Author Topic: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD  (Read 2094 times)

flushie86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« on: December 22, 2007, 04:51:09 am »
I have install the core on an older system, works great. I then have a diskless P3 machine PXE booting and it works great. Everything works fine, happy with it all, but I can't seem to get my remote to function on my MD. Its a Microsoft XP MCE remote this one: http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Image:MCE-Remote-2-alt.jpg Not sure where to start setting it up because I wanna use it on the PXE boot machine, where would I check the version of lirc? after making the changes would I have to rebuild the diskless image and reboot the PXE machine?

Any help/direction would be must appreciated.

flushie.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2007, 08:08:37 pm »
I have install the core on an older system, works great. I then have a diskless P3 machine PXE booting and it works great. Everything works fine, happy with it all, but I can't seem to get my remote to function on my MD. Its a Microsoft XP MCE remote this one: http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Image:MCE-Remote-2-alt.jpg Not sure where to start setting it up because I wanna use it on the PXE boot machine, where would I check the version of lirc? after making the changes would I have to rebuild the diskless image and reboot the PXE machine?

Any help/direction would be must appreciated.

flushie.

Just add a Windows MCE Remote & mce_usb2 to that MD in Web Admin -> Wizard ->Devices -> Media Directors

Then do a reload router... if the remote fails to work then do the following;

ssh into your MD from the command line;

ssh moonXX (ip address) <return>
depmod <return>

Now your remote should work fine in the Orbiter ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

flushie86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 09:31:08 pm »
Thank you for your reply. I have added the remote to the media director without success of it working. I tried the ssh to the director ad logged in however when I run 'depmod' I get an error -> FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.20-15-generic/modeules.dep.temp for writing: Permission denied <- I tried the same command with sudo and I have no idea what the password is. I tried the password I used to login but it doesn't except it. Any other suggestions?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 11:19:42 am »
Thank you for your reply. I have added the remote to the media director without success of it working. I tried the ssh to the director ad logged in however when I run 'depmod' I get an error -> FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.20-15-generic/modeules.dep.temp for writing: Permission denied <- I tried the same command with sudo and I have no idea what the password is. I tried the password I used to login but it doesn't except it. Any other suggestions?

ok... if you installed from the DVD then your login will be;

User: linuxmce
Pass: linuxmce

If you installed from the CD's then your login is whatever you chose when you installed from the Kubuntu 7.04 CD.

Make sure you have your Windows MCE remote and mce_usb2 added to your MD in Web Admin. Now go to your core then get to the KDE desktop and open a Konsole session from Kmenu -> System -> Konsole

Then type;

sudo su - <return> (*this means you dont need to type sudu in front of commands*)
(enter your password at the prompt)

Now make sure your MD is powered up and booted and then type;

ssh moonxx <return> (*or ssh <ip address of MD>*)

Now your logged into your MD and you can type;

depmod <return>

Now either just do a reload router or if that does not get the remote working then reboot the MD and it will be!

Merry Christmas!

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

flushie86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2007, 12:34:44 am »
This never worked  >:(. I tried it repeatedly, the remote is a no go. I checked the details of the lirc driver and which one was installed on my core, I had version 0.7.?? and the latest was 0.8.?? so I installed it. It gave me a few more to choose from and I selected 'mce_usb2' and when I updated the core or quick reboot it it would automatically choose 'Windows MCE Remote' so the md saw the receiver. I even unplugged the receiver and I saw on the md that it had been unplugged and I plugged it back in it said it was installing the software for device 'mce_usb' ... done. But again the remote was a no go. I broke down and downloaded the beta 2 of LinuxMCE 0710, however, I can't get this one to network boot. The whole beta is very slow and clunky :'( making it almost impossible to do anything. This is really starting to piss me off!! >:( Everything I read indicates it should have worked the first time without any issues but it looks like the box has no idea how to react when I press any buttons!! I tried using 'irrecord' software for the remote, that won't even work!!! ???

Any more help would be good,
Thanks

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2007, 11:45:35 am »
This never worked  >:(. I tried it repeatedly, the remote is a no go. I checked the details of the lirc driver and which one was installed on my core, I had version 0.7.?? and the latest was 0.8.?? so I installed it. It gave me a few more to choose from and I selected 'mce_usb2' and when I updated the core or quick reboot it it would automatically choose 'Windows MCE Remote' so the md saw the receiver. I even unplugged the receiver and I saw on the md that it had been unplugged and I plugged it back in it said it was installing the software for device 'mce_usb' ... done. But again the remote was a no go. I broke down and downloaded the beta 2 of LinuxMCE 0710, however, I can't get this one to network boot. The whole beta is very slow and clunky :'( making it almost impossible to do anything. This is really starting to piss me off!! >:( Everything I read indicates it should have worked the first time without any issues but it looks like the box has no idea how to react when I press any buttons!! I tried using 'irrecord' software for the remote, that won't even work!!! ???

Any more help would be good,
Thanks

Hmmm... well it works i can assure you. We build install/build approx 10 lmce systems per week and the procedure outline in my earlier posts does work.

So there must be another factor... is your MCE remote & receiver a real MS package? If it is it should have been autodetected when you added the MD or when you subsequently plugged it in.

Try deleting the MD in Web Admin and then adding it again (just power it up with a neetwork connection and it will re-announce itself and auto add (have the mce_usb2 compatible IR receiver plugged in). The go back over the procedure I described in my earlier post if the IR Remote is not functioning correctly after the MD comes up for the first time.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1046
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: XP MCE Remote issues on a Diskless MD
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2008, 05:36:59 am »
followed the instructions, fixed the problem for me.
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius