Author Topic: Log Locations  (Read 850 times)

ozmule

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Log Locations
« on: December 28, 2007, 12:44:51 am »
Hi All,

been having an issue getting the DCERouter loaded for the first time. The screen swaps between this and tty1 every 10 seconds or so. I can't seem to see where the error is. I am not sure, but I don't think I've got past the first orbitor generation.

Can someone please point me to where all the relevant logs are so I can do some investigation. If there is a document which details all the logs I should check for troubleshooting then please direct me there.

Thanks in advance.

Ozzy.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Log Locations
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 12:52:13 am »
Sounds like you may not have a xorg.conf
 check /etc/X11/xorg.conf if not there copy the plutoavwizard.conf (something like that  ) to xorg.conf
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

ozmule

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Log Locations
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 01:11:27 am »
Hi,

I can startx no issues and kubuntu runs ok - no issues at all. I can get kububtu started if I use the recovery mode.

The problem happens when the DCERouter starts loading for MCE.

My hardware is as follows:
Dell PowerEdge Server 650
512 MB Ram
400 IDE GB HDD
ATI Rage XL Graphics onbard
No sound

Dunno if this helps any further?

ozmule

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Log Locations
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 01:20:22 am »
xorg.conf exists in the directory as expected.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Log Locations
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2007, 11:46:21 am »
Hi,

I can startx no issues and kubuntu runs ok - no issues at all. I can get kububtu started if I use the recovery mode.

The problem happens when the DCERouter starts loading for MCE.

My hardware is as follows:
Dell PowerEdge Server 650
512 MB Ram
400 IDE GB HDD
ATI Rage XL Graphics onbard
No sound

Dunno if this helps any further?

When you installed lmce did the AVwizard run ok? What UI options did you choose? UI1?... UI2  with overlay?... UI2 with alpha blending? Your problem is related to your ATI card and xorg not getting set correctly by lmce. Check in Web Admin to see what Video driver is being used for the Hybrids MD... set it to ATI if its not set and click Update. Then reboot. If that still does not work... reboot and force the AVwizard to run again by pressing 'Shift' just after the first sequence of beeps on boot up. See here for more info of using the AVwizard; http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/AVWizard
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk