.
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2008, 02:23:55 am »
EIB and KNX is the same protocol

Not Quite..
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2008, 03:48:35 am »
What about xPL? Isn't that a popular metaprotocol for HA, especially on Windows? It seems like it a container protocol for others, like X10 etc. If there's a lot of existing support, or it's already addressed the "multiprotocol" problems we're discussing in threads like this one, maybe it's worth a swing.

DBSHomes

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: What HA Protocol do you (want) to use with LMCE?
« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2008, 11:12:25 pm »
UPB

I'm surprised I didn't see it on this list.  It is powerline but boasts 99%+ reliability.  I have played with it and it seems as solid as it claims.  It is significantly more expensive though ($75 for a switch) so that must be considered.   However when it comes to HA I like it's reliability and instant response. 

I have no experience with Insteon but hear good things.  I have minor experience with Z-wave.  Just used the Intermatic USB stick and 2 devices.  I had problems maintaining solid connections.  Obviously 2 devices provide a weak network and Z-wave gets better as it grows but it wasn't a good start.

Looks like Misterhouse has a UPB driver.  It is written in Perl and can run on Linux so I have no idea if the driver can be ported/hacked/used with LMCE.  Misterhouse is Open Source so they'll probably be helpful. 
http://misterhouse.wikispaces.com/UPB

If UPB is working with LMCE, it will be incredibly solid.