Author Topic: 0710 beta 2 available  (Read 49270 times)

fromport

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #30 on: December 26, 2007, 12:06:45 pm »
Does anyone have a clue how I can "burn the iso" to the usb stick ? I googled a lot, and I found some instructions, but I don't really get it.
The missing floppy drive is a big problem in that context...
Maybe someone knows a way - might be interesting for others too.

I copied it to an 8GB usb stick.
I  followed  tese links:
newbielink:http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?topic=3089474.new [nonactive]
newbielink:http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=476302 [nonactive]

My computer now boots but ends up in a busybox
Will try to find out and will report after success.
Here is my syslinux.cfg btw:
--------------------------------------
DEFAULT custom
GFXBOOT bootlogo
GFXBOOT-ACCESS-OPTIONS v1 v2 m1
APPEND  file=preseed/kubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=initrd.gz --
LABEL custom
  menu label ^Install LinuxMCE 0710 for I386
  kernel vmlinuz
  append  file=preseed/kubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=initrd.gz --
LABEL memtest
  menu label ^Memory test
  kernel /install/mt86plus
  append -
LABEL hd
  menu label ^Boot from first hard disk
  localboot 0x80
  append -
DISPLAY syslinux.txt
TIMEOUT 300
PROMPT 1
F1 f1.txt
F2 f2.txt
F3 f3.txt
F4 f4.txt
F5 f5.txt
F6 f6.txt
F7 f7.txt
F8 f8.txt
F9 f9.txt
F0 f10.txt
------------

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #31 on: December 26, 2007, 04:06:59 pm »
The Orbiter for LinuxMCE 0710 is available for OS2008 in tar archive:
- download it to the device;
- open xterm;
- untar the archive;
- go to created directory;
-
Code: [Select]
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:./lib- run the Orbiter:
Code: [Select]
./Orbiter -r <core IP> -d <Orbiter ID>
Let me know how it works.

The packages for OS2006/OS2007/OS2008 will be ready at the end of this week.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

l21864

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #32 on: December 26, 2007, 04:11:58 pm »
I have two question as follows.
(1) Can we install LinuxMCE from hard-disk iso image?
(2) Does the linuxMCE support Chinese language?

Thanks for reply.

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #33 on: December 26, 2007, 09:12:16 pm »
Please test and report in Mantis any relevant details on any existing issues. Or if, after searching those existing issues, you know you have identified a new issue, please report a new issue.

Feedback in this thread is useful for discussion in this thread, but not as useful to the actual developers. Please also use Mantis.

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #34 on: December 27, 2007, 01:36:05 pm »
We plan to release a temporary add on VDR package that you will be able to download from www.linuxmce.com in next day or so hopefully. This package will then be rolled into a later beta or the release.

Any news on the VDR package? I'm willing to betatest...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #35 on: December 27, 2007, 04:21:14 pm »
We plan to release a temporary add on VDR package that you will be able to download from www.linuxmce.com in next day or so hopefully. This package will then be rolled into a later beta or the release.

Any news on the VDR package? I'm willing to betatest...

We're testing a candidate now of the lmcevdr_7.10.1-1_i386.deb which is just finished building. Once we are happy with it I'll post here to let everyone know how to get it.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #36 on: December 28, 2007, 09:14:54 pm »
Is this dvd (lmce-0710 beta2) similar to the 0704 dvd in terms of the '3 click setup'?
I have a fair few media files on my partitioned hard drive that I want to preserve. Will the dvd installer give me an option to install on a specific partition or will it auto format my entire hard drive?
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #37 on: December 28, 2007, 09:21:02 pm »
Is this dvd (lmce-0710 beta2) similar to the 0704 dvd in terms of the '3 click setup'?
I have a fair few media files on my partitioned hard drive that I want to preserve. Will the dvd installer give me an option to install on a specific partition or will it auto format my entire hard drive?
it eats the whole drive ;)
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

sulin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #38 on: December 28, 2007, 11:40:41 pm »
Hi,

I have managed to install the 0710 Beta-2  successfully.  The install went quite smoothly after solving a problem
with my SATA drive on a ASUS M2N-LR motherboard. (by switching to an IDE drive)
My question (after much forum perusing) what are the default username & password for
Pluto admin. I have tried 'linuxmce', 'linuxmce' with no luck.

