Author Topic: 0710 beta 2 available  (Read 49956 times)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
0710 beta 2 available
« on: December 22, 2007, 08:07:54 pm »
Hi all,

Daniel provided a beta2 image yesterday. Installation went fine for me.

http://vt100.at/kubuntu-linuxmce-0710-i386-beta-2.iso.torrent

Don't bother downloading older versions (beta1 or amd64), they have some issues and probably won't work for you.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2007, 09:46:21 pm »
The image is 5.12GB and Brasero tells me it does not fit on a DVDr.

Any clues on how to burn this image?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 09:47:57 pm »
you have to use a dual layer capable burner and medium.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2007, 09:57:54 pm »
Expensive test then... Burns fine now  8)
Looking forward to testing this one...

Any information on what to expect?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4424
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2007, 10:20:10 pm »
you have to use a dual layer capable burner and medium.

best regards,
Hari

Hmmm... thats the full upgrade iso. There is also a single layer 3.8G iso which might be a better bet as the Beta will not be upgradeable... so when the next beta comes along you'll have to blat your drive again... and the same goes for the release.

I would expect the real Beta will be the 3.8g version...
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2007, 10:27:03 pm »
I would expect the real Beta will be the 3.8g version...
thats what i got from daniel...

btw, look at your post count ;)
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4424
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2007, 10:35:14 pm »
I would expect the real Beta will be the 3.8g version...
thats what i got from daniel...

btw, look at your post count ;)

Unfortunate timing on the post count!

Well my last discussion with Chris about this was that they would do the release Beta today and it would be a 3.8g. I can see todays build on the server and its a 3.8g build... but I have not been able to reach anyone yet.

There is really no functional difference between the 5gig+ builds and the 3.8gig. The bigger version will upgrade a 0704 install... but unless you are happy to sacrifice your 0704 install I would choose a clean drive for testing.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2007, 11:53:35 pm »
I'm just done upgrading my 0704 install to 0710 beta...

Most things looks fine... My NAS is not up and running yet, but no errors and full UI2 is up as it was...
A few episodes have begun to tick in so I think I just have to wait for it to read my 3GB of stuff.

Since all my stuff is on the NAS i dont mind wiping my LMCE install if I have to.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2007, 02:19:52 am »
I have installed it in VM, 25GB partition, dual CPU (physicals are Intel) with 1GB RAM, single NIC.

All seemed to be OK at first once it had copied all the files and untar'd.

Issue 1 - I got this with previous versions as well - in the AV wizard, although I choose 1080p (on a PC monitor), and this seems to work in the correct 16:9 aspect ratio, in the summary page at the end of the wizard it says 4:3?!

Issue 2 - the Launch Manager started successfully, and it goes through that initial process of "downloading" a whole load of things. After downloading several items, it got to GNU Standard C++ Library v5... and the little spinning mouse cursor froze, and the process seems to have stopped. Been like that for about 15 mins so far. I can move the mouse and can drag the window around, but nothing else seems to be happening. Doesn't appear to be any disk activity either. I am going to give it a little longer than try rebooting.

Col

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2007, 02:40:53 am »
OK, never came back, so I rebooted - this time it seems to have gone through all the downloading bit - I counted over 100 modules downloaded, but I can't say for sure whether the C++ lib was one of them.

Now it has run right through the first stage of rendering orbiter screens, and upto screen 70 of the second stage and done it again. CPU has dropped to nothing, the spinning cursor has stopped again, and the progress bar is stuck on 25% (screen 70).

Presumably this is a completely different task from the previous point it stopped - it could be something to do with running in a virtual environment, but others seem to have this without any difficulty...

5 more mins and I'll reboot again...

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2007, 03:42:50 am »
This time it got through the regen process OK - but I feel that this is more because it had less to do each time having already completed the previous parts of the set up - certainly it is not associated with a particular part in the setup as it happens later each time.

Seem to be getting further now, but still getting the occasional hangs...

fibres

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
    • View Profile
    • LinuxMCE 08.10 RC Mirror.
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2007, 04:46:56 am »
Hi all

Does anyone have a link to download the smaller 3.8gb version of the new beta.

This would be a lot better for myself.

Regards

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2007, 05:10:31 am »
Please test and report in Mantis any relevant details on any existing issues. Or if, after searching those existing issues, you know you have identified a new issue, please report a new issue.

deffcon

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2007, 11:43:32 am »
Hi,


Maybe a stupid question, but i don't own a dual layer burner yet so i can't get it to work with dual layer capabilities, but i can mount it to /dev/dvd.

My question is how can i upgrade????

Dave

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4424
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 0710 beta 2 available
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2007, 12:00:16 pm »
Please test and report in Mantis any relevant details on any existing issues. Or if, after searching those existing issues, you know you have identified a new issue, please report a new issue.

Can anyone who has installed the iso downloaded from the current torrent confirm if they have the 'Climate' menu and also whether they see some VDR test scripts in the 'Computing Applications' screen?

Thanks Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk