Author Topic: Black Screen please help  (Read 1402 times)

torabian

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Black Screen please help
« on: December 20, 2007, 02:03:13 pm »
Hi all,

Can anyone please help with the following:

Installed MCE ok
Ran video wizard
Switched to 720P (via DVI to HDMI cable)
Ran startup wizard
Pointed to my media
Opened MCE
Went to videos
Clicked on a video
Black screen but can hear audio

Go into KDE
Play video with kaffiene
Works fine

Anyone any ideas?


tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Black Screen please help
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2007, 05:59:44 pm »
When You get the black screen can you go to the KDE desktop and see if the xine window is playing there.

If so, rerun the avwizard select a different resolution or ui let it regen the screens. That generally fixes mine. You can run the wizard again and set it back to the  original settings.

Good luck
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

torabian

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Black Screen please help
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 11:02:23 pm »
I ran the wizard and changed to 480p and it was still black. The gallery has also stopped showing, even though the gallery app. is in the same window so it looks like maybe the transparency has stopped working and the orbiter is blanking out the screens behind

torabian

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Black Screen please help
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2007, 02:22:18 am »
Suspicions confirmed. I changed to IU2 and it all worked again.

Anyone know why the transparency suddenly stopped working in UI3????

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Black Screen please help
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2007, 04:41:23 pm »
it's caused by the composite manager (xcompmgr) not running. You need to check /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X_wrapper.sh and Start_X.sh to make sure that the compmgr variable isn't blank for some reason.

I'm sorry I can't be more specific, i am on holiday and am away from my setup.

-Thom

posterberg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Black Screen please help
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2007, 09:52:34 pm »
I have this problem as well. I can find the video playing if I enter KDE but I just get a black screen with audio within LMCE.

I switched to UI2 and got back the video, then back to UI3 and the video was gone again...

Is there anyway to force start of the xcompmanager? Can it be manually started in a shell window in case it isn't automatically started on boot?

I am just now switching back to UI2, will try to switch back to UI3 once more after that and then see if xcompmgr can be started in some other way if it doesn't work...

posterberg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Black Screen please help
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2007, 12:41:22 am »
I've changed back and forth I don't know how many times now and it won't fix itself.

I did however have success with entering KDE and manually running xcompmgr in a konsole window. Everything works just fine inside LMCE when I switch back.  :D

I will however have to do this everytime I've rebooted... Next step will be to find a boot script in which I can put in xcompmgr or, better, figure out what makes it not start as supposed...