Thus far, I have found this BETA to be easier to install then the 0704 release !



RichardP

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #39 on: December 29, 2007, 01:23:48 am »
Can anyone who has installed the iso downloaded from the current torrent confirm if they have the 'Climate' menu and also whether they see some VDR test scripts in the 'Computing Applications' screen?

Thanks Andrew

I have a Climate menu. I don't think there is anything in it (though I'm not sure. I'll post another reply after I check again). I don't recall seeing any VDR test scripts, but at some time during the installation, I had a choice between Myth and VDR and I chose Myth. Should I have chosen VDR?
Best Regards,
Richard

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #40 on: December 29, 2007, 02:42:59 am »
My question (after much forum perusing) what are the default username & password for
Pluto admin. I have tried 'linuxmce', 'linuxmce' with no luck.

During the Setup Wizard you entered your name...
That is both user name and password for the admin site.

You can change your password after logging in.

dafrenchman

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #41 on: December 29, 2007, 03:07:45 am »
Allo

What should the MD5 Checksum be on this file?

I get b264fd72821148f4dfcd78cb932d5598 is that correct?

Thanks.


DrErling

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #42 on: December 29, 2007, 03:19:29 am »
Seems I have to empty one of my hard-drives asap to be ready for the final 0710!

Just hoping that it will work flawlessly with my HD2600pro card (and maybe with my ESI Juli@ soundcard as well?)

Anyways, looking forward for it!
Linux newbie

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #43 on: December 29, 2007, 10:24:18 am »
Can anyone who has installed the iso downloaded from the current torrent confirm if they have the 'Climate' menu and also whether they see some VDR test scripts in the 'Computing Applications' screen?

Thanks Andrew

I have a Climate menu. I don't think there is anything in it (though I'm not sure. I'll post another reply after I check again). I don't recall seeing any VDR test scripts, but at some time during the installation, I had a choice between Myth and VDR and I chose Myth. Should I have chosen VDR?

You should choose vdr if you plan to use it as your chosen PVR application ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

deffcon

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #44 on: December 29, 2007, 11:11:37 am »
Hi,

I can tell you guys, that i managed to install the beta2 ( 0710 ) form an external harddrive by following some tutorials ( iso from usb hdd ) ( I will post this later on, because its a bit tricky to do ), already i can confirm that there is no climate menu in my ui2, my buttons on my Fire-Chief remote arent't working in mythtv like they did in the 0704 version, i can confirm that the screensaver with my own pictures now is working very well, not instantly when i selected from the admin website my pictures from Media, Screensaver, then select some pictures of you're own and i thought voila, but NOT, i had to reboot and i had the pictures i selected ( I will report all my findings on Mantis btw )

I was suprised to see via phpmyadmin, which i had to install manually still, that the mythconverg database of Mythtv has 74 tables in it now and not 46 like in the 0704 version, so what si the difference?

Iso video files still aren't played by linuxMCE, i see them in my ui2 as afilename, but it doesn't play them when i select one, it comes with a black screen and then comes back to the ui2, even when i say in the Admin site that it is a linuMCE video file, bu no luck.

One other problem right now is that in mythtv my sound via spdiff coaxial is going on off on off on off, this wasn't in the 0704 version, a bit annoying !

In the advanced,power menu when i choose halt m/d the machine reboots instead off powering off, this is different then in the 0704 version

And i can report that my dutch language files i made in the 0704 version work great when i imported them in phpmyadmin, and then i regenerated my onscreen orbiter and it works great.

If someone wants to know something about my findings feel free to ask, and for the developers keep up the good work.

Dave